We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in an otherwise culinary desert”

Bar de Nikko Kujira Shokudo
Ranked #3 of 869 Restaurants in Nikko
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: Italian, Japanese, Bar, Cafe
Description: It is a cafe restaurant interior doors and ingenious.Please enjoy, such as Japanese, sashimi and Western original.There is also a sake of Tochigi Prefecture and Japanese beer.We look forward to
Restaurant details
Description: It is a cafe restaurant interior doors and ingenious.Please enjoy, such as Japanese, sashimi and Western original.There is also a sake of Tochigi Prefecture and Japanese beer.We look forward to
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Choosing a restaurant in the Nikko precinct can be tricky. However, let me save you the trouble and head directly to Dr Nikko (do not pass GO). While it's not Michelin star, the home cooked offerings coming off the pass here are sure to please the most discerning of diners. For lunch they specialise in omelette, while dinner has a protein focus. Overall Dr Nikko comes highly recommended.

Thank Groeneveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
秀幸 上, オーナー at Bar de Nikko Kujira Shokudo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you very much for coming to my bar. Please do when you come to Nikko City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We went there for dinner on a Thursday night. Most of the other places were closed (off season). We were definitely not disappointed. The double sauce omelet was delicious. Sake was served generously. I definitely recommand

Thank Gabi12358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
秀幸 上, オーナー at Bar de Nikko Kujira Shokudo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you very much for coming to my bar. Please do when you come to Nikko City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Went there in the late winter when Nikko was very quiet. We were the only ones there, but still had a great time. There is an English menu available. The menu is small and simple but with plenty of stuff that we wanted to eat, both eastern and western. Cooks it all in front of you and happy to chat in his broken english. Great little place for dinner, and great value too. Entree's for 500yen, and mains for 1000-1500yen.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Central_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
秀幸 上, オーナー at Bar de Nikko Kujira Shokudo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you very much for coming to my bar. Please do when you come to Nikko City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Seriously great food. English menu and English speaking bartender (owner?)
Order "Soba Beer" for a great tasting local brew. Very warm and cozy atmosphere that is much appreciated in winter time.
If nothing else just stop by to appreciate the excellent wood work within this bar.

I will be stopping by Nikko in the future just to stop here. Of course the mountain views are worth the trip alone too.

Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
秀幸 上, オーナー at Bar de Nikko Kujira Shokudo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you very much for coming to my bar. Please do when you come to Nikko City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Nikko is a sleepy mountain town when we visited in November and the weather had just turned cold. As a result we were looking for some good drinks and food to spruce things up. Bar de Nikko was the perfect destination for a great hot sake, delicious Japanese whisky, and local craft beers. It's a great place to mingle with other travelers and taste some of the best homemade curry cooking around. There are also lots of other local menu items such as octopus dumplings, pork belly, and more. The Chef/Owner/ bar tender does it all as the restaurant appears as nothing more than a bar with about 12 seats, but the intimate experience is well worth a memory.

Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
秀幸 上, オーナー at Bar de Nikko Kujira Shokudo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you very much for coming to my bar. Please do when you come to Nikko City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar de Nikko Kujira Shokudo also viewed

Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
 
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
 
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
 

Been to Bar de Nikko Kujira Shokudo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing