We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour, great fun! ”

Matahari Cycle Tours & Travel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our tour products are obtainable directly from the source. As we are concern of the high standard of presentation and service delivered to our clients, we would want to know you directly – without having the in-betweens. By listening and communicating straight, we are able to learn about you immediately from the very moment you reach for us thus enabling us to deliver accordingly to your every need. These tour products are only available exclusively from us – your tour operator. We strictly do not appoint selling agents or have our products sold through any third-party mediums and they are not available on third-party travel websites or digital marketplaces.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend this tour. It was a lot of fun and Princilia was brilliant as a guide.

I was pleasantly surprised that the day involved other activities and delicious food and not just cycling. We went with my in laws who are in their sixties and they really enjoyed too.

The views where great and the stops for extra water and sunscreen were spot on.

Thanks again team!

Date of experience: April 2018
5  Thank liliavaleria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"balik pulau"
in 37 reviews
"rice paddies"
in 24 reviews
"countryside tour"
in 25 reviews
"goat farm"
in 43 reviews
"goat milk"
in 12 reviews
"palm plantations"
in 11 reviews
"bike ride"
in 10 reviews
"support vehicle"
in 10 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 12 reviews
"support crew"
in 7 reviews
"chinese fishing"
in 10 reviews
"fishing village"
in 15 reviews
"palm oil"
in 6 reviews
"mountain bikes"
in 6 reviews
"frequent stops"
in 3 reviews
"bring sunscreen"
in 3 reviews
"quiet side"
in 3 reviews
Filter

61 - 65 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We decided to do the countryside trip and from the start the team at Matahari were fantastic. We booked by email, paid through secure PayPal invoice - so easy. They double checked bike size for my 9 year old daughter. Hotel collection and then a 30 minute drive to the south western corner of the island where Princilia and her team were waitng for us.

Bikes were excellent quality and really well maintained, sized to our heights. A few minutes getting used to gears and final adjustments to searching, then we were off through Penang countryside with one guide specially riding with my daughter and Princilia leading the main group of 5 of us.

The whole day was lovely, great stops, lots of things to try, very interesting and informative, lovely food at the snack stops and for lunch. Back up van met us at several stops with extra waters, sunscreen and a delicious lunch.

30km total. Enjoyed by all including teenage son who normally is not easily detached from his phone.

Highly recommended, a great day.

Date of experience: April 2018
4  Thank FionaH545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Our bike tour with Matahari tours was incredible!! Pricillia and Ding took us 30km around the beautiful untouristy south west part of Penang Island. The ride was gentle and predominantly flat with lots of stops for the most delicious food cooked by Warren. The guides were so kind and looked after us so well. It was our highlight of visiting Penang and would do it all again if we could! Thanks guys!

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank DaisyAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

I can recommend this to every tourist visiting Penang! Go cycling with Matahari means: local cullinary tasting, great bike and service, An enthuastic and knowledgable guide Syed...simplistisch unforgettable! The best 1 day escape from Georgetown. All matahari crew thanks and keep up the good work!!

Date of experience: March 2018
4  Thank Dolf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

I cannot recommend this bicycle tour highly enough! From start to finish it was simply amazing and Princillia was the perfect guide all the way. We had read the reviews online and decided to give it a go. My husband and myself and our 17 year old daughter all loved it. It was easy to book and pay online and we were picked up at our hotel at the scheduled time. We were driven out to the countryside where we met up with our tour guide Princillia and her trusty helper. The bikes and helmets were all ready for us and adjustments were made before we started to make sure we were comfortable. Princillia made us feel at ease from the start and given that I had not ridden a bike for years she instructed me all the way, telling me when to change gears etc. The ride was just amazing, we passed through paddocks, forests, small fishing villages and rice fields. We saw lots of wildlife and Princillia pointed out all the interesting things along the way. We stopped at a small fishing village for local coffee and a snack and had a wonderful lunch in the middle of a rice field...simply awesome! I would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to get off the beaten track and enjoy the peaceful countryside of Penang. Thank you Princillia and Matahari Cycle Tours for an unforgettable day.

Date of experience: January 2018
4  Thank Kerri3150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matahari Cycle Tours & Travel also viewed

Balik Pulau, Penang Island
 
Balik Pulau, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Matahari Cycle Tours & Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing