We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That sinking feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pangkor Laut Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Pangkor Laut is a wonderful island - absolute paradise - we had a wonderful time and really enjoyed but be warned! 2 sea villas collapsed into the sea during our time there. I have some photos of this! Will post once my camera arrives back. They were just a few villas down from where we were staying. Apparently one collapsed and hit another with both falling into sea around 8am. One villa had a french couple (i am told) on their honeymoon trapped inside. Luckily they got out from the story i heard - very lucky! It scared a lot of us staying in the villas near by. Its a shame because the sea villas are beautiful and so is island staff etc. Looks like a major maintenance problem or freak of nature?

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank cyber1mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,943 - 1,947 of 2,495 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2010

We had been wanting to visit this resort for a number of years, as the photos of the villas on stilts over the sea looked very appealing. Taking into acccount that we have traveled throughout Asia for many years, here is our review:

The resort is well-maintained, and has one of the most beautiful small beaches we have seen anywhere. The island is quite hilly, however, and unfortunately this means that when the roads have been cut, cement has been applied liberally to the hillside adjacent to the road to help avoid landslides. So driving around is not very charming. And we don't like the driving part - because the resort is spread out, you become reliant on small shuttle buses to take you from place to place, and I really don't like spending my vacation time in a shuttle bus.

The staff are highly accommodating, although the service is a bit slow by 5-star standards. We felt as though the staff knew who we were throughout our visit, and found them friendly and engaging. The yoga master failed to show up on time for his afternoon class (he was 20 minutes late), which we found a bit odd. And the staff at the Straits restaurant were attentive to the point of being a real distraction to our dinner. We really do not need to have every dish dissected for us verbally, when we have ordered from a menu that already has a description of each dish. And we certainly do not expect to be interrogated about our feelings about each course every time a plate is picked up. The guitar player and singer belong in a bar, not a fine restaurant, where quiet background music would have provided a far better experience. The dinner was extremely leisurely - about 2.5 hours to work through a 5 course set menu - tough at the end of a long day in the sun. So although the food was fine, the experience was not, and we do not recommend this restaurant.

The food at the resort is very good, although expensive. However, no complaints on quality. The breakfast buffet is large and varied, and has a fresh juice stand in addition to a large assortment of both Asian and Western breakfast choices. The Fisherman's Cove restaurant was great- we ate there twice because the fish was so fresh and good, and it was lovely to be on the deck over the sea. We also found their team to be great and very friendly. We did not try the Chinese restaurant, but it looked popular. There is no room service. The international buffet and the Straits restaurant unfortunately overlook the boat basin in the front of the resort. This is too bad, because there are often working boats docked there as well as the shuttle boats - and the view of the contents of the working boat is like dining in the garage. There are also some not-so attractive buildings across the bay which make the feel a bit less sylvan than if they were not there.

We reserved a sea villa, but were advised on arrival that a whole section of 23 villas had been closed just before the holiday weekend for reasons which the staff clearly did not wish to share. We were given instead a large villa in the forest in the Estate section, far from all of the resort amenitiies. The room was large, very well-appointed, and dark. There was a lovely jacuzzi outside, but it was only about a foot deep!

We moved to another section of the sea villas the next day. Our villa was great - shows its age, but was very clean if rather sparsely appointed - but I loved it, because it was where I wanted to be. Certainly not plush by any means, although it had feather pillows and a tub big eh\nough for two. There was a rain shower over the tub, but no walk-in shower. The view was lovely, and it was very quiet. The night time ambience was slightly sub optimal as the spot lights on the beach detracted a bit from the romantic setting.

The spa is very nice, and highly recommended. The staff are well-trained and very professional. The "bath experience" prior to treatment is unique, and very relaxing. The hair treatment is one of the best spa treatments I have ever had anywhere - highly recommended! I also loved the scrub and the wrap, and slept very well after all.
Great, airy library with wif-fi access - we had no trouble "keeping up" while we were here.

Over all - very nice, good value for money, and a nice change from the city. Kudos especially to the staff for working hard to ensure that we had a great visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I am halfway through a 10-night stay for my honeymoon. Whilst the service and friendliness of the staff is exemplary and cannot be faulted, there are a number of points which I feel severely hamper the resort.

Firstly, the cost of the food is far far too expensive, to the point where it is outrageous. Yes, I know we are a captive audience, but there is no justification for ripping off your clientele. As an example, on my first night, I ordered the Catch of the Day from the Fisherman's Cove. When I received my bill, it cost 240RM (approx 60GBP). This was just for my dish, not the overall cost. Lunch usually costs a minimum of 40-50GBP, just for one course and a soft drink each. Dinner is never less than 100GBP++ even just for a main and dessert. Portions are usually miniscule too.

I strongly advise the management of PL to review their pricing, as it does not offer value for money and would be interested to receive feedback on this.

There is also a lack of evening entertainment, and as a recent previous post said, the evenings become quite similar and boring (dare I say it). Plus no room service.

I tend to pay cash up front for my meals instead of putting it all on a card at the end of my stay - however, on numerous occasions the staff have not had enough change for me, and seem genuinely surprised that I prefer to pay each bill individually.

Finally, the televisions in the room only have a few channels on although for some people that may not be an issue.

The resort itself is beautiful and very relaxing. However, I would suggest that 5-7 days are more than sufficient here, and I cannot give more than 3* due to the constant pervading feeling of being ripped off with the cost of the food/drink.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dsasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Yesterdaymorning (a couple of hourrs before leaving) a seavilla collapsed into the sea. Upon asking we would not get a response other than nobody was hurt.....Something like this can never happen at a highly rated resort. Do they check regularly ??

Our stay in a gardenvilla was good, although there is some room for improvement (especially for this toprated resort):
- Ferry not leaving in time. They travel with 3 ferries at the same time: They asked us (!) whether all the luggage was on board and at Lumut we had to wait for 2 ferries to disembark, although we were promissed to have the first ferry. Also they insisted (,ore than once) that we had to book the ferry the night before leaving. We wanted to chose the next morning depending on the weather, but they kept on insisting!
- There is a huge stack of personnel, but with the transport acorss the island they did not use all the busses and let us wait when the bus was full.
- Gardenvilla are quite noisy. You can hear the neighbours. We complained at recepion and this was solved quickly.
- Indeed (as in other reviews) matrasses at swimmingpool can be all taken.

Food, drinks, beach, swimmingpool are nice.

We would comme back, but as said not in a seavilla (or spa-villa because theu are also on poles in the sea)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexander025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Pangkor Laut has everything for a romantic break.
We went for a week as part of a trip around Malaysia for our honeymoon and it was the most luxurious out of all the places we stayed.
It is fantastic the moment you arrive at the jetty where you are greeted with a cool drink and a cold face towel. The boat journey is a lovely 20 minute ride adding to the adventure and unique nature of this resort.
We upgraded to a sea villa on arrrival and it was beautiful. Staff made us petal baths and added lovely touches to the room each night whilst we were out.
All the staff were amazing and delivered wonderful service.
The island is beautiful and Emerald Bay is paradise....
The only downside was the very expensive prices for food....You obviously eat on the island as there is nowhere else to go but that shouldnt mean that the prices are so high....
Some form of relaxed entertaiment as an option in one of the bars/ areas would also be nice as the nights became a little too much of the same.
This is a 5 star location however and we enjoyed it thoroughly...
Thanks to all the staff for making it a honeymoon to remember...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WardTrowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumut
6.5 km away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
2 km away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
12.6 km away
Hotel Sfera
Hotel Sfera
#3 of 19 in Lumut
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#5 of 50 in Manjung District
56 reviews
12.7 km away
Lumut Villa Inn
Lumut Villa Inn
#5 of 19 in Lumut
2 reviews
8.4 km away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pangkor Laut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkor Laut Resort

Address: Pangkor Laut Island, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lumut
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lumut
Price Range: €177 - €418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pangkor Laut Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pangkor Laut is a privately owned island located three miles off the West Coast of Malaysia along the Straits of Malacca. This piece of paradise has been 2 million years in the making, and here you will find one of the world's premier resorts nestling in the shade of forest giants as old as the land. You will find no other resorts - just secluded bays curled around pristine beaches, evening skies woven with colour, and a deep sense of serenity reserved exclusively for our guests. A combination of luxury, natural beauty and age-old wilderness woven together to produce an environment where peace and magically memorable moments are the currency. Of the island's 300 acres, only a fraction has been developed to house the Resort and its eight Estates. Wooden buildings blend seamlessly into the forest as if nature had been the architect dictating how walls curve around foliage, and roofs open up to allow trees to continue on their journey to the sky. Nature is respected here, almost revered, and it rewards visitors in ways that simply need to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pangkor Laut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Laut Hotel Pangkor
Laut Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing