We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
24
47
57
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
47
57
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews berjaya megamall spacious room shopping complex mins walk away teh tarik breakfast menu friendly hotel smoking room big family east coast mall parking area one night stay family suite comfortable stay spacy muslim mattress
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Just check-out today. The room rates are very affordable, big room sand toilet size. Connected to Berjaya Mall through a back gate which opened till 12 midnight. The mall have many eateries and shopping but there is a bigger and more modern mall 10 mins walk away - East Coast Mall.

The corridor to the rooms are quite dark with a mouldy smell. This smell is also prevalent throughout the entire room. Agree with other reviewers the rooms need an upgrade. Carpets were tidy with slightly brown towels.

Nonethless, a good base to travel out if you don't spend too much time in the hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank linggeeerococo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdmhotel, Manager at Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Mr / Ms,

Warmest Greeting from Grand DarulMakmur Hotel, Kuantan!!

We are delighted to know that you had an pleasant stay with us here at our hotel and certainly look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

On the matter of your concern, immediate steps have been taken to rectify the shortfall by the department concern urgently. We are aware that this will be a continuous process but we are surely getting there.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Not much comment about the place, it is not bad, yet not good, an average hotel, with all the basic needs. Only thing i love is the bathtub. Food wise, it was ok. And i like that there is a shopping mall beside it, you can have a little shopping there.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orange_le_Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdmhotel, Manager at Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Mr / Ms,

Warmest greetings from Grand DarulMakmur Hotel, Kuantan!!!

Thank you for the kind review on TripAdvisor! It's so nice to read about your experience and hope we have the chance to welcome you back again the next time you find yourself in the Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan!

Sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

I stayed at this hotel as part of my Far East Travels and had to visit Kemaman Supply Base.

Previously knows as MS Garden Hotel, name has been changed after bought over by a new owner.

The Front office staff was warm and courteous but the rooms look tired and badly in need of a face lift, in fact the entire hotel is in need of a renovation. I was given a room on a high floor but as i walked towards my room i noticed a puddle of water outside my room. As i entered the room and went to use the toilet to my horror the toilet was filthy. There was water leaking everywhere. The previous guest had used the toilet and left it un flushed and his business floating in the toilet bowl. I wonder if the housekeeping even cleaned the room before it was handed over to me. I called the front desk and after inspecting my room they gave me a new room. But the impression was already set in my mind (first impression is the lasting impression).Since it was only for night i decided to move into the new room which was livable.

Hotel has a restaurant that serves breakfast and meals but choices are limited and i only used the restaurant for breakfast which was limited and of poor quality.

Hotel is close to Berjaya Mall and Kuantan City Mall, so if you stay at this hotel suggest you eat at the restaurants at one of these malls unless you have no choice but to eat at the hotel.

Will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: No Recommendations
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebra X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdmhotel, Manager at Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Mr / Ms,

Warmest Greeting from Grand DarulMakmur Hotel, Kuantan!!

Thank you for taking time to share with us your experience while you were here at the hotel. Please know that the Management views your concerns with utmost importance and respective departments have been alerted to look into each and every matter urgently.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and hope you will have even more pleasant surprises while enjoying your next stay with us.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Having arrived by bus after dark enough tired, we headed to this Hotel Makmur in Kuatan Malaysia, the first image was a relatively dirty stairs going up to the reception. We asked if there was a room available for a couple, the receptionist a young Indian with an unwelcoming face told us yes, so we asked to see the room and a little too quickly probably because of our tiredness we took the room. We had to eat again before resting and sleeping so we went out looking for a restaurant not far from there in the neighborhood, then another hotel was nearby we took the opportunity to visit it at first sight it turned out a lot cleaner than the previous one.
After eating we went back to our hotel room, on closer inspection we discover that the pillows are dirty and the pillowcases and on a table swarmed small ants red in shambles for fear of being bothered by these bugs we have freaks. So we asked to change rooms, the receptionist seemed to care completely he argued that we were not in a 5 star, after long insisted he finally accept and we change rooms, but there the problem Was exactly the same worse the carpet was very disgusting. We then asked him to give us back our money and he told us that he was going to give us only 5 Ringits out of the 70 Ringits we gave him. it was impossible to obtain any advantage in the face of his evident bad faith. We decide to leave, especially since he threatens us to call the police. He tells us to call the manager telling us that from his mobile he can not do it for lack of unity, then he changes his mind and calls his boss
Then he also tells me that he will not return the money for arguments that I offer you another room and you did not want (same cause even effect!) J obtained an end of refusal.
1 hour later I come back to the charge and argues once again and by dint of tenacity putting him shame on how to proceed with regard to the customer and the deplorable state of the rooms he decides to give me a ticket of 20 Ringits.
An address to flee on any leg some smoke in the rooms noisy no respect for the neighborhood .

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emile L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdmhotel, Manager at Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Mr / Ms, Warmest greetings from Grand DarulMakmur Hotel, Kuantan!!!

Thank you for the kind review on TripAdvisor! Based from your review we want to highlight our Property Name is Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan located next to Berjaya Megamall Kuantan and we don't have Indian Staff at Front Office Counter.

Property is classified as 4 Star Hotel and our Room Rate is above RM200.00 nett per night.

Sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Compliments to the friendly and attentive staff that spoke good English. I was pleased with a very large room on the highest floor. The room itself was very musty, lacked effective air conditioning and the bathroom had seen better days.

Grand in its day, the hotel would benefit from a facelift and refresh, including cleaning the exterior windows.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank christopherhQ5884JE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdmhotel, Manager at Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Mr / Ms,

Warmest Greeting from Grand DarulMakmur Hotel, Kuantan!!

Thank you for taking time to share with us your experience while you were here at the hotel. Please know that the Management views your concerns with utmost importance and respective departments have been alerted to look into each and every matter urgently.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and hope you will have even more pleasant surprises while enjoying your next stay with us.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews