We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of G Hotel Kelawai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
G Hotel Kelawai
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

I had a brilliant stay at G Hotel Kelawai. I was fortunate enough to be upgraded to an executive suite and was able to check-in immediately even though I arrived there from the airport at about 1:00pm and check-in is usually after 3:00pm. Check-in was efficient and all the staff were friendly and welcoming. The welcome ice cream snack was a nice touch. The suite was lovely with a large and very comfortable king bed and the mini bar contents were complimentary and replaced each day. The bathroom was large and very clean with a separate shower, toilet and soaking tub. The rainfall shower worked beautifully and the large tub was great too. There was a coffee machine in the room as well as other amenities including an iron and ironing board, bathrobes and slippers, hair dryer and the main bathroom accessories. Staying in an executive suite meant I had access to the Executive Lounge on the 24th floor. I could across this lounge for happy hour each evening (which I didn't end up utilising) and for breakfast each morning which was included. It was a buffet breakfast with a selection of both Western and Asian foods. There was more than enough for me to choose from. There service was impeccable and my eggs were cooked perfectly to order each morning. My stay here was faultless from start to finish!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

My team and I would like to thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2018

Its a lovely modern hotel with secured keycard access to floors and rooms. The environment inside the hotel is modern and elegant. Its located behind the famous Gurney drive. Great view of the entire Penang Island on the 24th floor swimming pool & bar area. Fantastic place to have romantic evening drinks with your love ones. A free daily buggy ride between G Hotel Mall Gurney and G Hotel Kelawai. The rooms spacious and elegantly designed with separate showers. The buffet breakfast is also fantastic. Most importantly, all the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The only think lacking is the security personnel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room at high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DavidFran10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai recently and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Very beautiful chic hotel right next to a decent shopping mall. Room was absolutely fantastic. Lobby design is impressive. Definitely check out the restaurant it’s amazing. Everything here from car park to the stay itself is just perfect. Will comeback for sure.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank fillyfillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We stayed here for three nights and overall really enjoyed our stay. We were in an executive room and the room is really nice and big, especially the bathroom/shower.
We had access to the executive lounge which was really nice in the evening - you could get complimentary cocktails, drinks, fingerfood with a view over town.
You can also have breakfast there but I would really recommend going to the normal breakfast area.

Really nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kulimuli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

I’ve stayed here half a dozen times since it opened and I always enjoy it very much.

Things I don’t love:

Kids in the e executive lounge eating dinner. I love kids, but it’s not a buffet dinner. It’s a place to wind down with a drink after a long day with some light snacks. With everyone bringing their kids in for a dozen plates of finger food, it’s not very relaxing.

Room Service Menu is very simple and discourages in-room dining. That’s okay since so many restaurants are nearby, but it could be so much better.

TV channel choices are very limited. HBO and Showtime would be welcome additions.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Hola-Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai recently and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and will look into the areas you have highlighted for improvement

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 km away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 87 in George Town
1,727 reviews
3.2 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,875 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
918 reviews
3 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
3.2 km away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Kelawai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Kelawai

Address: 2 Persiaran Maktab, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: €88 - €130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G Hotel Kelawai 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel Kelawai tagged as "Style...Redefined" is where iconic design and cutting edge lifestyle set the stage for exclusive and extraordinary experiences. The hotel houses rooms that are uniquely inspired by innovative design to create energizing space for guests to play or work by day or mix and mingle by night. In addition to that, it will also accommodate three trendy and stylish food and beverage outlets - Spoon; a coffee house, 2PM; lobby lounge and Gravity; a 24th floor rooftop bar that are set to fulfil guests' gastronomic appetites. There are a total of 208 rooms namely 143 Deluxe rooms that are 35sqm, 20 units of Executive Room at 35sqm, 43 units of Executive Premier at 45sqm and 2 units of Executive Premier Suite at 82sqm of which all are crafted to be elegant yet casual. The rooms aim to personify an opulence that is bespoke from its clean architecture, to its interior design and even the thread count in the sheets. Feel right at home, and at the same time, in worlds apart. For the first time, G Hotel is proud to introduce the Serta Bed, the world's best mattress, providing superior support for the best sleep experience ever. In addition, Herman Miller work chair, designed for comfort, inspired by innovation & created for the environment. Amongst others, Appelles products for your showering comfort, 55" Smart LED TV, infinity swimming pool & many other new services and products to complement your stay. Also to make your stay better, G Hotel Kelawai offers a fully equipped gymnasium, business centre and roof top infinity pool. The gymnasium also allows you to use state-of-the-art equipment to break that sweat. You can enjoy the scenic view while working out with our personal trainers should you need any assistance or guidance. For those who have the love for water, the infinity pool on the 24rd floor gives you a chance to take in what Penang has to offer while having a dip. Fathom in the picturesque Penang when you go for a swim as there is a 360° view of the island including the view of the iconic Penang Bridge. At the same time, guest can enjoy a night out with drinks to match and view that intoxicate at the rooftop bar - Gravity. Poised at a vantage point, visit the pinnacle of luxury and bring your lifestyle to the peak with panoramic views of Penang's heritage past. Jive to the coolest tunes, sip on the newest mixes and party the night away. Make your special event a memorable one with the meeting facilities available. For small groups such as company meetings, there are classroom seating rooms being named 'Forum'. They can be used for separate functions or events that are organized by different organizations. If there is a large group gathering, these meeting rooms may be combined for a bigger space in order to accommodate everyone. Meanwhile, the business centre gives guests a chance to go online and do daily tasks. Excite and awaken your senses at our cafe - Spoon that plays host to a myriad of cuisines. Whether it is a casual brunch or a quiet dinner for two, enjoy a wide variety of food cooked fresh. With no compromise to quality ingredients, embark on a culinary adventure set to tantalize your taste buds with culinary fare from around the globe. Carefully crafted and delicately decorated, the lounge - 2pm is the spot that appeals to everyone. Whether it is a cup of freshly brewed coffee with a quiet book, or maybe something stronger to take the edge off after a long day, the lounge is poised to appeal to all. So sit down, relax, and live in the moment in your own cosy and quiet spot. G Hotel Kelawai is located at the prominent location on the bustling Jalan Kelawai, noted to be one of the busiest streets in Penang. Jalan Kelawai is famous for a diverse array of attractions ranging from traditional temples and local eateries to upscale restaurants, boutiques and jewellers. Located within walking distance from the hotel, Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon, just about everything Penang has to offer is right at your doorstep for unimaginable convenience. Within mere minutes is also Gurney Drive, home to the congregation of roadside iron chefs. Allow these local fare maestros to take you on journey of gastronomical proportions and sample almost all that Penang is famous for. Open for 24 hours round the clock stomach stuffing, you'll be screaming for reprieve before the week is out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Prestigia, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your G Hotel Kelawai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G Hotel Kelawai Penang/George Town, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing