We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Joke”
Review of Gem Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gem Beach Resort
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Reviewed 19 December 2012

First of all I hate lying receptionists. Gem Beach Resort will give you just that. It's not worth your money. My family and I stayed at GBR in December 2012. We booked the rooms through phone and specifically asked for adjoining rooms. It was confirmed in the invoice that they emailed us. Upon arrival at the hotel, we had to wait for some time because nobody was manning the reception! we were not given adjoining rooms because the receptionist said a large group checked in before us and took all the adjoinings. He was lying. There was no big group and I can see that the adjoinings were given to different guests. He was also using the management as an excuse when we pointed out any dissatisfaction about the hotel saying there was a new management so the system was different.
The rooms were average with big ugly TVs showing bad channel reception. The only plus point is the balcony if you are on the second floor. The room price was also expensive. We paid RM220 for a standard room and RM340 for a triple room which were absurd considering the condition and hotel facilities.
The breakfast was also a big joke. We were stunned to see that there were a total of 6 dishes to choose from. Pancake, meehoon, roti canai, baked beans, toast and cereals. 'Juice' was actually artificial flavourings. The staffs were also not friendly topping the food grudgingly. The food was also not tasty at all. It was a big let down with the amount you paid.
The pool looked nice but smelly and not so clean. The beach was also dirty and full of rubbish. The hotel didn't have a lift and you have to carry your luggage far from the parking lot and lobby going up and down stairs.
Overall, I had a bad experience with this hotel. I'd never stay here again and would not recommend this hotel to anybody. and I hate lying receptionists.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms nearer to the lobby as the further ones looked shabby and creepy
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AiNGEL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
There are newer reviews for Gem Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

I came here with my wife to attend her school family's day... We came here 1 day earlier than the others so that we can prepare for the others arrival...
The resort are full house and the only room that are available are suite... Since its raining heavily and we have already unload all our luggage we decided to take the room for the price of RM300/night...
The rooms are spacious which is good, equiped with electronics from the 70's era-bad, outdoor shower for the adventerous type-interesting, bathtub without close lids-bad, small toilet with shower- not so comfy, i think there is a couple of barn owl living in the ceiling making noise and disturbing our sleep ...
Since its not that worthy, we took a smaller room the next day for half the price of the suite... :)
The front desk staff need some training in hospitality... They're unfriendly and unprofesional... This hotel need more housekeeping staff, just imagine when all our group member came at 3pm the room are still not ready yet...
This is total disapointment from a 3 star hotel...

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chip4159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

There is very little positive to say about the Gem Beach Resort! From the moment you arrive everything appears run-down and uncared for. A filthy stagnant pond full of green weed gives a very poor first impression and things don’t get much better in the rest of the hotel.
Our room had not been cleaned properly. I had to clean the clothes storage areas before I could use them. The shelves were covered in dust and dirt; the wardrobe door was completely missing.
There was a large balcony with a nice view of the beach but the sliding doors kept coming off their runners making it very difficult to access the outside area. The bath was worn and stained with a feeble wall shower at one end. The shower rail was broken so we had no shower curtain. The washbasin drained very slowly and was not sorted out during our stay.
When one books into a ‘beach resort’ it is not unreasonable to expect to use the beach and the pool. The beach was strewn with litter and we got oil on our feet when we walked on the sand. The pool has chipped and dirty tiles and there were no sunbeds, umbrellas or pool towels! The only place to sit was on uncomfortable, upright aluminium chairs.
The dining room staff were pleasant and tried their best to be helpful but they have very limited choices to offer. At breakfast there was only one type of cereal , white sliced bread, some coloured sweet liquid ‘juice’, some fruit, plus some local breakfast dishes. You get powdered milk for the tea and coffee unless you raid the cereal milk.
This whole hotel is run down and general maintenance is very poor. You get the impression that they have run out of money for repairs and customer care. Comfort of guests does not seem to be a consideration as there were no cushions on chairs in the dining room, the lobby or the bedroom. I did raise many of these issues with a member of staff but was told that the hotel is aimed mostly at the ‘local market’. So, if you want a reasonable standard, clean, comfortable hotel - go elsewhere! T

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

If you thinking not to stay in a town surrounding, this resort is perfect. Located 20mins drive to town area (Kuala Terengganu) & 10mins to Merang Jetty (for those who plan on a day trip to Redang Island)
Rooms was average but worth the money spend.
Swimming pools should be the main attractions for children.
Free usage on the small gym if you want to do workout.
Free Wi fi is available but only can be used in the lobby though a bit slow.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sham7077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
12.3 km away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#1 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
146 reviews
24.6 km away
Prinzpark Terengganu
Prinzpark Terengganu
#23 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
65 reviews
18.8 km away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#7 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#12 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
155 reviews
19.5 km away
Primula Beach Hotel
Primula Beach Hotel
#24 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
244 reviews
12.1 km away
Scout Inn Resort
Scout Inn Resort
#27 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Beach Resort

Address: Lot 2135, Gem Beach Resort Mengabang Lekar, Kuala Terengganu 21020, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range: €45 - €63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gem Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gem Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gem Beach Hotel Kuala Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing