We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
Heliconia Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Munlustay 88 Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellevue Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel NEO+ Penang(George Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
iStay Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Central(George Town)
View Hotel
Reviews (1,526)
Filter reviews
1,526 results
Traveller rating
327
764
284
102
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
764
284
102
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew lanehawker stallsstreet foodhawker foodwalking distanceclub roomtaxi standprangin mallmacalister roadbuffet breakfastclean hotelsmall poolearly checknasi lemakroom was spacioussingle bedpleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,526 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I received great service since the day we checked in. The breakfast was good as well, with quite a number of varieties. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we would surely be back to Sunway Georgetown

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank samantha y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelGT, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Samantha Y,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang!

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to have been able to be of service to you. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and had a memorable trip.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your future room accommodation needs and we look forward to your next stay!

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got a warm welcome on our honeymoon at this hotel. They surpriced us with a welcoome gift in our room. The front desk called us and asked us if we needed something, and they gave us a feeling of being taking care of from the moment we arrived.

The wifi worked better then the other hotels we stayed at during our honeymoon and the rooms was clean and of a good quality. We would definetaly like to go back to this hotel on another occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Faher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelGT, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Faher A,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang!

Thank you for your positive review. Your wonderfully detailed feedback very much appreciated and we are delighted to have been able to be of service to you. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and had a memorable honeymoon.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your future room accommodation needs and we look forward to your next stay!

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family were in Sunway Hotel Georgetown in Penang for 9 nights for 2 deluxe rooms with superkingsize bed (each room is for 3 person). For the first day, the room is separated in one floor. Then, we requested to the receptionist for facilitating with conneting door. She gave an intruction that tomorrow after breakfast to bringing all luggage to the ground floor (we were in 10th floor) and all set for requesting room. So, we did what she wanted. After arriving in the hotel around 11 pm, the reception told us that all rooms were set. We took all of our big luggages using lift to 11 floor (with no help of door man, 4 star hotel is it?). Surprisingly, we got 2 rooms with facing together with small capacity of room for 2 person each room. Because we were very tired, I did slight complained. Then in the morning, we complained and got rooms back to capacity of 3 person each room. Too many reasons they (receptionist) gave to us without proper manner.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Budijanto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelGT, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Budijantow,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang!

Thank you for your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced especially with the services provided during your stay with us, and we view your constructive comments with concern. Rest assured this is not the standard to which we hold ourselves to and our team has undertaken immediate actions to resolve the shortcomings of poor level of services, especially with regards to our reception.

We hope this single experience will not mar your impression towards the hotel and we look forward to provide you with better services during your next visit.

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself is average, but you don't go to Penang to stay in the room. The location is indeed perfect if you visit Penang for its food. A short walk from your hotel is a bustling street food heaven. The feast starts when the sun goes down and continue till midnight. The dim-sum restaurant across the street is another gluttony shrine to visit.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the main road and had a chance to see all the fireworks during the new year's eve
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Reinaldo_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelGT, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Reinaldo_dc,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang!

Thank you for your review. Indeed we are located in the heart of much food options. We are glad that you found our location ideal to your needs. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and had a memorable trip.

Thank you for your patronage to our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your future room accommodation needs and we look forward to welcoming you once again soon!

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My hubby and I have come to the end of a fantastic 13 night stay at the Sunway Hotel. This is our 3rd stay here and this time the staff have excelled themselves, apon our arrival to our room we where greeted with a "welcome back" sign over our bed, a basket of goodies and a towel swan arrangement on the bed. I also celebrated my birthday whilst here too, coming back after a day out I found in our room a rose petal arrangement of a b/day cake on the bed, a bunch of roses and a Chocolate birthday cake and a bunch of the staff sang happy birthday to me. We have had an amazing stay here as well as a awesome holiday in Penang once again, the staff have been great, always with a smile and hello, and we definitely will stay here again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelGT, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sandy M,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang!

Thank you for your positive review. Your wonderfully detailed feedback are most appreciated and we are delighted to have been able to be of service to you. We are also glad to have you return to us during your every trip to Penang. We hope you enjoyed your overall stay and had a memorable birthday celebration with us.

Thank you for your patronage to our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your future room accommodation needs and we look forward to you next stay!

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews