We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
8
73
54
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
73
54
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water one person bus station great location closet amenities shower dryer bed tv wifi
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The Sasebo Washington Hotel is very centrally located in the heart of Sasebo. It's just across the street van the JR-railway station and more or less beside the local and the long-distance bus stations. Quite close, too, to good restaurants, and a short walk will take you to a km-long shopping arcade. In about 15 minutes you can walk to several fine parks.
I stayed at this hotel for seven nights and basically used it as a point for traveling this area.
The reception area is spacious; reception his very efficient, quick and friendly. Lifts are fast. The rooms are Japanese standad (relatively small) but sound-proof and they have everything yu might need including TV and radio. Very good writing desk with lots of light; good drapes for keeping out light at night (and even during the day). The WiFi is all right but rather spotty at night and not very 'strong'.
Bathroom, too, is Japanese standard with good, deep bath and shower; everything you might need incl. hair-dryer and daily refreshment of toothbrushes, combs etc. Good hot, strong water!
The two restaurants are both up-scale. One is a fine dining place with excellent menus; the other is the breakfast restaurant: breakfasts are full Japanese en Very Good!
This is indeed a fine place to stay!

Room Tip: It seems to me all rooms are good.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Sweated a lot about finding a hotel my Wife and I could stay in while in the city. The significantly lower cost over others (such as the Chisun Grand) made me very nervous. This hotel is a GREAT value.

-It's location is only about 5 more minutes away from base. For what you save, cabs are an easy alternative.
-The double rooms, though small, are entirely adequate (you're only going to shower and sleep there anyway).
-The staff is extremely competent, friendly, professional, and helpful
-The hotel is in fine shape with basic, but very helpful amenities.
-Proximity to both main bus stations, and the train station, make it an excellent choice for wandering outside Sasebo

Room Tip: They are going to be small no matter what - be ready.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete2599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2007

I arrived in Sasabo late in the evening without reservations. My taxi driver took me around but all hotels were found to be booked because of student exams and an aircraft carrier in port. My driver took me to a motel. Motel also means "Love Hotel", what an experience and perhaps a review later.

Following moring I went over to the Washington Hotel and booked a room. They were very helpful and held my bag till the afternoon check in time.

Room was a typical Japanese size, small but clean and well appointed. I could sit on the bed and type on my laptop on desk, chair was not needed.

Free wireless internet.

Toilet was great, seat had water jet built in for cleaning your bottom.

Tub / shower small but deep.

Nicest thing I found was a heated section of mirror that was fog free after my shower.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sailorboy4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews