We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with good breakfast buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed there for 2 separate nights while traveling to & fro Tawau from KK. We requested and were able to get take-away breakfast at 6am when checking out in the morning to catch an early flight to Tawau, though it was simple with just tarts, fruits and yoghurt. We didn't know how good the breakfast buffet was until the following stay there when traveling from Tawau back to KK. The buffet breakfast was very nicely prepared with excellent choices. Rooms were clean and appeared fairly new to us.

Hotel staffs weren't able to recommend good food near the hotel, though they're friendly and tried to be helpful. We realized that there was a list of recommendations printed on the hotel brochures only much later on.

Taxis were easily available even at 6am, no need for hotel provided transport which is more expensive. Just get the conceirge to arrange it for you.

Overall, very pleasant stay.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Xfelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,309 - 1,313 of 2,232 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stay here about 8 days.
This is Best Hotel so far I visited in Malaysia.
Hotel Room is very clean, nice smell, LCD TV Screen. My room view is market and a bit of seaview. Hotel staff is friendly.
Located near by tourist area. My most favorite hotel in Malaysia so far.

Note for Management: Please Maintain this nice hotel.

Room Tip: Clean and nice room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Though more of a business hotel, Le Meridien is a great choice when in Kota Kinabalu with Hyatt as the only other choice in the same category within the city. We had stayed here earlier and hence opted with the tried and tested.

Our check in had a few hiccups but after that the sailing was smooth. Initially we were allotted a room that was undergoing touch up repairs, when we entered we were shocked to find carpenters who were equally shocked seeing us. After this we were given a better room reserved for Starwood members (which we are). But just as we checked in, a cleaning lady entered using her master key, thankfully a mishap was avoided as we had just entered (and I hadn't bothered to lock after the bellboy departed.) This was one of the bigger rooms in the hotel with a double bed, sofa, writing table, chairs etc. The room was clean, sleep quality was great and the bathroom had a shower area plus a bathtub. The only gripe that I have is that the bathroom had a rubber mat which spoiled the decor, I am all for Eco-friendly business, but I am sure that they can find a better looking mat to match the tastefully done rooms.

We ordered room service on two occasions and both the times the food was delivered within a reasonable amount of time and was hot and tasty. The hotel has several activities around the Ramadan month (which is when we had traveled both times) including a Ramadan theme buffet, weekday steak lunches, very well priced executive lunches etc. The pool has a good happy hour too. The breakfast spread is great at the price.

On our last day we opted for the executive lunch in the coffee shop which is great value for money, a spread of soups, starters, soups with one main course and a spread of desserts. The staff was very courteous and due to some misunderstanding our main course was delayed, sensing our urgency they sped up the process and even served us complimentary juices. The service is worth writing about.

I'll stay here again in case my travels take me back to KK.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 10th floor facing the sea which are usually reserved for Starwood Preferred Gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Le Meridien is situated on the front street overlooking the sea and gets lovely sunsets. There are a few good restaurants on the sea front as well as the hawker stalls and night market which is interesting to meander around. There are a few small trendy shopping arcades in the area.
The hotel had parking underneath and a nice lobby, the decor was very modern and smart. Staff were friendly and helpful, our room overlooking the sea was modern and very nice with the usual mod cons. There was a small pool on the front with a gym and facilities which we used. We didn't eat at the hotel but they appeared to host a few party events and functions. The hotel is certainly a 4 to 5 star, for me it just lacked a little 'character'. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a sea view as the sunset is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nile_Geordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We visited KK and found the city to be very cozy and relaxing. Though we didn't have much time to see the sights as we were attending a wedding. The hotel is centrally located and spacious.The gym can use a makeover with updated equipment and more light. When I entered, I felt like I was in a locker room. Our front desk check in was delightful as Ade helped us. He was extremely energetic and immediately made us feel welcome. We wish we could have met more people with his customer service skills. The rest of the staff was polite and helped when requested. Breakfast was quite a buffet- had a little bit of everything so you can definitely find something.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 898TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,533 reviews
2 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,440 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
748 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: €99 - €210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Malaysia - Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing