We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Hotel (Old), Higher Floors have Toilet and baby cockroaches issues.Gym is old and smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Northam All Suite Penang
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 24 July 2017

I usually stay here, but this year- worst experience ever. We were there for 3 nights. The rooms had baby cockroaches running around, we told the cleaners but they just ignored. Secondly, they gave us the 35th floor, and the toilets were a nightmare- every time someone poops, the flush fails. We had to call the maintenance guy every morning to fix it. Such a hassle. Thirdly, the gym- was old, dusty and smelly. Extremely dissapointed with Northam this time.

Room Tip: Please take lower floors, the higher floors have toilet issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KVanitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WangChenYee, Hotel Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Vanitha,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you encountered during your stay. We have taken immediate action to address the issues you mentioned after we received your feedback.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Northam in the near future. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Wang Chen Yee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

I don't want to be the typical dissatisfied guest but this hotel clearly is not well maintained and I cannot help but share our initial experience.
We arrived from our flight before midnight, tired and in need of a rest as we go to the hospital early the following morning. We were given a room that had what sounded like a toilet flush every 3 minutes precisely, I kid you not-room 3106! It kept us awake all night. At 0430 I called the duty manager to tell them to reserve a new room for us to swop at a later, more convenient time. This room was clearly out of order but the lack of due diligence left it for rent.
We are staying for 8 nights and are expecting just a decent room.
Our room had also a bundle of used toilet paper sitting on the floor which clearly no one checked when cleaning the room and also in the bathroom the drainage on one sink was faulty and couldn't be opened or closed. The shower door silicon was dirty, mouldy and the door hinge was out of alignment & could not close without slicing the ground. It made a terrible sound when you had to open and close the door.
We only had 2 bath towels & a floor rug, zero hand/face towels and very limited & unreplemished tissue.
The sheets were dirty looking and had blood stains all over.
I was even bitten by who-knows-what bugs in bed!!! This, to add to the noise, of course I couldn't get rest.
Finishing is old, worn and not maintained.
Is there anything nice about the room? The sea view, if you can look through the stains and marks on the window..
We changed our room and now have no constant toilet flushing noise hopefully, just the usual sounds of the Neighbours using the bath tub etc. The stains on the sheets and pillows seem to be homogeneous with every room because we still have it here in the new room.
Maybe old and worn out furnishing is bearable but the stained sheets are a really bad impression.
For the surrounding amenities it's really not much, although you would be able to get some food all day. You'd need to travel to get to some activities and more food varieties but that's typical if you stay in this area. No convenience store around, although we spotted one but obviously it was closed at that hour so it's not 24hours.
Have not checked out the facilities but they seem to be equipped with gym, pool etc.
If you need to be near the Gleneagles hospital then it's great as it's a one minute walk, but you need to be prepared in case you get a not so clean room.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank LSchwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WangChenYee, Hotel Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share with us a very detailed feedback. We regret to learn of your unfavourable experience during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you encountered with the condition and cleanliness of the room during your stay. We have since inspected and addressed the issues you mentioned after we received your feedback.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to The Northam in the near future. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Wang Chen Yee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

i was here for 2 nights with friends just to have a first look at Penang

hotel is old, but its nice and clean with no issues due to the age.....the pool is nice but the terrace bar / restaurant was never open

the breakfast was nice with plenty of options including a egg bar and noodle bar - they close right on 10:30 and pretty much turn the lights off so be early. (my stay included a free breakfast)

my room was quite nice - deluxe room with entry way and entry toilet as well as spa bath. the TVs (two) were quite small but the room was nice)

this included free wifi

its a solid 30min walk into downtown Georgetown - but its only a 5rm Grab taxi away.

Across the road is a very nice hawker restaurant on the beach and the main hawker area is about 15min walk away from Georgetown. so its a good spot in the middle

again 15min walk up the main road is the last stop of the hop on hop off bus (city route) you can get on there and tour around or swap to the beach route

well worth the money if you are happy to walk a bit into town

Room Tip: sea view is worth the extra few $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WangChenYee, Hotel Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you and your friend had an enjoyable stay with us and you enjoyed the spacious suites with seaview.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel again soon. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Wang Chen Yee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Excellent service from doorman - attentive, helped us hail taxis, helped with luggage. Breakfast buffet great - fresh buns, noodles, Nasi Lemak. BUT, room safe out of order, cockroaches, blinds could not be drawn, laminate floor buckled from water damage, light switches inconvenient to use, Wi-Fi did not work a lot of the time, water splashes down onto the pavement from pool above (look up!). Renos badly needed.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Poor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

I don't usually write review about hotel but it's really a bad experience staying here this time. We stayed here back in 2014 it's was old but things work out pretty good, we did enjoy our stay. Fast forward to 2017 july, we thought the experience won't be far off from last time but things have change so much.

First was the check in.. We arrive about 5pm, I have booked a non smoking room as we are very sensitive about the smell, I was told only the smoking room left, and there is nothing they can do as it's was only subject to availability. What's the point to chose a non smoking room during booking and only subject to availability?
No way I told the reception staff I will demand a cancellation and a full refund as it's was not our fault at all. The suddenly they have non smoking room.

Next when we got into the room.. there were staines on the bed sheet, we have to ask house keeping to change

The toilet have a weird musty smell.

The hair dryer is not working in the bathe room.. had to call house keeping to bring one to the room only to find out all the hair dryer is used by other guests..which mean alot of hair dryer is not working?

Lastly as I am writing this review the temperature is the room is pretty warm even when the settings at at 16deg and fan mode is at high.

My room is 2703
Period of stay is July..

Worst experience ever..


Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jiannbing l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WangChenYee, Hotel Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Jiann Bing,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the unfavourable experience you encountered during your stay. I have shared your feedback with the respective managers and the issues mentioned in your review have been resolved.

I have sent you a separate email to your personal email account. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to The Northam. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Wang Chen Yee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
0.1 km away
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
#37 of 87 in George Town
68 reviews
0.6 km away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#29 of 87 in George Town
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.5 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
2.7 km away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#16 of 87 in George Town
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Address: 55 Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: €45 - €160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang George Town, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing