We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't go back even if I'm paid.”
Review of Alang's Rawa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mersing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alang's Rawa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Mersing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Everything is wrong and troublesome with this resort.

First off it's not a resort, think back packers with several wooden buildings priced based on their proximity to the beach. There is no air-con, no amenities such as your usual toiletries, no one changes your bed-sheets and no reception/concierge.

Booking can only be done through the internet, their website do provide an email for you to contact them or a system for you to key in your bookings but NONE of them work!! You're best bet is call them on the numbers they provided and ask for a valid email. They are pretty accommodating with your requests but be prepared to be charged with outrageous prices. I've requested for a birthday cake to be prepared since it's impossible to bring a birthday cake to the island when you're going to be traveling on a speedboat. At the end of the trip I was billed for RM200 for a lousy butter cake with lots of cream and coloring.

We're a group of 9 adults going into the resort for the weekend(friday to sunday) so we were given one of the biggest room on the site. It's the upper tier of a large A-frame building with a mezzanine floor which host a double bed but only accessible by a ladder. The door has no lock whatsoever, its just 2 bamboo made panel conveniently called a door. Our bathroom is on the ground floor where we have to climb stairs whenever we have to go to the toilet even if its in the dead of the night.

The roof of the A-frame is made of weaved leaves or "atap" and it rained when we were there so the whole room was leaking!! Especially the bed on the Mezzanine floor!! When we inform the staff and request for a room change or at least a bed change.. They ask us why we didn't move the beds ourself when it was leaking? How do they except us to move the bed on the Mezzanine floor to anywhere when there's only space for the bed and a lil walking space up there?

Apart from our room's issue, We noticed that We can directly look into the bathroom of the unit below us and see everything of their shower area!! So whenever we walk down or up the stairs we kept our eyes averted elsewhere.

When we walked around the site we noticed that almost all the buildings roof have been covered with a plastic sheet telling us they know about their leaking problems but our A-frame just didn't get covered with one so we got to bear with the leaking, wet beds and rain just because of our luck?

Loud music should be expected as soon as the dinner is served. and I do mean loud! Our A-frame is the furthest away from the Bar/Restaurant/Reception and yet the music can be heard inside our room as if it's being played right there in our room!! If you're a light sleeper, expect no sleep until it's 4am... If you're a party animal... rock on?

Food is... looped... it's the same menu over and over again.... Breakfast is a choice between scrambled eggs or paper thin pancakes.... toast, coffee or tea is served along with breakfast... Lunch and DInner is pretty much the same except when they are doing BBQ for dinner. You get a choice of seafood as mains or chicken. Their sides are pretty good if you're okay with a more western palette.

There is absolutely no water sports to speak of... The resort seem to adopt for the concept of " The sea is there embrace it creatively "... The staff of course would tell you, you can use the water sports utilities at the resort next door which is Rawa Safari Resort; Don't get your hopes up. We went to the resort and the staff promptly told us they don't rent out or let guest from other resorts to use their facilities.

Bills are to be settled by cash before you depart the island on their speedboat. Do be prepared to be completely soaked after the boat transfer back to Mersing jetty because it's a speedboat with too much passenger on board. They will tend to overload the boats with passengers because of their very inconsistent availabilities of boats and everyone wanting to leave the island at the same time-frame. So DO NOT hesitate to accept garbage bags from the boatman to wrap up your belongings because you will be thankful when you are completely soaked and your phones/wallets/ ipads/ cameras are safe.

The island itself is pretty amazing. It's what you'd imagine a paradise on a tiny island will be like. But sadly in this case, you have to choose the right place to stay. Alang's rawa is definitely not the place if you're expecting a less stressful get-away. With their prices, you could have a more idyllic weekend elsewhere. I would have gladly paid more to stay next door if I ever return to the breath-taking island. At least I'd be not stressing bout rain/leaking/no door lock/loud music/ wet and dangerous boat transfer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank SilenceInt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 144 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

Don't expect 5* resort luxury.
But real white sand breath taking splendid beauty.
we spend their 3 midweek days that will be remembered for a long time.
Nice food and friendly relaxed people.
I agree with ther commetns about the time the boatsman needs to get at the appointment.
He didn't answer my phonecalls but after 6 calls within 2 minutes he suddenly appeared.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malle-Johan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My wife and I have just got back from our honey moon on Rawa island- staying at Alangs Rawa.

For those people with little time to read this- all you need to know is that it will NOT disappoint.

For those that have more time... Read on..........

Beach

Perfect white sand and blue water- what more can you ask for?

Snorkelling

We had our own kit but free equipment is provided.

Lots to see off the main beach and more to see if you take a canoe and paddle around the island.....

I’m no expert but there were lots of colourful fish and the odd baby shark if you were lucky...

Rooms

The only time we were in our room, was when we were asleep. Every waking moment we were outside...

The room offered a comfortable bed, a wall mounted fan, running water, electricity wall points- ie all that was needed.

It was cleaned of every spec of sand, issued new sheets, towels renewed and clothes folded every 2 days.

The balcony had an amazing view of the beach.

Food

We were there for 9 nights which we were told was a 'record' for the last 2 years.

The outgoing bar man warned us that menu might get repetitive.... he was wrong! The chef and his team raised their game and produced a gastronomic delight through out our stay.

There were never ending variants on a common theme of chicken, fish, vegetables, salads and rice. Never once did we get bored and not look forward to the next meal, which greedily was never long away!

On our last night which was my wife’s birthday and it was just us and 1 other couple in the whole resort. Unannounced they set up 2 candle lit tables out on the beach, near the waters edge which made the final night of a special stay even more memorable.

They also honoured her with a birthday cake and sing song sung by all the staff in perfect tune and English.... ;-0

Service

10/10

Always attentive
Always happy
Always full of fun
Always delivered interesting cocktails....

+ i'm told the guys were good looking....

If you are after waiter service from your beach lounger, this isn’t for you. Drinks are got from the bar.

Partying

Everyone who has read ½ a review on the internet knows that coming to Alangs Rawa at the weekend you will encounter loud music late into the night.

Despite being the only couple there we got involved and the party was excellent.

If you are after silent nights from 10pm - 10am on Friday and Saturday nights, then think again about coming.... Come back in the week where you will be alone, as we were for most of the time.

Summary

Amazing!

Thank you everyone at Alangs Rawa for making our honeymoon stay so memorable!

We’ll be back…

Room Tip: Book early and email alangsrawa@gmail.com and speak to Lorraine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tobesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We visited Rawa for a weekend [Friday to Sunday] due to few recommendations of fellow expats here in Singapore. The island is about 3 hour drive away from Singapore [taxi $120 one way Singapore - Mersing] and you then need to take the resort's boat for another 30 minutes.

By arrival to the island we were truly stunned - the small resort is located smack on the beach of possibly one of the finest beaches I've encountered in ages [and believe me, we do encounter beaches on regular basis]. The sand is white and extremely fine. Once in sea you have few meters before the coral reef start [which gives you excellent possibilities to snorkle - loads of clown fishes, even small reef sharks]. There were small jellyfishes [seafleas?] around so you could feel the small tingling from them.

The accommodation we booked was really pretty, the most expensive they had [$240 for a night, including breakfast, lunch and dinner for 2, no drinks] and right next to the shore. The fact that the little chalet was painted white just made it feel much cleaner than your average cottage, although still I have to say that it is very basic. No AC, just a fan which is more than enough, especially considering the lovely sea breeze. You do get mosquitoes and the little electric mosquito repellent certainly does not suffice, we were eaten alive the first night.

The staff at the resort is extremely friendly, they couldn't have been any nicer. Food is served at fixed times [lunch at 1PM, dinner at 8PM] which can be a bit of a drag but the quality is good. Drinks are reasonably priced from Singapore perspective.

The only thing wrong in this place is the ridiculous noise they produce at nights ... on both of the evenings starting from 9PM on to at least 2:30AM the restaurant/bar is playing [bad] music extremely loud and there's no hope of avoiding that unless you are unconscious. It seemed like some teenage party paradise.

We loved the island but I would not recommend it for anybody who's looking to relax in a calm surrounding. If you want to drink and party then this is the place for you.

Note: No WIFI available and they don't accept credit cards.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MizzMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I spent three days here during the week, just to get away from Singapore. The sand is white powder, the water clear. And our end of the island was quiet, quiet, quiet. I was looking forward to meeting Lorraine, who was wonderful in our email exchanges, but she wasn't there. However, I was in good hands with the guys, who quickly learned my name and what I liked.

The restaurant food was basic, but good. They made a special breakfast for me one morning. The fresh lime freeze was as good as they get. The room was also basic. No reading light, meager water pressure. The porch on the beach was perfect.

I did have to wait a while at the Port Cafe in Mersing for the boat to be ready to go. But, hey, I was there to relax. The staff at the cafe is also wonderful, so have a couple beers, make some jokes and watch the passing scene.

I hear on the weekend it's a constant party of young professionals from Singapore. If that's your idea of hell (it's mine), go during the week.

Oh, and I saw the most spectacular sunset of my life here. In the west was a symphony of reds undulating like psychedelic northern lights. And in the east a double rainbow which was almost a complete circle.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NancyLee_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersing
30.1 km away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
532 reviews
18.3 km away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 11 in Mersing
55 reviews
18.4 km away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 11 in Mersing
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.2 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
39.4 km away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#9 of 11 in Mersing
130 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alang's Rawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alang's Rawa

Address: Rawa Island | c/o Pure Value Sdn Bhd, Jalan Abu Bakar, Mersing, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Mersing
Price Range: €34 - €41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Alang`s Rawa Hotel Mersing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing