We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ashnil Samburu Camp(Samburu National Reserve)
US$457
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Samburu Riverside Camp(Samburu National Reserve)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Sabache Camp(Samburu National Reserve)
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Elephant Bedroom Camp(Samburu National Reserve)
US$750
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge(Shaba National Reserve)
US$434
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grande Hotel(Isiolo)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Alba Hotel Meru(Meru Town)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
430
83
18
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
83
18
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour waitertented campgame drivesthe riverwake up callbefore dinnerevening talksfantastic guidethe reserveeach morninggame driverspecial thanksmosquito nettingnature walkhis knowledgedriver guidelocal village
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Got to spend Easter weekend in Samburu Intreprids. Had very high expectations but they kind of fell short.
Seemed as if they were having a water problem cause taking a shower in the evening was nearly impossible cause there would be no water in the showers. On the first night spent around 45 mins trying to get the shower started only to discover that it had airlocked and had to be fixed.
The bathrooms need an upgrade, the taps are all outdated and rusty.
The beddings and tent were all good and very clean, the fans were a much needed feature in the heat. But the tents arent spaced out very well and you can hear your neighbours conversations, which can be very annoying when you're trying to get some sleep.
The food was very good, the chefs were very accomodating, we asked for a meal to be made for us at lunch and it was excellent. They had a good variety of different foods. The waiters seemed to a bit stretched cause at dinner we would have to wait ages between different courses but overall they were very polite and attentive.
The park was beautiful, the rains had made all the surroundings lush green. But also made game viewing very difficult, managed to get a glimpse of a leopard and view 4 out of 5 of the Samburu Special five but missed the other big cats.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anumc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricenjeruh, General Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sparing some time to review us on TripAdvisor. Thank you also for giving as a chance to host you. We do take every guest feed back with seriousness as it helps us improve our services.
It is evidence that we did not meet your expectation. We had water issue in the evening which inconvenienced you and a few other guests. We have since rectified it and the few other issue that came out over the Easter. We have noted that despite disappointing you with water issues, kitchen and service team did do their best to put a smile on your face. Trust you we do offer excellent service though the water issue got us off-guard.
I on behalf of Samburu Intrepids do apologize and we do look forward to host you on your return trip to Samburu so that we redeem our trust.
Regards,
Samburu Intrepids team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

What a nice place, and such helpful, catering staff! Everyone tried exceptionally hard as hosts to make our visit very special. Joshua our waiter was very friendly and handled all of our special requests, esp those of our 3 picky kids. Chris did a great job in the adventurers club and during the nightly talks, which were educational and fun for old and young alike. He accompanied us on our game drive and showed us some nice game drive paths. I'm only sorry that we didn't see any big cats---seems like no one has recently. The family tents were very comfortable and atmospheric in front of the river. The food was all to order, and presentation was excellent. There was enough choice, even for a 4 night stay. This was excellent value, particularly because we visited during low season. It may be different at high season and when there's more guests. We were very lucky to be here with only a couple of others, so it felt very intimate. Samburu was very green, although this made it harder to spot some animals. Even so, we saw plenty of Samburu wildlife and enjoyed wonderful scenery.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank familyof4traveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricenjeruh, General Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to review us on TA. We do value all the guest feed backs as they help us measure our hospitality. We have also noted that Joshua & Chris was very special to you and so is to us. He will definitely be recognized by the management. Once again thank you and we look forward to hosting you and your guest next time you plan your trip to Samburu.
Regards,
Samburu Intrepids Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

enjoyed scenery of green forest,good tents very comfortable. The meals was wonderful and good service from waiters.Being Driven in the park was awesome. General working environment was good and the hotel seemed to comply with Kenya National environment management authority regulations.Congratulations.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank damiano990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricenjeruh, General Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your stay at the Samburu Intrepids Camp. So glad you took quality time to post your experiences. This is appreciated. Samburu Intrepids Camp is special. Even for us employees we find it to be a place that is truly a jewel of the Samburu. The Team here remains committed to be of service to you and all that you will send our way. We all look forward to your next visit in the near future.
With Kind Regards,
Samburu Intrepids Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

This is one of those reviews that one loves to write. I am only sorry I am having to write this after having left as I wished we could spend even more time there. The Samburu Intrepids is located inside the Samburu National Park along the riverfront. From the greeting with a hot towel and a delicious glass of cold fresh squeezed juice everything was great. Kudos to Duncan at the front desk who will do anything to facilitate a great stay for his guests. We arrived on the first day of the rainy season but it did not in any way detract from the visit. The food was expertly prepared by the chef Josepk and was stunning and delicious. The tented rooms have beautiful hardwood floors and lovely furniture with spacious showers and ceiling fans. Truly the definition of a luxury tented safari camp. The game in Samburu National Park is abundant and we saw a Leopard and Cheetah in addition to the usual Gazelles,Impalas, Wart Hogs etc. If you are considering a Safari you would be well advised to look at at least a few days in Samburu at this camp.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the main building have better river views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank worldwandererAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricenjeruh, General Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Guest,
I am honored to have an opportunity to read all Guest Comments posted by Guests both on the Questionnaires and the TripAdvisor. It is always a privilege to read such a wonderful accounts of a Guests experience as the one you have written. As a standard I do share these comments with the Associates and it is always awesome for them to know how appreciated they are. Duncan & Chef Joseck have done an impeccable Job and just your mentioning them, they now qualifies for a special incentive for being mentioned favorably. We all look forward to Host you and those that you will send to us soon.
Regards,
Samburu Intrepids Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Samburu is a nice place to be. Very luxurious rooms I enjoyed my stay. A view of the natural river Uwaso Nyiro. I received a warm welcome from Duncan, Samuel, Alex and Mohammed. Chef, I enjoyed all the meals. I was luck to see some animals on the way to the camp. I had plans to go for game driver but postponed due to the rains. I will surely come back. Cudos to the Team and may God bless you.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Louis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricenjeruh, General Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you taking time to review beautifully on TA. This is a way of getting to know how we are performing. We have noticed that you loved every aspect of our hospitality. We have also taken note of Mohamed, Duncan, Alex, chef and more so Samuel the manager in charge who have really gone out of his way to make your stay even more memorable. We will encourage them and many others to continue doing this especially on your next visit. We look forward to hosting you and many other friends that you will recommend this place to. Kind regards, Samburu Intrepids Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews