We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
49
89
102
93
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
89
102
93
86
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed in hotel during the recent Rain Forest Music fest from 3-5 Aug. Location is great with awesone beach view & green surroundings. Close enough walk to Sarawak Cultural village. Staff were reasonably courteous & helpful. Other than that, everything else is aweful about this hotel. No hand towels or face towels...bath towels look like rags, tattered and with holes. Bath shower handle broken and floor felt like it has not been clean for a while...so dusty! Wardrobe has musty smell. Saw broken eaves on hotel roof, spider webs hangging along corridors, paint peeling off walls, aged wooden room doors & life walls lined with wood and local mat designs looking jaded and apparently in need of touch-ups or a good wipe at least. So surprise to see that there seems few occupants as when we enquired last year for the same fest, the hotel said it was fully booked. Did not even bother to visit the restaurant as we went for our meals at food court at Damai Central....acceptable food but the local operators obviously do not have much entreprenuer sense to avail of the opportunity in getting more helpers or opening their outlets earlier in the morning to cater for breakfast crowd. Such a shame for a nice location. Will not be coming back here and not recommend it to my friends and relatives!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank hockien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I have recently returned from staying at Damai Puri Resort and Spa for 3 nights and overall the experience did not match up to what is promoted on their website and it does not appear to be what you expect it to be. Here are a few good and bad points from my stay that you might find helpful to make a call on whether this is the right place for you to choose or not:

Good:

- Excellent location - you have a secluded beach which is lovely for a swim/paddle plus behind the resort is the impressive mountain and jungle - its quiet and relaxing and a beautiful place to wake up each morning
- From my room I could hear the waves crashing at night which was bliss
- The pool is large and perfectly located to give you a good view while swimming or sitting pool side reading
- Staff are friendly and quick to respond to any issues
- Hardly anyone around so this was relaxing

Not so good points:
- the Hotel website boosts: 'exceptional facilities which include 5 signature restaurants and bars' - this is not correct, or at least not while we were there which was a weekend. There was only ONE restaurant open for breakfast and dinner. Another one opened (Geko) for one night but its very basic and the menu has mostly snacks. Since the resort is at least 40mins away from Kutching, the lack of eating options was disappointing - particularly as most things were out of stock.
- the hotel website states: "exclusive D'Puri Spa Village with its individual treatment villas, massage gazebos, yoga pavilion, hair spa and spa tea house further enhance this outstanding resort." - this is absolutely false advertising. There is NO spa, NO yoga services, NO tea house. When we asked about how we could get a massage, the lovely Receptionist called the neighbour resort to see if they had any spare appointments - we got this booked however we had to WALK to the neighbour Resort which was up hills (in HOT weather) and at least a 15min walk - yet Damai Puri had a van sitting outside - why could they have not taken us and picked us up??? When we left the other resorts spa, it was dark and unsafe to walk along the road side so we convinced the other resort to give us a ride back which was not their duty but they done this thankfully.....given that Damai Puri did not have a spa in operation the least they should do is accommodate but taking us to the neighbour resort and picking us up. This was very disappointing. I've since checked the website further and although the front page doesnt state the spa is under reno, a few clicks in it does - this should be more visible on the site.
- Shower flooded - the entired bathroom was flooded after our 2nd shower. Went to call Reception and the phone didnt work - we had to walk down and get them to send someone. Came close to flooding again but we just kept the pressure on low.
- Rooms not overly clean and in need of a refurbishment.
- Every day our swipe card stopped working, so we'd have to walk all the way back to Reception to reset - this was annoying.
- Lift out of operation - doesnt look like its been working for a long time
- No airport shuttle - our booking noted that it did have an airport shuttle, so this was another thing that isnt clear at the time of booking...Reception will arrange a taxi at a cost for you (even though they have a van sitting out in the parking lot)

Overall, the location and staff meant a relaxing time but if you are looking for something with a little higher standard, then I would not recommend this Resort but if you are a budget traveler thats happy with the very basics and just looking for someone to chill for a couple of days this could be perfect

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

What a strange hotel. I've never before stayed in a hotel so large and so empty. There's 250 rooms here, but although several staff told us it was "fully booked", I would guess fewer than 50 rooms were actually occupied each night. It was quite eerie walking around large empty hotel wings, empty swimming pools, restaurants and bars that were closed and had been for quite some time. We were half expecting Jack Nicholson to pop out and yell "Here's Johnny!!" at some point!

The Good:
- Infinity pool is amazing
- Staff were nice and friendly and reasonably helpful
- 3 out of 4 meals from the restaurant were good
- Close to Damai Central shops with a reasonable food court
- Great views from the balcony
- Beach is nice though a bit muddy at low tide

The Bad:
- Rooms are extremely shabby and run-down, in need of serious maintenance. Light fittings dangling from the ceiling, severely peeling paintwork, mould and fungus growing in a wall crack near the air conditioner, terrible finishing work in the bathroom
- No wifi anywhere other than the lobby, and it's quite slow as well. Understand this is a rural area and reliable internet service can be difficult, so don't go to this area if you need to do online work etc.
- The only restaurant on-site is very over-priced and has slow service. Friendly enough, but waiting 30 minutes for 2 serves of pancakes when there's nobody else there seems a little silly
- Property is extremely untidy and poorly maintained away from the main pool. Lots of bird poo, uncleaned glass, outdoor furniture extremely weathered and/or broken, towels are threadbare and stained (although clean)
- Very unwelcoming feeling with constant notices of rules and the fines for rule-breaking; eg NO MOVING MATTRESSES, FINE=300RMY. NO BURNERS OR STOVES PERMITTED. NO OUTSIDE FOOD OR DRINK, CORKAGE WILL BE CHARGED. Instead of your room having a welcome list of things to do at the hotel, there's a list of prices charged for items that get damaged or go missing.
- Alcohol very expensive at the restaurant, and not much cheaper in the nearby Damai Central bars either. And the 7-11 doesn't stock alcohol, so you can't buy it there and take it to your room.

Overall I would say only book this hotel if you're aware of what you're getting yourself into. If you just want to lie by the pool, swim and read a book then it's great. If you want to hang out in your room or drink a lot, definitely avoid.

Room tip: Ocean View wing seems superior
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoelB2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We booked two sea-view rooms connected. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only the process during check-in very slow. No internet connections and cellular signals inside the room. Only available outside the rooms or reception area. Too many shops are closed during our visit.

Room tip: SeaView is the best, next to the restaurant.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stayed Puri Resort for two days as family holiday, infact we wanted to book Damai chalets as our prefferred but it was fully booked. No chooice thought it better change for a better hotel but this hotel more expensive than Damai Chalet with no breaskfast inclusive, rooms were dirty, toilet couldnt flush, outdoor balcony was dirty with bird poo. Therefore, we decided not to extend our stay. Needed to maintain the hotel ceanliness, especially the lobby big glasses as very important of first impresstion of guests.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chungquing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews