We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and i travelled from sydney Australia to Kota Kinabalu Sabah Borneo in March for his 50th Birthday. We stayed 7 nights at the shangri la Tanjung Aru. We stayed in a seaview room what an amazing view with a great size balcony to soak up the view. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is tasty with lots to choose from, my favourtie was the chang palace the best chinese food.Do yourself a favour have drinks at the sunset bar watching an awsome sunset, then dinner on the beach in one of the cabanas, it's very special.The massages are wonderful felt spoilt but did think it was a bit pricey.

Room Tip: I think the Kinabalu wing is the best with sea views
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macka2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,759)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,158 - 2,162 of 3,759 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

The overall package covering our 7 days at the resort gave us a good relaxing feeling on the completion. The resort covers for both the romantic couples or the busy family which needs a break from their busy lives.
The central pool is the main feature of the resort, covering an enormous area of differing types, covering for small children to the elderly. The activity are with 3 great slides, the BIG bucket and the water wars just makes more activities to undertake for all, and bring out the child in anyone. The pools have waterfalls in the deeper pool, and an infinity overflow which when seated on the centre island, looks like the water continues through into the ocean.
The small beach is well protected from any waves, and is also a protected netted cove. The water is refreshing but not clear.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious, well maintained and thoroughly clean. We had the luxury of a suite with a great balcony over viewing the pool are and harbour, a lounge to be seated relaxing looking out over the resort, and a jacuzzi bath which was an added luxury.
The resorts restaurants were all good, and a wide variety available for all tastes, especially for those fussy eaters of kids. Breakfast at Tatu Cafe was always plentiful and the kids had their own breakfast bar with a lot of choices, although all buffet style for the 3 meals. Peppino is the Italian restaurant which was impressive, and has a great balcony for that romantic dinner, and allows for a quiet moment away from the resort. There is also a Chinese restaurant at the southern end which is a lot more quieter.
The resort also has a spa called Chi, which for a true spoil, gave one of our afternoons a great finish. We had a 2 hour hot stone massage in one of the villas which was more than just extremely relaxing but a great experience.
Add in a garden tour, the pitch and putt golf greens, and the sunset bar, the resort caters for all.
We had some initial issues during check-in and our room allocation for connecting rooms, but this was sorted out eventually. We would come back gain, even if just as a single parent with the kids as the staff and kids club and activities allowed for some freedom for all.

Room Tip: Seaview room which will have a spectacular view of the sunsets over the ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Arrived at the Tanjug Aru Saturday the 24th March and stayed 6 wonderful nights. Everything was just as you would expect from a Shangri-La, food and service was great under 12 yrs old was free for Breakfast and Dinner Buffett great value. We stayed in the Kinabalu Wing no complaints very quiet maybe the carpet was a little tired but not a big deal. Hotel to town is 15 MYR and the service was perfect everywhere we went. Concierge did not explain the Orang Utan sanctuary to us very well. Overall a very nice family vacation we would recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Unless you mind walking a bit opt for the Kinabalu Wing, much more cost effective, and very quiet. T...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I never wanted to leave this beautiful Hotel, location, people, food just everything was above average. We loved the people here, they were kind and so helpful. The Hotel we really loved in a most glorious location on the point and you can walk to the boats that take you to the islands.
The Hotel had everything you could think of and the breakfast room and choice was second to none and was always overflowing with people due to its amazing reputation.
It was a true paradise and we totally relaxed and enjoyed everything it had to offer which was a lot.

Room Tip: Try to get the ocean view
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homenaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

It is resort, so i was not expecting the very high standards of Shangri-la hotels. But it was an excellent stay, great value for the money and great location, 5 minutes form airport, 5 minutes from downtown and 5 minutes from amazing white sand beaches and islands. I am going back in July, but this time to Shangri-la Rasa Ria.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jas961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
2.5 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
25.0 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
4.3 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,372 reviews
5.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,469 reviews
4.2 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: €169 - €380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia - Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing