We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho(Kagoshima)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$78
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Remm Kagoshima(Kagoshima)
US$70
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$73
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$59/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Gasthof(Kagoshima)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$75
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$95
US$68
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,120)
Filter reviews
1,120 results
Traveller rating
592
444
57
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
592
444
57
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busgreat viewsakurajima volcanooutdoor onsenhill overlooking the cityactive volcanoenjoy the viewbakery shopbreakfast buffetthirty minutesbigger roomthird floorlarge hotelhotel is locatedthe hotel stafftempura restaurantchanging area
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,120 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Huge hotel complex on a 100 m high hill overlooking Kagoshima downtown and the bay, providing great views to Sakurajima vulcano, one of the most active ones on Earth. There are various good restaurants on site, we liked the Top Grill on the 10th floor with even greater views. Services are great and employees are vey welcoming and friendly. There is also a Shuttle Bus running between Hotel, various stops in downtown and Kagashima Chuo station.
This is a very cool service for guests!
Nonetheless it feels that the hotel may need a little 'brush up' sooner than later.
The rooms are in their ages and one can feel and see it, and so are most other floors and hallways.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mick1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiroyamaKankoYoyaku, フロント オフィス マネージャー at SHIROYAMA HOTEL kagoshima, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Mick,

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Shiroyama Kagoshima. We are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the nighttime view of Kagoshima City from our highest floor while enjoying authentic French cuisine at the Top grill Sky lounge.

Our staff are also happy to hear that you found the shuttle bus service beneficial. The shuttle runs every thirty minutes to connect the hotel to the downtown area, Tenmonkan, and Kagoshima Chuo station. We hope you will be able to make use of the shuttle again in the future.

We are very sorry to hear that you found the floors and hallways disappointing. Our hotel is now 50 years old, and we are currently in the process of renovating small areas at a time. Some of our rooms have already been renewed, and we hope you will be able to make use of them on a future visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Shiroyama Kagoshima again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Hotel on the hill with good Sukurajima views. Booked the volcano facing room and set alarm to get up to see sunrise through a small window (room 962). I am rating this a 4 not 5 because of the extra money I paid for this room, I am not expecting only a small window with view. Nonetheless, the best view is really it’s open bath (Onsen) area and that does not disappoint. Rainbow restaurant buffet breakfast is also famous and it is good. Service is good too. Overall, a great place to stay in Kagoshima

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We spend three nights here with a group of 40 people. The hotel staff is very relaxed and easy to communicate with. The hotel itself is wonderful and has a beautiful location overlooking Mount Sakurajima. A free shuttle takes you downtown and vice versa. Great service, highly recommendable!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MartijnMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Yes, their famous buffet breakfast did not disappoint. Room was recently refurnibished, shower cubicle a bit small, so men over 200lbs will probably feel cramped. Shuttle bus is super convenient, frequent and free, City bus stations is situated right outside the hotel, very convenient. Must mention Terumi Motono at the concierge desk who was super helpful. I was checking if I could use the business Centre to print a documen,, she said "email it to me" and procured the printed document in 2 mins!

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have been refurbished. Better ask when making a book.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 784sylvainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

The hotel is located on the top of Shiroyama, 350 feet hill. there is a shuttle bus between the station/main locations in the city to the hotel every 20 min, so it is not so inconvenient.
The service from the staff is excellent. i wanted to take the 5:25 shuttle bus and i was a bit late to leave the room. when i reached to the elevator hall, there was a staff, who was also waiting for the elevator. i talked to the guy saying that i wanted to take 5:25 bus, he radioed to the bus driver to wait till i get on the bus, nice!
as you can see the picture above, there is an open-air bath, hot spring, from there, you can view mount Sakurajima. what a view!
the morning buffet is excellent, you probably need to stay 3 days to enjoy everything. the quality is super. Japanese style is mainly local food.
if you are a runner, you will be able to enjoy trek run. Because hotel is located on the top of the hill, 350 feet down in 1.5miles and return is 350 feet straight up in 1.5miles.
The view, open-air bath, the service, breakfast buffet are excellent. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank everlong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews