We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large tourist hotel located high up on a hill overlooking Kagoshima”
Review of Hotel Shiroyama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Shiroyama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

We are currently staying at this hotel. This is our second of a three night stay. The location is away from the center of the city but the hotel runs a shuttle bus every thirty minutes to and from the hotel to the main train station (Kagoshima Chuo) and several other stops en route so each one way trip takes a half hour. It was very convenient to use the shuttle to take the bus to Chiran from the bus terminal located in front of the train station. The Kagoshima CityView Bus also makes a stop here so we are planning to take this bus directly to catch the ferry over to Sakurajima.

I think the hotel may at one time have been grand but it is showing signs of wear. Our king sized bed room was adequate in size since there was an entry foyer and the bathroom was rather roomy by Japanese standards. But the carpets had many stain spots in our room and they still use old fashioned actual metal keys. Our room had an "ocean" view of Sakurajima.

We picked this hotel because it had an onsen. Guests are given unisex pajama sets rather than yukatas. The onsen consists of an indoor pool, outdoor pool with wonderful views of same Sakurajima Island and volcano and a large steam room. The nighttime views of Kagoshima are also lovely. The onsen staff worked very hard to keep the place clean and well stocked. The pools were large enough to accommodate many people. The onsen is open from 6-11 am, then from 1:00 pm to midnight (last entry at 11:30 pm). There is a spa with many services (scrubs, massages, etc) but we did not use so can't comment.

Our rate included buffet breakfast in Rainbow Hall. There was a huge selection of both Japanese and Western foods - made to order omelets too. There are certainly enough choices to satisfy any palate. We especially enjoyed the Japanese foods.

There are many restaurants in the hotel but we did not eat in the hotel so I can’t comment on them. There is some convenience store items in the hotel gift shop but prices are expensive compared to in-Town minimarts or grocery stores. You are sort of forced to buy stuff here since there are no other options nearby.

Service was very nice - most of the young staff spoke some English and really displayed willingness to serve the guests.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiroyamaKankoYoyaku, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Shiroyama, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Laura,
Thank you very much for your insightful and thorough review of your stay with us. First off, we are grateful that you chose Hotel Shiroyama Kagoshima among many choices in town.
We are glad you took full advantage of our free shuttle bus service on your trips around the region. We hope you enjoyed your trips to Chiran and Sakurajima.
I apologize for the stain spots on the carpet, I will address the matter with the housecleaning section. As to the signs of wear, we are continuously doing renovation work to update and refresh our 50-year old buildings. We hope you can stay in a newly remodeled guest room on your next visit.
Thank you for choosing us for the onsen. We strive to keep it clean and full of amenities, so that you can relax and enjoy the wonderful mineral properties of the spring. Our onsen is a chloride-carbonated spring, known for its skin-softening properties. We recommend that you try our spa services to complete the relaxing and refreshing onsen experience. Our friendly and well-trained massage and body treatment staff await your next visit.
We hope you will choose to stay with us at Hotel Shiroyama Kagoshima again during your future travel to Kagoshima, and we look forward to seeing you.
Hidenori Tokuda, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Huge hotel complex on a 100 m high hill overlooking Kagoshima downtown and the bay, providing great views to Sakurajima vulcano, one of the most active ones on Earth. There are various good restaurants on site, we liked the Top Grill on the 10th floor with even greater views. Services are great and employees are vey welcoming and friendly. There is also a Shuttle Bus running between Hotel, various stops in downtown and Kagashima Chuo station.
This is a very cool service for guests!
Nonetheless it feels that the hotel may need a little 'brush up' sooner than later.
The rooms are in their ages and one can feel and see it, and so are most other floors and hallways.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mick1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiroyamaKankoYoyaku, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Shiroyama, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Mick,

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Shiroyama Kagoshima. We are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the nighttime view of Kagoshima City from our highest floor while enjoying authentic French cuisine at the Top grill Sky lounge.

Our staff are also happy to hear that you found the shuttle bus service beneficial. The shuttle runs every thirty minutes to connect the hotel to the downtown area, Tenmonkan, and Kagoshima Chuo station. We hope you will be able to make use of the shuttle again in the future.

We are very sorry to hear that you found the floors and hallways disappointing. Our hotel is now 50 years old, and we are currently in the process of renovating small areas at a time. Some of our rooms have already been renewed, and we hope you will be able to make use of them on a future visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Shiroyama Kagoshima again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Hotel on the hill with good Sukurajima views. Booked the volcano facing room and set alarm to get up to see sunrise through a small window (room 962). I am rating this a 4 not 5 because of the extra money I paid for this room, I am not expecting only a small window with view. Nonetheless, the best view is really it’s open bath (Onsen) area and that does not disappoint. Rainbow restaurant buffet breakfast is also famous and it is good. Service is good too. Overall, a great place to stay in Kagoshima

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We spend three nights here with a group of 40 people. The hotel staff is very relaxed and easy to communicate with. The hotel itself is wonderful and has a beautiful location overlooking Mount Sakurajima. A free shuttle takes you downtown and vice versa. Great service, highly recommendable!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MartijnMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Yes, their famous buffet breakfast did not disappoint. Room was recently refurnibished, shower cubicle a bit small, so men over 200lbs will probably feel cramped. Shuttle bus is super convenient, frequent and free, City bus stations is situated right outside the hotel, very convenient. Must mention Terumi Motono at the concierge desk who was super helpful. I was checking if I could use the business Centre to print a documen,, she said "email it to me" and procured the printed document in 2 mins!

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have been refurbished. Better ask when making a book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 784sylvainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kagoshima hotels
Furusato Onsen
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
#3 of 84 in Kagoshima
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Remm Kagoshima
#4 of 84 in Kagoshima
373 reviews
Furusato Onsen
Kagoshima Sun Royal Hotel
Kagoshima Sun Royal Hotel
#13 of 84 in Kagoshima
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shiroyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shiroyama

Address: 41-1 Shinshoincho, Kagoshima 890-8586, Kagoshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Kagoshima
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kagoshima
#1 Family Hotel in Kagoshima
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kagoshima
#3 Business Hotel in Kagoshima
Price Range: €83 - €296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shiroyama 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is chosen to TripAdvisor's Delicious hotel ranking of breakfast since 2013~ to now. Please enjoy our breakfast! You can enjoy the best view of Mt.Sakurajima from Hotel Shiroyama Kagoshima. Situated over 100m above sea level Hotel Shiroyama Kagoshima is surrounded by peaceful nature and overlooks the heart of Kagoshima city. Please enjoy the beautiful change in seasons of Shiroyama's forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shiroyama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Park Onsen Hotel
Hotel Castle Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing