We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,700)
Filter reviews
2,700 results
Traveller rating
1,917
513
165
62
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,917
513
165
62
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsemerald bayspa villagehill villasea villauncle limsour honeymoonchapman's barprivate islandsunset cruisespa treatmentsmonitor lizardson stiltsjungle walkresident packagejamu barfruit batsmeal plan
Filter
Updating list...
2,005 - 2,010 of 2,700 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This resort is a haven and you will definitely leave it totally refresh. The only put off is getting to the place! So here goes, hope this will help those who are put off.
The easiest way from Singapore (not the quickest) is to hop on a bus at about 9:00pm and you will arrive around 5:30am. The coach is those with only about 26 seats. I have to warn you that coming from Oz, the aircon is a killer. We have never been so cold! I was wondering why some people were bringing winter jackets onboard but brr..rrr, almost died of cold. On arrival, go across the road for your breakfast of roti or nasi lemak. Then pop across the other side, n you are at check in office of Pangkor Laut resort where you can freshen up. Whilst waiting there are market shops around for your souvenirs, thongs, hats, etc When the boat is ready to leave, you are requested to join them and a short ride away and you're at the luxurious resort. We stayed at a hill villa and it was outstanding! Had an oudoor bathtub but we did not have time to make use of it.
Food was good except for the Chinese which was quite disappointing esp the steamfish which was overcooked. The breakfast was gorgeous and lunch was had around the pool, mmm, sallad and pizza. We also tried lunch at Emerald Bay, also very accomodating as I loved their salad, rojak and they made more for me!! I thought we would spend a bomb for drinks but the resort was very generous serving bottled water whilst we were sunbathing at Emerald bay.
The spa experience is to die for! The best so far i've had. Choice of massages is plentiful but it is the whole experience, arriving to tea, getting ready, the lovely outdoor pool, showers, etc. Went on my last day or I would have gone everyday, seriously well worth the money.
Going back, make sure you time your boat ride to connect with the bus or you'll be waiting for quite sometime.
We considered flying butthe thought of taxi to airport, check in, checkout and getting a taxi again to Lumut was daunting so if we had been able to sleep on our journey, this would be the easiest way. If you are those who cannot sleep on coach, then this way could be quite long.
Can't wait for my next trip there!

Room Tip: Beach villas if you have children. Hill villa for privacy and quiet and views.
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HotspiceAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Pangkor Laut Resort, the end to a great 2 weeks on belated honeymoon in Malaysia. Initially when we first arrived we were concerned that it would be a little too quiet for us, this was a pointless concern as we settled in very quickly realising you really don't need anything other than a good book - the surroundings enabled us to truly relax and de-stress!

Staff were brilliant especially in dealing with an initial complaint we made through no fault of the hotel, our agent had booked us into a room in the main part of the hotel in the midst of the families (in a hillside villa), we were taken seriously, dealt with professionally and moved quickly to a more appropriate room, the hotel more than made up for our initial disappointment.

The only things letting the resort down are the breakfast experience, it is in their main restaurant 'Feast Village' and is far from the serene relaxing experience the hotel offers at the spa and sea villa end of the resort, we felt that it was below standard for a 5 star hotel, served as a buffet and not often replenished with fresh food.

I do have to agree with other reviewers in that meals are expensive but you get a good choice and all food and service is good, we particulary liked Uncle Lim's and Fisherman's Cove (from which the view are stunning).

Lastly, the check in at Lumut, we'd had a long journey to get there from the Cameron Highlands and when we arrived it was quite chaotic.

That said, none of this has mattered, we had a fabulous time, once we had moved rooms from a Hillside Villa to a Spa Villa we were very happy with where we were spending our honeymoon, we found the whole experience altogether very pleasant.

We would especially like to thank the young Mexican lady (I am so so sorry, I did not remember to jot your name down) who took such good care of us, you are a true professional and really made our stay what it was.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different room types whilst we were at the resort, both of which were excellent. Hillside & Garden Villa's are nearer to the main building so have better access to the main restaurant. Spa and sea villa's are further away and also much quieter, Spa Villa's are available to adults only so you are guaranteed a child free pool.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The cool drink and cold towel on arrival were most welcome after the four and a bit hour drive from the airport and the staff are all so friendly without a hint of a false smile. We spent five nights at the resort rounding off a month long honeymoon. We stayed in a spa villa which had
a very comfortable bed and are well air-conditioned. There's plenty of choice for food on the island, but I found it a bit hit and miss. Firstly, breakfast is no more than average and seeing hundreds of flies crawling over the food is very off-putting. We had dinner at all three restaurants and the clear winner was Fisherman's Cove. It may be the most expensive, but the food was superb! The food at the Feast village was OK, no better. The most disappointing meal was at Uncle Lim's restaurant where the staff were extremely slow. Our starter eventually arrived before our first drink which should never happen, then they forgot one of our main courses. We never went back, though the manager was very apologetic.
The private beach at Emerald Bay is gorgeous and the staff there are always on hand with a cold bottle of water. On the last day we treated ourselves to a day at the Spa and the massage there is the best I have had. You simply must have a treatment or two there!
Last drinks on the Island are served at midnight which seems a little early and there's not much going on once dinner is over. All in all we're glad we chose Pangkor Laut Resort for our
honeymoon, but there is room for improvement.

Room Tip: The spa villas are lovely, but quite a distance from breakfast/reception. There are shuttle buses every ten minutes or so.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FiveStarKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This is a first-class resort. The service is good, and the landscaping is phenomenal. There are nice touches, like flower petals arranged daily in pools of water. The staff is uniformly bright, cheerful and welcoming -- lots of smiles. Many remembered my name, even though I was there for only a short time. Tame peacocks roam the grounds. Beaches are clean. Our stay there was too short.
However, a couple of quibbles. Garden rooms are a bit tired. Jacuzzi is nice, but is so big that the hot water runs out before it's 1/3 filled. Faucet handles are in an odd and inconvenient place. The main quibble is the food pricing. A domestic beer costs $9 (typical hotel price is $6), and basic meals cost $70 plus. I talked to a manager about it, and he said that prices were benchmarked against other high-end hotels, so.... Fortunately, we were there on an all-inclusive package, so the meal prices didn't matter to us. Room rates are reasonable, but the food....! However, portions were generous and generally quite good.

Room Tip: You can get a room over the water, but there is no dropdown swimming like in some other places.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aspennow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

You are made to feel special as soon as you arrive in Lumut, the staff are waiting with a cold drink and towel, then personally escort you to the boat, after 1/2 hr ride you see the island come into view and just know it's going to be good. We chose a hill villa as I like to look out across the sea. As soon as you step off the boat the staff are waiting with a warm friendly smile and it just gets better and better, the villas are lovely, the surroundings spectacular.
We went on the Jungle walk and Mr Yip pointed out bats, monitor lizards, birds, we got some great pictures of Hornbills. Then you're in Emerald bay with it's superb beach, and lunch at Chapman's . The package deal makes this affordable luxury. The staff are warm friendly and genuine, the resort is special and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: What ever room you choose will be lovely, it's that sort of place.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews