We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$144
US$129
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Api-Api GuestHouse(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
D'Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$240
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$287/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Akinabalu Youth Hostel(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ang's Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$125
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,382)
Filter reviews
2,382 results
Traveller rating
1,144
903
231
73
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,144
903
231
73
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketspg memberthe club loungesea viewseafoodthe general managerfish markettour desklocal marketcentral locationwet marketthe south china seaan upgradedvd playerbusiness hotelbuffet breakfastwater front
Filter
Updating list...
1,506 - 1,511 of 2,382 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of the team who work in the executive club lounge. For not much more than the standard room rate you can upgrade to the Executive Club and enjoy breakfast in the top floor lounge overlooking the south china sea. The lounge is quiet, private and all the staff working there really take the time to get to know your name and take an interest in what you're doing each day - offering excellent local advice from where to buy good quality/cheaper pearls to tours to take. Along with breakfast, there's afternoon tea provided from 3 - 5pm followed by 5 - 7pm drinks and finger food with an excellent and generous choice of both food and beverages. They were the highlights of the stay, but now some of the less attractive points...

In-room dining and other restaurant meals were well below 5 star standard and on general much more expensive than what I've paid in some KL 5 star hotels. The choice of in room menu was limited and not all that exciting and the seafood buffet night was really average - particularly given KK is right on the coast and enjoys daily deliveries of fresh catches from the local fishermen.

There was no innovation in the dish choices with the highlight of the seafood night being a prawn stirfry!! It amazes me that 5 star hotels continue to serve up uninspiring mass produced dishes and try to package them as something special. Personally, I'd recommend you save the money and walk across the road to the nightly markets and pay a 10th of the price for a fresh fish cooked on coals. Food aside, don't expect the executive suite rooms to be anything flash - they're not!! The rooms are tired and in need of repairs. The wall had cracks running across the bottom where it had pulled away from the floor and the general feel was that it was time for an upgrade. We also specified a non-smoking floor and were put in a room on a smoking floor!!

So, your decision to stay should be weighed up against your willingness to pay a little extra for the excellent comforts and service of the executive club lounge while knowing that you'll be staying in, at most a 3.5 star room, and forgo any other dining options in the hotel as you will be disappointed.

Would I stay there again? Yes, but only if I paid a little more to have access to the Exec Lounge and the great team. Also, No question - the location is excellent if you want to be in the heart of KK.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalGal035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Elhaam thank you for your clear message to other travellers which will simplify their decision process on where to stay.
Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The rooms were spacious and the service was very friendly. big comfortable beds and huge bathrooms. Location is the best in the town, right over night market. I loved a view from our room.The breakfasts was delicious. In all respects, this hotel is must place to stay in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Elhaam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Can't disagree with you and I hope your recommendation is followed by many !
Thank you for taking the time to share your good experience.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I recently returned form a nine day Easter holiday with my husband and parents in Sabah. We decided to stay at Le Meridien following a really good holiday at another hotel in the chain and as we wanted a city location and the position of this hotel was ideal for us.
Having experienced the Club Offering in Mauritius we didn't consider anything else and were very pleased with our choice. We had fantastic views of the South China Sea and the fascinating night markets from our spacious, peaceful well appointed rooms- there was never a dull moment. The free wi-fi was also very handy.
The service in the Club Lounge was charming and attentive and the complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and sundowners and canapes in the evening were beautifully presented and of course we could not get enough of the view. In fact the service throughout our stay, from house-keeping, the concierge desk and the bar was exemplary. However Flames Restaurant deserves a special mention- we ate there on our first night as we were tired after a plane delay and were very impressed so we went back for our final dinner. Our waitress was absolutely lovely- so friendly and enthusiatic and the food on both occaisions was delicious.

The only tiny criticisms I have is that our key cards kept de-activating- lucky we were so close to the Club Lounge as we had to pop back on a fairly frequent basis to get them fixed and that the bed and pillows were a bit hard for our liking. However a quick call to Housekeeping resulted in delivery of different pillows and a soft mattress pad in a trice- as I said great service.

Room Tip: Go for a Club room with an ocean view
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerthSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for the full marks following your experience staying at our Le Meridien Club level. I have reviewed with the team the issues of the key card not functioning as well as a more proactive approach in offering a selection of pillows to provide that extra comfort.
Our ladies looking after Flames are gems and I will make sure they will be seeing your review.
Kindest regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Fantastic when comparing to other hotels in this area, however not as good as some of the Le Meridiens I have stayed at. Hotel is good for a 4 star rating. Rooms were nice and clean but not super modern. Service was first class and breakfast was unbelievably good! The cocktails are also worth a mention! mmm I think this is a safe option for Kota Kinabalu, and the hotel is well located.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vessi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your pleasant experience and your compliments on our service and breakfast. Our classic design will certainly be reviewed in the future when our guest rooms will be refurbished to give it a more contemporary Le Meridien feel.
It is great to know you will return and recommend us.
Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed on the club floor which is probably a wise move. The hotel is very central and comfortable. It has a nice pool but could do with a bit more shade areas as the sun is quite intense. Plenty of restaurants to choose from but also a city full of fine food to discover

Room Tip: Aim for a waterfront room
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelsiePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you Melsie and I cannot disagree with you the sea facing club and deluxe rooms are special.
Happy travels
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews