We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$249
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/22
Booking.com
US$227
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Hotels.com
US$250
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/22
PricelineUS$226
TravelocityUS$250
Orbitz.comUS$250
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,112)
Filter reviews
1,112 results
Traveller rating
428
485
135
35
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
428
485
135
35
29
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,112 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2019

At least 5 minutes walk from the main building to the stepped hot spring bath and other entertainments, of which capacity is hundreds people. Shuttles are running frequently between parking building and among other buildings. I felt like going to a crowded town rather than enjoying hot spring In Beppu. One thing bothers me a lot is their massive consumption of plastic bags handed to the guests at the hot spring bathI handed out to the guests to carry slippers in the bathroom. The hotel is not environment conscious at all.

Date of stay: November 2019
2  Thank KimiTomo840
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Suginoihotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Suginoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2019

Thank you for taking the time to give usyour feedback.
We are sorry that your impression  was not exceeding the expectations.
We had shared this information with our management meeting and will strive to improveour service and facility and hoping to make your next visit happier. We arelooking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2019

I contemplated an average rating but then decided against it. We paid over £500 a night for a double "Japanese style" room during the RWC quarter finals. In the absence of the rugby I probably wouldn't pay £50. The beds were dire and the bathroom cramped and awful. Overall the decor was so dated that I watched Chernobyl on the flight home and the accommodations shown there seemed positively futuristic. Breakfast was a grim, school dinners-type affair that I would ideally soon forget. The positives? The staff were friendly albeit a bit unprepared for such a busy event and the thermal baths were an experience (once we found them in this monstrous place and if you don't mind getting your kit off with many strangers). Go only if you must.

Room tip: Don't stay in the Japanese-style rooms unless you're Japanese
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Suginoihotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Suginoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2019

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We are sorry that your impression of us was not exceeding the expectations.
We will try to improve our service and facility and hoping to make your next visit happier.
However, we are happy to hear that you satisfied with our staffs are friendly.
Based on the opinions received from customers, we will make further efforts to improve the service, aiming to be a hotel that satisfies every customer.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again near the future.
Kind Regards

Suginoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2019

The Suginoi Hotel is a very unique place. The hotel reminded me of a Las Vegas hotel without the casino. There are water and laser light shows, an arcade full of games, a bowling alley and tons of people, especially children. If you are looking for an intimate getaway, this is not your hotel. The room was very old and outdated but had a huge window with a great city and ocean view. The dinner buffet was disappointing for the food choices but the breakfast buffet was better. Both buffets were packed like a Las Vegas buffet. One night, we upgraded to the Japanese restaurant for only about $5 per person which was worth the price. Good food and very quiet and peaceful. The shining star on the hill was the onsens (hot springs) especially at night. Imagine yourself naked, in warm hot springs water with a slight ocean breeze overlooking the ocean and city lights. This experience felt like a dream. You could stay elsewhere and just pay to use the onsens but make sure you come at night.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Suginoihotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Suginoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2019

Thank you very much for your kind review and choosing the Suginoi Hotel in Beppu!
It is nice to receive such a good feedback. We are sorry that your impression of our buffet was not exceeding the expectations. However, it is nice to know you enjoyed our Japanese Kaiseki restaurant as well as our signature ONSEN at night!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again near the future.

Sincerely yours
Suginoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2019

Didn't stay in the hotel. Just visited to use the Onsen. Great experience. The lady selling the tickets was very friendly and helpful. We found if you speak just the smallest amount of Japanese you got a really friendly response even if people did laugh at what you said!! The rooftop aspect is good if you choose your spot in the outdoor bit and it is still very private. Lovely and clean too.

Room tip: Sorry my review is just for the Onsen as we didn't stay in the hotel.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
Thank Silverlady2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Suginoihotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Suginoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2019

Thank you very much for your kind review and choosing the Suginoi Hotel in Beppu! It is nice to receive such a good feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facility of the Onsen. Our staffs’ motto is “smile and friendly”, so we are glad to hear that you satisfied with our staff’s service.
If you have an opportunity to stay, please use our hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2019

This is one of the worst hotels I’ve ever stayed in.
The staff have no idea how to help you, the rooms are like walking into the 1950s and the promises they make you about inclusive meals are generally lies. Don’t stay here if you can avoid it (you can’t during a Rugby World Cup...).

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Suginoihotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Suginoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We are sorry that your impression of us was not exceeding the expectations.
We apologise that our staff had not explained about meals well, so that it made you confused.
Our buffet restaurant close at 21:30 latest and in case of if you are late, there is no refund if you booked with a half board package.
On the other hand, we have a café and bar PRONTO open until midnight which is with an additional price. We hope we can see you again in the future.

Sincerely yours
Suginoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews