We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
91
80
17
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
80
17
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Kyoseikan's number four rating in Kochi convinced me to splash out during our recent stay. Our standard Japanese room was spacious and well-appointed, and the staff were helpful (little English, but it didn't matter). But that's where it ended. The foyer was large but quite tacky, with beer exhibits among other things. Breakfast, which was included, was certainly not up to the standard we had come to expect in Japan. In fact, it was poor enough that we didn't bother eating it after the first day. The worst thing by far, however, was that we were on the hotel's non-smoking floor, but I spent the whole time consuming anti-histamines to counter the effect of the smoke. The bedding and flooring didn't smell of smoke, so I suspect it was coming through the air conditioning. This ruined what would have otherwise been an okay stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Global_academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jyoseikan, Customer satisfaction cection. at Jyoseikan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you very much for staying with us.

We're sorry we were unable to meet your expectations.

We apologize again for the smell of cigarettes.

To ensure your comfortable experience here next time, we will improve
smoke of sigarettes as soon as possible.

We are afraid we hope when you will come to Kochi again, we're waiting
for you to stay at our hotel.

We sincerely thank you for staying at Jyoseikan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

This hotel was good enough for the emperor of Japan when he visits town, so it was more than good enough for us. Jyoseikan is an elegant Japanese style hotel/ryokan in a large modern building. It has spacious tatami rooms with service fit for an emperor. The hot baths on the roof are excellent. Rates included an amazing dinner delivered to our room as well as breakfast.

Access is easy from the railroad station by the tram that departs in front of the station. Transfer at the Harimayabashi stop to the west line and get off at the Masugata stop in front of the hotel.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank fishnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews