We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
201
207
77
25
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
207
77
25
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house mangrove tour high ropes course fly screens rope bridge flying lemur sarawak cultural village the south china sea permai rainforest saw dolphins bako national park dolphin watching close to nature fishing village air conditioning damai central breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 538 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Liked it a lot. We actually wanted to rent a tree house but when trying to book we discovered that those were not rented out to families although they appeared large enough. They regular cabins were OK. At down monkeys and other wild animals passed over the roof. The restaurant was not OK. You had to come early for a decent breakfast. At diner quite a few fooditems were not available and we had to wait a very long time. Eventually we decided to go to the foodcourt outside the resort.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FrankTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Permai is literally at the end of the road on the Damai Peninsula, with Santubong Mountain on one side, the South China Sea on the other, and the forest all around - and above. We stayed in a family cabin, which was very basic (beds, fans, chairs, bathroom, small fridge and that's it - no aircon) and could benefit from some upgrading. But we didn't really care, because there was a forest plunge pool (cool water!) 100 m away, two spectacular beaches (warm water, stunning sunsets) and paths into the forest where we saw turtles, monitor lizards, geckos, monkeys and flying lemurs. Lots of activities on offer, and a nice open-air cafe with wifi (although we had more or less exhausted the menu after a week). If you don't like walking through forest in the dark surrounded by strange wildlife, this probably isn't the place for you. If you want to feel like you're living in a wildlife documentary for a few days, it is highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Mobile524746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

If you don't want to stay in a private air-conditioned treehouse, in a rainforest, with the sea lapping over rocks under your balcony, there are cheaper cabins that let you enjoy the jungle pool (fed from the rainforest - utter bliss to be in cold water) and the amazing walk through the rainforest. Be warned, the walk is very hard and it's easy to get lost. I was convinced that I was following the markers and somehow came out at the same place I came in (this wasn't meant to happen); I have no idea how I turned around.

My highlight was a harem of silver monkeys outside of my balcony one morning. They have bright orange babies that are the same colour as the dying leaves on some of the trees.

The onsite cafe looks over the ocean. The food is ok, but nothing compared to in the city, but who cares when the view is so good.

The check in staff were excellent. My converter plug had broken and they leant me one to use for my trip.

Catch the bus there from The Grand Margerita hotel. It stops at the cultural village (which is a great place to visit) and it's an easy 10-15 min walk to the resort.

Note that it's VERY quiet in January.

My only complaint was there were ants in my room. I didn't care; it's a treehouse! But remember to check that there aren't ants in your underwear when you put it on...

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne-marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Scratched off the bucket list! The Tree House rooms are quite high up, making you feel like you're sleeping at the ceiling of the jungle.

The rooms conveniently come with several electric outlets, and they're the newer type, so you don't have to worry about plug shapes or using converters.

The Tree House units are far apart enough that you have privacy. Our room was very clean but if you're more of a luxury traveler you might not enjoy the experience as much as the outdoor adventure type. From the balcony you can hear the ocean and all the surrounding trees really make you feel like you're immersed in the jungle.

Breakfast wasn't bad. The highlight in terms of food was the laksa - they do takeout too.

A lot of fun here!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Be prepared. This isn't a luxury hotel and did take a bit of getting used to going from big beach 5 stars to Permai. However this resort does not profess to be something it's not so if your expecting luxury and loads to do, this is not the place for you.
It takes about 45 minutes from Kuching but it's a lovely drive up into the Mount Satubong national park. On arrival to Permai there is just one small check in counter out in the forest and bags etc have to be taken to your accommodation yourself ( perfectly understandable). We stayed in treehouse number 1 and it was a great novelty. It's basic inside but comfy enough. Our only slight moan was that the bathroom and toilet smelt quite strongly of urine and needs a real good scrub but this didn't massively deter from a good stay.
Pulling the curtains back in the morning to be up in the trees and overlooking the sea is a truly great experience!
We did want to do the morning dolphin trip one morning but it wasn't available and the excursions are a bit hit and miss so don't get your hopes up too much that they are going ahead.
We were desperate to see the Orangutans at Semmengoh but this trip wasn't available at the office. They did accomodate and said they'd take us for 220 ringit pp. The cost to get into the centre is only 10 ringit so we thought this was very expensive. We ended up using the Permai shuttle bus into Kuching ( 40 R per person return) and then used a taxi in Kuching to take us to the Orangutans. The taxi driver waited three hours for us and charged us 120 ringit in total. Making the total cost being 220 ringit for two persons for both the shuttle, the taxi and the entrance cost, half the price of what Permai were charging. Well worth a thought. One of the best days of our lives!
The feeding tree cafe offers lunch and dinner- we didn't eat here so can't comment. Very samey to other Borneo restaurants, Malaysian dishes and then the token Spag Bol and burger.. No alcohol is served at this resort so if you want to drink bring some with you- there are fridges in the tree houses to chill drink in!
Breakfast was simple but a selection of bread and local jams and honeys for the more fussy eater like myself!
We ate at the nearby food hall located just a short walk away which again was standard, quite cheap Tiger beer in the Ecobar and cheap standard quality food. There is also a 7-eleven if you need to buy drinks/ snacks etc.
We didn't partake in any of the activities offered such as the jungle walks or water sports so can't comment on these.
This is a great experience for a few nights, I probably wouldn't recommend much longer but great to experience waking up in the Borneon rainforest and there are lots of activities offered by the resort. Expect to be quite self sufficient- there are limited staff and you won't find staff on hand like any other hotels.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Princessslugslime221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews