We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable hotel to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Century Kuching Hotel
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable hotel to stay”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel on 19 January 2012 for a night. I picked to stay at this hotel because it was close to the airpot. I had an early morning flight to catch the next day. Checking in and out was very quick with no fuss. As I entered the room, I was surprised to see two queen size beds, a huge bathroom with bath tub and a separate shower area. The room was very modernly decorated and of very good size. However, the air con was so very cold that night. I had to switch it to low and it was still very cold. The bed was super comfortable as well as the pillows. I had a very good sleep after a long flight. I will definitely stay at Four Points again in my future visit to Kuching.

Room Tip: Many coffee shops and restaurants opposite the hotel which open till late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsKuching, General Manager at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Hi Elizabeth L,

Many thanks for your "Nice and comfortable hotel..." review of the Four Points by Sheraton Kuching.

Four Points is all about delivering on the basics and it looks like we have exceeded your expectations. Also I was glad to read that you enjoyed our award winning Four Points by Sheraton Comfort Bed

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Kuching on your next trip.

Cheers,

Paolo Campillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    139
    106
    56
    40
See reviews for
97
86
57
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

If your aim is to BE in Kuching, you don't want to billeted at this hotel. With traffic, it can take up to 30 minutes and around 25 Malaysian ringgit to get to the center of this beautiful town. However, it is remarkably luxurious for the price. Inspired by much smaller designer boutique hotels in a sleek, minimalist idiom, its white marble clad bathroom is vast and includes a glass enclosed shower apart from a bathtub, which, in that curious convention of the sexy boutique hotel is separated from the bedroom by a window, albeit this one fixed and frosted. Ironically, the scale of the hotel is Titanic, so it cannot be maintained with the same fastidiousness as a smaller space. The stainless steel legs of the bathroom sink counter are not polished; there are water stains on the bedroom lampshades, tiny nick and dings here and there. Furthermore, in it, you could be anywhere in the world, which might defeat the point of going to Borneo. But if your aim is to escape the locality at the end of the day, here is a place for you. The overflowing infinity swimming pool is a respite, even only just for the eyes.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsKuching, General Manager at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Hi Carlo T,

Thanks for your "Luxurious but not central" review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel luxurious for the price. At Four Points by Sheraton, we pride ourselves on providing Great Rooms at Great Value and it looks like we have hit the mark.

While our location is not located in the hustle and bustle of the city, we are strategically located nearest The Spring shopping center and various tourist attractions such as Semengoh Orangutan Reserve and Anna Reis Longhouse. For the business traveler, we are also near the Sama Jaya Industrial Zone and Borneo Convention Center.

Your additional comments have been shared with the team and will aid us in our efforts to improve.

Cheers,

Paolo Campillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Yorks
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I spent 5 nights in December at this hotel with my family. We were visiting relatives so were not typical tourists and mainly used the hotel as a place to sleep.
My initial impression was not particularly good as having spent 28 hours travelling we then queued for 20 mins just to check in! On the plus side however, the hotel is located about 3 minutes from the airport so we did not have to experience the truly atrocious Kuching traffic to get there.
We had 2 rooms on the 9th floor with a fantastic view of.....the airport runway. Actually from that height the view encompassed much more than the runway and was quite pleasant.
In terms of airport noise it wasn't bad (with the airconditioning on) and we were not disturbed. However, oddly, I was awakened around 5am every morning by the call to prayers, perhaps because the airconditioning was quieter at that time?
The buffet breakfast was excellent.
The location is certainly not central, but it depends on where you want to be. The traffic was especially bad when we were there due to road works and construction which we were told is expected to continue for another year or more.
Cleanliness I felt was not up to scratch. The bathroom in both rooms was not spotless, which I expected. The counters were dusty and the showers and area around the bathtubs were not as clean as they could be, and there was also a very nasty looking area around one of the toilets! There was clearly a problem with mildew which I realise can be difficult to deal with but overall the impression was one of not enough effort, since the places that were particularly bad were the harder to reach areas (ie low down in the shower enclosure and also between the taps and tub) and the mould looked particularly thick.
On the other hand the fixtures and fittings were nice and there was a rainshower.
It was also unfortunate that the counter tops in the rooms were marked with rings which I suppose reflects more on the guests than the hotel, but it did detract from the overall impression.
On the whole I think that this hotel certainly offers value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsKuching, General Manager at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
Hi WWYorks,

Thanks for your recent review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching. I was pleased to read overall you found our hotel offered great value for money.

Your additional comments show areas for us to work on. I am sorry that we have not exceeded your expectation on this visit. I have shared your feedback with our team members so that we can continue to improve.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on your next visit to Kuching so we can look after you.

Cheers,

Paolo Campillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
244 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Room was great, good size, good facilities. Bathroom was excellent with a great shower. There was even a personal welcome message on the tv screen when we got to the room. Swimming pool is a good size, very long.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsKuching, General Manager at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
HI LIzinKL,

Thanks for your "Very nice stay" review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching.

I am happy that we were able to meet your expectations on this trip. The team works hard to get the basics right and it is great to see when we have delivered.

Please let me know when you plan your next trip to Kuching, so that we can continue to look after you.

Cheers,

Paolo Campillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Fair check in experience. Room and Breakfast is nice for RM180++ rate.

Room Tip: better view for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsKuching, General Manager at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Hi Yeejia,

Thanks for your "Modern, Nice and New" review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching.

We appreciate the positive feedback because it shows that we have delivered on the our Four Points branded service from the heart!

Please let us know when you plan your next trip to Kuching so that we can continue to look after you.

Cheers,

Paolo Campillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.8 km away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#7 of 54 in Kuching
207 reviews
1.6 km away
Pine Garden Hotel
Pine Garden Hotel
#13 of 54 in Kuching
16 reviews
3.8 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
56 Hotel
56 Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kuching
41 reviews
5.6 km away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching
6.2 km away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Kuching Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Kuching Hotel

Property: Century Kuching Hotel
Address: Lot 3186-3187 Block 16 KCLD, Jalan Lapangan Terbang Baru, Kuching 93350, Malaysia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Kuching)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Century Kuching Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Where You Need to Go. Welcome to the Century Kuching Hotel in Sarawak, East Malaysia, on the amazing island of Borneo. We're located in the middle of the BDC commercial hub, near The Spring mall. We're also near Kuching International Airport (KCH). Free to Choose. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we've got you covered with outstanding event spaces and contemporary restaurants and a bar. We also offer plenty of ways to stay active - such as our 24-hour fitness centre and a great outdoor pool - and to stay connected - like our 24-hour business centre and free Wi-Fi in all public areas. You'll even get complimentary daily newspapers and bottled water. Don't worry; there are no hidden fees. Casual Comfort. Our 435 rooms and suites are designed to make you feel right at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Kuching Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Kuching Hotel Kuching
4 Points By Sheraton Kuching
Four Points Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing