We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing paradise, if you let it work its charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pangkor Laut Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2006

I've been visiting Pangkor Laut consistently over the past 2 years and every time I leave, I count the days till I next go back.

The place is indeed a paradise; it’s a place one goes to get back to nature. Where you relax, sit back and open yourself to the wonderful surroundings, let the island, with its lively rainforest and tranquil bays lull you into complete relaxation.

Don’t expect high-end posh-ness and round the clock hand and foot service here, Pangkor Laut is more laid-back than that, it is a place where time moves at a slower pace, you may wait a little longer for transportation, walk a little farther to a hearty breakfast.

The difference is, during that waiting period, some will breathe in the pureness of the air, the sweet scent of the flowers, listen to the waves beat on the shore and the birds singing in the trees, they will take it all in and thoroughly appreciate that this wonderful place exists; others will moan that they must wait and be completely oblivious to the beauty surrounding them. I’ve observed both types and generally think that if you don’t appreciate it, then there’s more of this paradise for me.

The staff are warm, friendly, most of the lower ranking ones very shy, which some people may misinterpret as surly and unfriendly, but from what I’ve experienced, they try their best to be accommodating. All you have to do is smile and they will do their utmost to give you the world.

The food is glorious. The Fisherman’s Cove, Uncle Lim’s and Chapman’s Bar are my favourites. The Fisherman’s Cove serves fresh seafood and a seriously delicious steak, sauces are light and the freshness and quality of each dish is amazing. The desserts are divine as well; I really like the ‘Le Pudding’ which is a light lemon cheese soufflé, divine.

Uncle Lim’s is the Chinese restaurant. It doesn’t have a menu; they just serve the best of the day’s catch and produce. The wait-staff will suggest the day’s specials. The stir-fried kale and fresh fish either steamed or fried are excellent.

Chapman’s Bar is a lovely place for lunch whether or not you’re spending the day at Emerald Bay, the young coconut juice, salads and fried noodles are all delicious; the ambiance is as good as it gets, digging toes in the sand looking out over the clear waters of the bay, it’s always breezy and you are shaded from the sun by the canopy of hundred year old trees.

Emerald Bay is always the highlight of the day at Pangkor Laut. Its wonderful to just bask in the sun then dip into the clear waters to cool down, or read a book in the hammocks swaying from the trees there. Then there’s the wonderfully romantic sunset Dinner-on-the-Rocks.

The Spa is an experience to remember, from the moment they welcome you, to the Bathhouse experience, the library/teahouse and the massage therapy itself the staff are polite, knowledgeable and considerate. My massage therapist knew when I was cold turning down the temperature and draping me with blankets. The massages are great I tried the Lomi-Lomi. Even if you’re not keen on massages, go for the bathhouse experience at least, it’s a great introduction to their wonderful spa village.

Overall, location and food are definitely 5 star, service needs a bit of patience because the staff are mostly foreign workers, who are a bit shy with communicating and do try their best.

It's not the place to go and be a snob.Its the place you go to completely relax, take in the beautiful setting and give it a chance to work it's magic.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Froubelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

2,164 - 2,168 of 2,522 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Oxfordshire, UK
Reviewed 7 January 2006

We went to Pangkor laut for our honeymoon in December 2005. We stayed for 14 nights, flying in and out of KL transferring by road and ferry to Pangkor Laut. A very long trip from the UK - about 30 hours all in all.
We had a very relaxing fortnight, and this is DESPITE the efforts of the management and vast majority of the serving staff (not housekeeping) to ensure that this wasnt the case. If you have already booked, and can just live with poor service and are after doing nothing but reading then you will have a nice time... but if you havent booked yet then I would recommend spending your hard earned money and valuable time elsewhere in South East Asia.

There had been some heavy rain early in November we are told, which caused a hillslide, and as we had been booked into a hill villa (some of which had collapsed, some of which were not structurally sound) we were upgraded to a sea villa - one of the ones on stilts over the sea.

The room itself was lovely, a large double room and a very large bathroom (hairdryer, safe, minibar) with stone bath (fits 2) with shutters you can open up onto the sea. The room also had a private sun deck which was lovely.

Do note though that the bath with shutters open isnt totally private, and unless you are a real exhibitionist you certainly couldnt naked sunbathe on the deck if that is your thing, not just because other decks and public areas overlook the decks but because of the frequent speed boat trips from the 3* hotel across the water who seem to want to take trips to come and look at the sea villas (and the people on them).

We couldnt fault the housekeeping service - we were supplied with more clean towels and dressing gowns than you could use, and the room was always cleaned or turned down (about 8pm every day) / cleaned again to very high standards.

The island is blessed with a beautiful location, and the infinity pools, bars and restaurants all very attractive, and all accomodation is low rise - and blends into the rainforest (if not standing on the sea).

There are monitor lizards, jellyfish, monkeys and peacocks on the island. The monitor lizards keep themselves to themselves and sit on rocks by the sea villas. We did see large jellyfish in the sea and washed up on the beach - which kind of put us off swimming in the sea. Peacocks are a real pain unless you like birds (I dont), and the local weekender guests and their children do tend to feed them from the table, (they are free to wonder though the RBBC and the breakfast restaurant) which inevitably leads to them scouring lunchtimes and breakfast table for food offerings, and a couple of times as plates werent cleared - them climbing on the tables and eating off the plates.

We took a top tip from another trip advisor review and took a bottle of gin with us from duty free for post midnight nightcaps - as the bars do shut at midnight and if you want spirits in your mini bar then you have to buy a normal sized bottle (no minis) at about £50. Highly recommend doing this for those who like a nightime tipple.

RBBC - Service in the Royal Bay beach club (main lunch restaurant) was so bad that it was comical. Bring it on faulty towers Malaysia. We often had to ask after our order, which more often than not had either been forgotten, or brought wrong (very wrong often - often just a bit wrong so you could eat it e.g. burger with mushrooms instead of burger with cheese and onions). Nearly every meal did not end up being eaten as ordered.

Service in the other restaurants was also pretty bad - although not quite as bad as RBBC. The "premium" restaurant - fishermans cove, will set you back more than a conran restaurant in London for a meal. The food is very tasty - but they dont do side dishes with the main courses and they dont come with more than decorative vegetables - which means a hunk of meat or fish tends to constitute your meal. Starters are excellent, and desserts are variable. Chapmans bar (lunch) by emerald cove gets no peacocks for lunch, and lunch is generally better than RBBC, although as the staff seem to rotate around the restaurants the food ordered is not always what you end up eating either.

They closed the Malaysian restaurant after our first week - which was a shame... no warning, no alternative. only 2 evening restaurants available for the last 7 nights of a 14 night stay was very dissapointing (especially as it had been advertised to us as a 5 restaurant resort).

We did mention both our dissapointment with the closure and the service to the representatives of the mgmt (mgmt nowhere to be seen for the entire stay), and we were offered a free BBQ on the deck, and told we could order from the Malaysian restaurant menu at lunchtime (missed the point a bit). The first lunch after we complained, we asked for our order after 45 mins of waiting and were offered the menus again. Waited another 30 minutes while the staff argued with each other and pointed at us (they knew something was up), but still no food materialised. 1hr 30 after ordering we were brough chips as some kind of compensation (?), and 1hr 45 after ordering our meal - but not as ordered. Again. We booked the free BBQ for our last night, it rained so we ended up in fishermans cove. We were charged for this, and decided to sign for it rather than try and engage in debate with the restaurant staff (who would definately not have been able to cope with the discussion) and sort it out on check out in the morning. In the morning when we explained that the last nights dinner had been on the house, we were argued with and made to feel as if we were in the wrong. Eventually this was taken off the bill - but at no point was any apology made for any of the service we had complained about.

All in all we did have a lovely time - but this was more because it was our honeymoon, wanted to do nothing, didnt allow ourselves to get too bothered about the service, or lack of variety. We were also there on a discount price (my husband is travel industry). I would have been far lass calm about it if we had paid full price.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2006

We were scheduled to stay at Pangkor Laut for Christmas, hoping for six nights of peace and relaxation. Having requested in April a sea villa away from the main resort, we were amazed to be given one not 20 steps from the main beach. With obvious reluctance, the staff moved us, but it wasn't far away enough. With music until 2am (the hotel claims it was not them), followed by noisy motor boats at 6.45am, we had a sleepness night. We found our sea villa dingy and not at all luxurious (the owners of PL should visit India to see how luxury is really done). We decided to cut our losses and checked out. The staff were totally unconcerned - why were we surprised? Incidentally, the main restaurant was closed for refurbishment (at peak season??!!), and we've eaten better pan-Asian food in London.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Londona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2005

Just stayed in the Pangkor Laut Resort for a few days. We had high expectations after reading all the great discriptions in traveller magazines and all the awards they got. But we were disappointed. Rooms (we had a beach villa) certainly need maintenance. The airconditioning in our room made such a noice that it was impossible to have it on at night although we desperately needed it. We complained about it, were told that they would fix it but offcourse nothing happened. That illustrates the rest of the service. Staff is not as service minded as you would expect from a 5* resort. Food is OK although I agree with earlier reviewers about breakfast. That is poor.
I think they got all the great reviews an awards due to the fact that the location is amazing, the sight of the villas on stelts looks very exotic and that their Spa is absolutely georgeous. Which is all true, especially the Spa, but the rest is strongly overrated.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Anouk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2005

Stayed 3 nights in November. Got upgraded to a sea room which was really excellent. The service was outstanding, the food excellent and the whole ambience was truly lovely. Our only criticism would be that for the money, they should not allow children under 16. If I want children running around in a restaurant, I can go to MacDonalds for that, I do not expect it in an expensive restaurant. In fairness, some other resorts state a no children policy, so maybe we should have checked, but frankly we were surpirsed that poeple would want to take young children to such a resort. I felt sorry for the honeymooners who just wanted a quiet time. That apart, the resort is highly recommended but don't expect it to be other than expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumut
6.5 km away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
2 km away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
12.5 km away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#4 of 51 in Manjung District
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Hotel Sfera
Hotel Sfera
#3 of 19 in Lumut
57 reviews
12.7 km away
Lumut Villa Inn
Lumut Villa Inn
#12 of 19 in Lumut
3 reviews
8.4 km away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pangkor Laut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkor Laut Resort

Address: Pangkor Laut Island, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lumut
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lumut
Price Range: €177 - €347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pangkor Laut Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pangkor Laut is a privately owned island located three miles off the West Coast of Malaysia along the Straits of Malacca. This piece of paradise has been 2 million years in the making, and here you will find one of the world's premier resorts nestling in the shade of forest giants as old as the land. You will find no other resorts - just secluded bays curled around pristine beaches, evening skies woven with colour, and a deep sense of serenity reserved exclusively for our guests. A combination of luxury, natural beauty and age-old wilderness woven together to produce an environment where peace and magically memorable moments are the currency. Of the island's 300 acres, only a fraction has been developed to house the Resort and its eight Estates. Wooden buildings blend seamlessly into the forest as if nature had been the architect dictating how walls curve around foliage, and roofs open up to allow trees to continue on their journey to the sky. Nature is respected here, almost revered, and it rewards visitors in ways that simply need to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pangkor Laut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Laut Hotel Pangkor
Laut Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing