We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is spacious and the staffs are very helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Northam All Suite Penang
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 3 September 2017

The rooms is spacious and the Northam Hotel Staffs are very helpful and friendly. The buffet is prefect and the facilities are well maintain. The hotel is strategically located in Georgetown which easy accessible

Room Tip: Face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WangChenYee, Hotel Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Mr Louis,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially with the spacious suite and the friendly and helpful staff. I have shared your comments with the team to inspire them to continue striving for excellence.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Northam soon. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Wang Chen Yee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

This is the worst hotel in Penang.

Cocaroch every where
Very very dirty

I don't recommend it for any one. Even single hour.

Moreover, room service is the lowest service you may think ever.

Staff are very nice. This is the only things they have.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank mohammed a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WangChenYee, Hotel Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017


Dear En Mohammed,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the overall service by our staff but please accept our sincere apologies for the unfouvorable experience you encountered during your stay. Rest assured we take your feedback seriously and we are taking immediate action to address the pest control issue.

When your travel plan brings you back to Penang, please contact me directly and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Wang Chen Yee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

The main problems I had with my stay were: cockroaches, a broken room safe, malfunctioning light controls, a dirty bathroom with severely leaking shower, and water-damaged floorboards with a musty/moldy smell in the room and furniture.

My family arrived at night and, within a minute of entering the suite, one of my children says "what's that?" I peer closer and sure enough, it is a cockroach. I immediately set about turning on all the lights to get a better look around. I soon realized that a number of the lights don't work. When I inspected the bathroom, there was urine on the toilet seat! Dried. Under the toilet seat. I'm feeling pretty insecure about my surroundings by this point but I'm trying hard not to upset my family. I couldn't keep quiet about the jacuzzi tub however. There was orange residue in there that I could not identify. It was very disconcerting.

I had to call the front desk for extra towels and to replace a hairdryer that was clearly missing from its wall mount. Evidently the hotel had also run out of conditioner, a fact that was corroborated by members of my party staying in other rooms. We soon found out that the electronic room safe was broken, the shower leaked water from its foundation, and the floorboards are warped from water seeping up under the living area.

The next morning, we asked the concierge to have someone fix the room safe and change the blown light bulbs in the room. When we returned in the evening, the lights worked but the safe was still broken. We learned from our friends who checked into two other rooms at the Northam that broken room safes and cockroaches were a common denominator in other rooms as well. After catching two more cockroaches, it was time to sleep. Except, all the lights wouldn't turn off! ALL the lights! "Just pull the room key out of the front door slot" someone suggested. I tried three times, waiting patiently for at least five minutes between tries to no avail. I left the room key out of the slot but no amount of punching of buttons on the master controls or the wall switches would induce any of the lights to turn off. Finally, at my wits end, we went to bed with all the lights on. At some point in the middle of the night, the lights finally decided to turn off on their own accord.

By the third day, the housekeeping staff finally learned to leave some extra towels for us to mop up the after-shower flooding from the leaking shower stall. I noticed that the musty smell that prevailed in our room had permeated all of our luggage and clothing. We had pre-arranged to transfer over to another hotel midway through our Penang visit, where we arrived "smelling like the Northam" for a few days. I have already made a note to management that room 3006 should not be rented out again until proper renovations are completed.

Was there anything good about this "4 Star" hotel? A few things: 1) there is a beautiful waterfront view, 2) the infinity pool on the 9th Floor provides a great way to cool off in the afternoon, 3) the complimentary mixed Western and Malaysian breakfast buffet was quite good and 4) the bell hop Sandran was exceptionally courteous and helpful. But I will not stay here again.

This is my third attempt to submit a review for this stay as my previous submissions ("accepted" by TripAdvisor) appear to have gone missing.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Buffyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WangChenYee, Hotel Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the seaview, our infinity pool, the breakfast spread and the service from Sandran. However, we regret to learn of the undesirable experience you encountered with the condition of the room. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

I have shared your feedback with our team and we have taken action to address the issues mentioned in your review. Please contact me directly if your travel plan brings you back to Penang. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Northam in the near future. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Wang Chen Yee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Cockroaches in room on floor 27! Hotel did nothing, and I have just read other reviews that have said the same, wish I saw this before booking. Decor tired and dated, look at photos from guests and decide quality yourself! Floor boards health hazard. Towels and bedding are old and worn. Smokey smell despite being a no smoking floor. Good views to sea but windows are filthy and didn't feel comfortable leaning on glazing. Seriously do not recommend, particularly for those from U.K. Positives, large rooms and good location.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ange L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WangChenYee, Hotel Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Ms Ange,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our spacious suite and the convenience location during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unfavourable experience you encountered during your stay. We have taken action to address issues mentioned in your comments. Even our hotel is an older property; we are committed to provide all of our guests a pleasant stay at the Northam.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit back to Penang. Please contact me directly for your future reservation and I will personally ensure you your next stay at the Northam will be more enjoyable one. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Wang Chen Yee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

I have been to many hotels up to 5 stars, but imagine from the moment you want to check in, while eating in restaurant, friendly staff especially staff name Nurhidayah, what you see is smiling face, care and feeling special. Room neat and spacious. I had an unforgettable holiday! Overall l had a great time here and l will be back....

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Roslina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WangChenYee, Hotel Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Ms Roslina,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for the kind words. I have shared your inspiring comments with the team.

All of us at The Northam are committed to create a memorable experience for all of our guests, one guest at a time. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Northam in the near future. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Wang Chen Yee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
0.1 km away
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
#37 of 87 in George Town
69 reviews
0.6 km away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#29 of 87 in George Town
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.5 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
2.7 km away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#16 of 87 in George Town
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Address: 55 Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in George Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: €45 - €160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang George Town, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing