We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
78
72
31
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
72
31
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taman negara chinese food no window booked this hotel bus mr germany
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Wau hotel, Jerantut
This small hotel can be used as an economical base for a day trip to the Taman Negara national park, or we used it as a convenient stopping place so as to save one night at the very expensive Mutiara Resort and to be able to go to the resort early the next morning, rather than arriving late in the day.
The staff are friendly and helpful and explain where restaurants are in town, the options to get to the Park if you do not have a car and the working of the rather strange one-way system if you are driving.
Unless you are fit specify a room on the ground floor. On the first floor be prepared to lug your bags up a steep flight of stairs. Rooms have comfortable beds, decent aircon, TV and a wet room toilet / shower. Most rooms do not have windows, which is strange for Westerners, but common on many small hotels in Malaysia.
There is no room safe or fridge.
BREAKFAST
While not luxurious, this is a sensible, economical base to stay in Jerantut.
N.B. There is nothing to do in Jerantut except wander around the local shops and houses and visit the small market.
Taman Negara is 1½ hours away by car / taxi; longer by bus and around 3 hours if you go by boat.

Room Tip: first floor is up a steep flight of stairs - so feel strong!
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

fairly basic rooms but with everything you need, comfy beds and the hotel itself is spotless. Mr Amian is a very friendly host and even gave us some of his wife's cooking, the hotel is helpful with arranging transportation to Taman Negara but just be careful with 'Danz travel' as we were told a bus would take us back to the hotel at 5.30pm from the national park, but at 5.30 pm they told us there was no bus available and we ended up getting a taxi back late for the 1hr 20 drive.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 94KateM2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

The Wau is a fairly basic hotel, I'd say 2-star, but modern, with everything you need and spotlessly clean. The real highlight is the manager, Manian, who will treat you like one of his own children! He told us everything we needed to know before our visit to Taman Negara and even took us to the boat jetty for a very cheap price. He is a star, giving such brilliant customer service.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Girlfriend and I stayed for two nights because of the close proximity to the national park. After check-in we went in the city of Jerantut but i wouldn't recommend that. It isn't a touristy place, and english isn't really spoken.
For food there is a Indian place right by the hotel in a tent, and the food is veryyy delicious. The best indian food we had in Malaysia :)
The hotel manager organized the trip to the national park for us, we got picked up in the morning and had i ride back, no worries.
The staff was also very friendly and always tried to help us.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny_Piranha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

We had a nice stay at Wau hotel. Very friendly mr Amian. Everything we read before on Tripadvisor was true. He helped us with planning our trip to Taman Negara and arranged a busticket for our next day travel while we were at the park. Also a free drop off from the owner in the morning. Very good stay. Good wifi. Jerantut was very empty and not much to do so only stop here for the Taman Negara. But stay at Wau hotel when youre there!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank MaaikeB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews