We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
15
28
25
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
28
25
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance star hotel summertime renovation ac city internet
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2018

An older, Soviet-style hotel, probably quite trendy in its heyday, when opera stars and other performers stayed there (the Stalin-esque Opera House is right across the street).

While minimally prepared for tourists (there were no city maps or tourist brochures available), the staff accommodated our needs quite well. Arranging private car transportation to and from the airport (about a 1/2 hour away) was particularly helpful. The temperatures were blistering during our stay and we needed to change rooms to get working A/C. We ended up with an odd, outdated room, but the bed was very comfortable and the A/C worked so we slept well.

The included breakfast buffet was good and abundant, with lots of both sweet and savory options and many regional dishes. There's a grill for customized omelets and other fresh egg dishes.

The location is terrific--in the heart of the Golden Quarter and its soviet-era architecture. The extensive (and popular!) walking mall starts at the end of the driveway, there are numerous good and inexpensive restaurants nearby, and the large grocery store about a block away was easy to access.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing south, toward the mountains. If the weather is hot, verify the effectiveness of the A/C
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

Lovely hotel right in the middle of downtown in easy walking distance to all the parks and museums and with stunningly beautiful views of the mountains & opera house. Very reasonable rates, and a good, hearty breakfast buffet.
Not many people from the U.S. seem to stay here--mostly Kazakhs and Russians--but the staff is very welcoming and helpful. Most speak some English. At the front desk, if you ask something more complicated in English, they will quickly find someone with excellent English to help you.
You could stay at one of the more expensive hotels full of expats and people from the U.S., but, really, why would you want to do that? Why are you traveling if not to really experience a new country? The area around the Almaty Hotel has a great vibe at night--street musicians, restaurants, and lots of people just strolling around.
I'd suggest the larger rooms & suites on the upper floors, which also have the best views (and are not expensive). All the rooms have private balconies. They'll also arrange to pick you up at the airport if you ask.
I'd also suggest checking out the operas, ballets, etc. across the street at the Opera House--tickets are extremely cheap & great performances.
I'll definitely stay at the Almaty Hotel again when I return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _penelopesthrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Дамир Б, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Almaty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear _penelopesthrill! Thank you for choosing "Almaty" hotel. Thank you for such detailed and pleasant review. We are very glad that you have such excellent impressions! We really hope that you will become our permanent guest! We will be sincerely glad to see you again! Best regards,
Marketing Communications Coordinator
Damir Bekmukhambetov.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

First time in Kazakhstan and Almaty, my stay at the Almaty Hotel was simply perfect.

The hotel is extremely well located and my room on the fifth floor had a stunning view on the surrounding mountains and Kok Tobe. For the price one can really not complain and the service was excellent.

Indeed, from the beginning the staff proved to be really involved, polite and very professional. Some speak English really well while others are currently improving it (I once caught some practicing their English during their break). But this is understandable as the lingua franca in Central Asia is Russian.

Moreover there are different ATMs in the lobby and some do not charge any additional fees which is very handy.

Nevertheless, one should be warned that in order to get hot water you should let the water run for 5 minutes (but in the summertime cold showers are more than welcome! ). Moreover the AC functioned perfectly and the bed was extremely comfortable. The internet worked perfectly in my room and I was able to stream movies, listen to music and book the rest of my trip. The internet in the lobby is sometimes slower but it all depends on how many guests are using it at the same time.

The breakfast is included in the price of the room and again, with the price paid for the stay, one should not complain as it encompasses all the basics. Moreover there are many cafes at a walking distance if you wish to brunch or get something slightly different. The minibar is well furnished and completely affordable and you can ring up the reception at any time if you wish something specific.

In conclusion I would stay at this hotel again in the future. It is budget friendly, extremely well located, safe (especially since I am a solo travelling young woman) and customer service is perfect.

Room Tip: great view, perfect customer service, budget friendly, safe, amazing location
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Дамир Б, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Almaty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Sarah, Thank you very much for taking time to write such a wonderful review about our Hotel! Thank you for noting the location, comfortable rooms and hotel staff. We will be sincerely glad to see you again!
Best Regards,
Marketing Communications Coordinator
Damir Bekmukhambetov.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Guest friendly hotel.. No charges for guests. Best location. Very Very poor breakfast. Not at all satisfactory breakfast. Rooms are average. Lift is very small. Location is good.
Service is friendly. They are able to follow English.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms are better
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank navrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Дамир Б, Marketing Communications Coordinator at Almaty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear navrosh,
Thank you for choosing "Almaty" hotel.Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate each opinion.
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. Your comments has been send to the relevant departments and the necessary measures have already been taken. Thank you for understanding.
Best Regards, Marketing Communications Coordinator Damir Bekmukhambetov.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

I must say that I really like this hotel. It is located in a quiet part of old Almaty. The buffet Kazah style breakfast is satisfying and tasty. The room was comfortable and had a lovely view of the mountains off in the distance. I am writing this review after it had snowed the better part of the day. morning and afternoon. They are presently remodeling the upper floors of this fine hotel (Floors 6, 7 and 8)
I spoke with the manager of the hotel each morning about his establishment. He told me what is presently happening with the current remodel and future remodel. The housekeeping staff are always making sure that hotel guests rooms are spotless and clean. I could not be happier. I have been retired from US Military and find this hotel an excellent value for anyone here by themselves or with a family. Great restaurants within easy walking distance. I am a walker so the Dostyk Mall some four miles away is a good workout going uphill all the way. Returning to the hotel is much easier as that walk is all downhill.

Room Tip: My room was facing the front of the hotel. Some street noise but nothing to disturb one's sleep.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pointbreakrider125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Дамир Б, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Almaty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Good afternoon, Dear Pointbreakrider125!Thank you for choosing "Almaty" hotel, during your stay in the southern capital (Almaty), as well as for your comments. We hope to see you again, and will try to make your next stay even more comfortable!Best Regards, Marketing Communications Coordinator, Damir Bekmukhambetov.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews