We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the ambiance of a police station”
Review of Iris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Iris
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Both I and my family travelling companion selected this hotel of a series provided by a local travel agencies that arranges visas by way of letter of invitation. We were left with very little choice here. The hotel has a few merit worthy points: it is central and within a few minutes walk to Abay Metro station bearing in mind the limited scope of the metro. The rooms are a decent size and the bathroom contains most of the amenities one would expect. The shower had a frequent tendency to leak from the head causing the floor to become inundated. The cleaner performed a perfunctory servicing of the room, not replenishing the toilet roll for many days.

When I checked in at 5am the receptionist was in a slumber and had to be awaken in order for me to check in.

The breakfast is one of the most miserly I'd experienced. When coming in the dining room to have breakfast the staff were distracted, texting away; upon seeing us they seemed displeased that they would have to do something. We bad to sign a docket to have breakfast which seemed like an oddly bureaucratic procedure. Breakfast consisted of some fried eggs, sliced omelette, anaemic sausage bathing in hot water, something in a deep metal container which looked like dried out mashed potato that turned out to be porridge, which when accompanied with the conserves to one side was actually the most appealing on offer. Breakfast was in short, very limited.

The staff at the hotel, particularly at the reception seemed very disinterested. When passing in or out of the hotel their interest seemed to be to take stock of who was coming or going rather than greeting is I'm any way of showing an effigy of a smile.

When asking if we could call Eco Taxis to prebook our taxi, the receptionist refused insisting we use their taxi company which is almost 50% higher in price.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank seasonedaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2016

Nice, clean, calm, has a very cozy restaurant "Balkon" on the first floor, where breakfast is nice ! It is not expensive ! Wifi works a bit slowly, but it does ;) pressure of the water in the shower could be higher... but is all good ;)

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monde G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

I went on business trip to Almaty and I paid less than 40 euros (17 000 KZT) for a single room in this good hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean with the flatscreen TV. The hotel is located conveniently close to major streets and entertainment places and different bars on Dostyk avenue. The breakfast was somewhat limited. It takes 30-40 minutes to get to the airport.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Bah881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We checked in to this hotel in the second week of february.Reservations was done through our favourite travel company Blissworld Kochi.
The hotel is in the down town of Almaty city close to independence square and the under ground metro.All the attractions and shopping area are near by.
The check in was smooth with english speaking FO staff.The rooms are spacious and cozy with good heating system in and speedy wifi.The elevator is really big and so also the corridors.The toilets too are neat with quality linen.The only concern was the break fast with the very same dishes for the entire five days of our stay and that too in very limited quantities by Indian standards.Also you have to climb some eight or nine steps to reach the cramped lobby.The first floor restaurant is pretty ordinary and the service of the restaurant staff is not up to the mark.Mean while the room service is very fast !!!The restaurant is over prices as well.
However considering the value for money aspect but for the restaurant, this three star property is a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krish_ekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

Check in was good, the front office staff are fluent in English and very responsive.
Quiet big and clean rooms. The restaurant downstairs is good and the hotel guests are entitled for a discount ( last time it was 20% off during dinner time).
There is no kettle in rooms, but it's available upon request.
The buffet breakfast is decent. The hotel location is good, there are some convenience stores, pharmacy and restaurants near by.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Kseniya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almaty hotels
0.8 km away
Kazakhstan
Kazakhstan
#22 of 75 in Almaty
286 reviews
3.5 km away
Almaty-Sapar
Almaty-Sapar
#34 of 75 in Almaty
32 reviews
1 km away
D'Rami
D'Rami
#7 of 75 in Almaty
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#6 of 75 in Almaty
343 reviews
9.4 km away
Saraichik
Saraichik
#13 of 75 in Almaty
43 reviews
1.4 km away
Ambassador
Ambassador
#20 of 75 in Almaty
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris

Address: Furmanova 176, Almaty 050010, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range: €45 - €54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As needed - to know that there is a place where you are always welcome!Know what your preferences are extremely important, your wishes will be carried out with flawless precision, and your comfort will be taken care of professionals.Know that the quality, convenience and efficiency at a reasonable price - it's not just words, but a harmonious working philosophy, designed to make your stay enjoya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing