We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
2
17
28
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
17
28
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2016

In this hotel we spent our first two nights from our 2 weeks long trip over Japan, which was carefully planned by me. We had ordered also breakfast here, and I can say - it was one of the best breakfasts from all our stays in Japan! Definitely I would order again my stay in Kumamoto here, and with breakfast too! A rooms was a quite small, but beds was really big and this is essential. So, if you are foreigner, remember that a big and comfortable bed in twin room in Japan is almost standard. Space in room is then rather small, but please do not complaint to space in room - you sleep in bed, not on floor, right? A little problem was in controlling of air condition, labeled only in Japan. But Google helped me, anyway, here is space for improving - in another hotels later on our trip we got extra pamphlet with explanation (resp. translation) of controller buttons in English. And you really need to manage it, because windows cannot be opened.. View from window to river was quite good. For me was all stay unforgettable. Another space for improving is a label on hotel - it is not written in latin characters, therefore is for foreigners "invisible"!!! Bathroom is small but modern - equipped is with bathtub, which is above standard in Japan imho, and a intelligent toilette. Anyway, thanks everybody in hotel for their service. I like Kumamoto so much!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pavel_from_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

GR Hotel Ginza Dori is located a short 10 minute walk to the main shopping and food area where one can try the local specialties like horse sashimi. Kumamoto castle is another 10~15 minute walk from there. The room, especially the bathroom is small and parking is limited and chargeable. But that is alright given the location and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sohdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

This hotel is great value for money, but is a bit old, not especially clean, and the rooms are quite small. But you get what you pay for right!
It was a nice surprise that breakfast was included in our room rate, and just made this place even better value for us.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

The GR Hotel Ginza Dori is a small efficient business hotel with everything you would expect from same, ie an air conditioned box.

One thing that does set it apart from other cookie cutter Japanese business hotels was the good selection available at breakfast. Curiously breakfast is not included in the room rate, but only costs 590 yen which represents quite good value.

Location is good, albeit near the more 'sleazy' streets of the gentleman's clubs, however there is nothing overt about this 'red light district' just suited men standing outside establishments who will not bother you if you are a couple or family.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cbead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

A short taxi ride from the station, 10 minutes into the main shopping area, and about 25 mins to Kumamoto Castle. with other interesting landmarks within brisk walking distance. The double room and bathroom were fairly small, but comfy and with all amenities. Very friendly and helpful staff who spoke some English, and getting there just after 2pm, they allowed us to check in. Certainly good value for those on a budget, and in all places we visited in Japan, don't forget to ask for a map of the area on arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pete J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews