We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“True Malaysian unspoilt paradise hidden away on...”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa from Air
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa from Air
Villa at Dusk Front of Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Villa from Air
Villa at Dusk
Front of Villa
Pool from Gazebo
Pool 4
Pool
Pool 2
Entrance Hall
Living Area Downstairs
Living Area Upstairs
Living Area Mezzanine
Bedroom 2
Bedroom Master
Kitchen
Dining Area 2
Dining Area
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Pool and Entrance Hall at Night
BBQ and Dining Gazebos
Sea from Upstairs Living Area
Pool 3
Villa and Beach from Air
Coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District, West Coast Division, Sabah

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Cindy R
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True Malaysian unspoilt paradise hidden away on the tip of Borneo”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

What a treat to only have to make a relatively short and rather pleasant 3 hour drive outside of the city of Kota Kinabalu and actually find paradise instead of having to step on a plane and fly for several hours in order to discover it.
The photos of Hibiscus villa do the place justice in that it is indeed stylishly furnished, well appointed with a fabulous pool and truly spacious enough to allow guests and staff space to find peace and quiet without feeling any intrusion.
However what truly makes the villa paradise is of course the location, Kudat, the tip of Borneo. The accommodation is nestled amongst the rainforest trees just steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches you are likely to find in Malaysia. Crystal clear waters, white sandy beach, amazing snorkelling and not a soul around to disturb the feeling of privacy and exclusivity, except perhaps the odd crab or two, or a local fisherman.
Unspoilt, undeveloped with no fancy resorts or high end restaurants is what makes the place feel special and true. It is a real gem and I do hope it remains fairly well undiscovered.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The day bed next to the pool
Liked least: The Borneo sandflies
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
Hi Cindy, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you again in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lambo21
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best villa we have ever stayed at- AMAZING.”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We came to the villa for 5 nights in August and could have stayed for longer. The standard of the accommodation is exceptional, amazingly well appointed, like a 5* hotel. The maids are amazing and cooked a great breakfast. We used the private chef Jay every day, 4 nights and one lunch and he cooked us some awesome dishes- well worth it. The staff are amazing and the owner James was super helpful and hospitable. The highlight for the kids was the infinity pool and the short walk to what is effectively a private beach. If you stay the next bay along has a great beach bar with sunset BBQ and very nice owner, it's called the Secret Place. Also nearby is good surfing and snorkelling. Overall probably the best place we've stayed at, blew the Shangri La resorts we stayed at out of the water and we really enjoyed them!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moleps
kenya
2 reviews
“The incarnation of serenity”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family of five arrived after driving up from KK. Despite lacking GPS and maps we found the place quite easy. The place is just absolutely stunning - the view from the pool, the interior of the house, the beach - just about everything was perfect. We were fortunate enough to experience blue skies and sunny days during our entire stay. The beach was wonderful, however the coral was not at its best when we visited. I can only think of one minor disappointment of the estate - the mosquitos (though we had forgotten repellents which probably would have helped). Also, we found the unconnectedness of the place with regards to both wifi and cell-phones very relaxing.
All in all - a fantastic stay and whole-heartedly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Serene environment without wifi our phone
Liked least: Mosquitos
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlMcDermo...
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa with stunning views in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The villa is even better in real life than the pictures. The view across the gardens to the sea is beautiful and the sunsets are to die for. A very peaceful and tranquil location. We loved the infinity pool. The breakfast served each day was great and all of the staff were kind and spoke decent English. The host James could not have been more helpful and made us all feel very welcome. The local area is underdeveloped, but there is a lovely beach bar and an internet café in close proximity. Hire a car to explore the Northernmost Tip of Borneo , or just enjoy the villa and its lush surroundings. The beach is walking distance and pretty much private. Safe and clean for children with good snorkeling. Overall, a lovely place to stay. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, views, tranquility, service
Liked least: Lack of wifi - but also a blessing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffobi
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“WOW photos don't do it justice :)”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in the Villa for two nights. James and team were awesome and let us have a super late check out.

The Villa is amazing.. everything about it is luxurious. We had pretty average weather, however as the villa has so many entertaining areas we were not phased and enjoyed the sunshine when it poked its head out briefly.

Staff were are great and friendly, James, Joe & team organised a massuse to come in for a day to massage our sore legs from the hike. Chef was amazing too!!

Would highly recommend!!!

P.S. Hire a car to get there, the drive was super easy and we did a couple of quick trips to the tip of borneo and the town.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing