We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
C'est bon(Nikko)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Tokino Yu(Nikko)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
135
35
11
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
35
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmassage chairwelcome drinkprivate bathbeautiful japanese gardenone nightkaiseki dinnerpublic onsendinner servedkoi pondconvenient shuttlejapanese western roomtrain stationshabu shabufree snacksopen air bathtatami stylecoffee machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017

When you visit Nikko you can return in a day from Tokyo but I would recommend staying overnight at this gorgeous hotel/ryokan. It's not authentic, authentic Japanese ryokan but ambience is definitely there and for first timer ryokan experience, this will be it. You don't need to sleep on a tatami and you can get hot spring bath private in some rooms. I enjoyed the big hot spring both inside and outside. You can reserve a private hot bath for extra charge. If 2 are willing to sleep tatami style, four can sleep in some rooms. Evening and morning meals come with the charge and this is definitely Japanese but there are lots of small dishes so you won't go hungry. Don't expect ham and eggs in the morning. Our grandkids loved sleeping on the tatami floor even taking in private hot tubs outside. Saw lots of foreign names in various rooms so must be popular amongst non-Japanese. They have a small Beautiful Japanese garden. There is a small hotel bus from Nikko railroad station(Tobu line from Asakusa)

Room Tip: If you don't want to try the hot spring public bath, though I highly recommend it, get a room with private outside hot spring tub.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for your stay with us and taking time to give us your comments about your stay on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you and your family had a comfortable stay in our place. I'm happy that you enjoyed our beautiful Japanese garden, an private open‐air bath, hospitality and dining experience Japanese dishes.

'Nikko area' you will arrive in 2hours by train from Tokyo. You can discover the good old Japan here. You can discover the good old days and traditional Japanese here. And you can also enjoy nature at the same time.

Look forward to meeting you guys and your family soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

I had a fabulous experience staying at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa 2 years ago for my wedding anniversary. This is my 2nd time visiting this hotel with the whole family members and I was much impressed even more with hotel's facilities and staff's great hospitality. My every single request was thoroughly taken into attention both in advance through email, upon my arrival, during my stay, and until check-out.

My Japanese-Style room is quite large having 3 zones separated by paper-doors, which are front zone, bedroom, and living room, together with balcony and beautifully natural view. Despite of classic Japanese-Style decoration, this room is nicely equip with full facilities and equipments such as electronic massage chair, facial treatment machine, coffee machine, LCD TV, and music stereo. A Japanese/Western room for my 75-years old parents is wonderful and convenient. More importantly, this room was complimentarily upgraded by the hotel to the room type which also have a private Onzen pond (hot spring water) at the balcony in order to well facilitate my parents to be safe and to have best & most convenient moment during their stay at the hotel, which is greatly appreciated.

As for dinner and breakfast, we indeed enjoyed a very tasty and stunning Kaiseki-Japanese food in a nice private dining room. As for Onzen, there are choices of free "Public Onzen" having 2 indoor-ponds & 1 beautiful outdoor-pond together with shower zone & dressing zone, as well as "Private Onzen" for which you can make a reservation with 2000Yen charge.

Although, Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa is not located by the main street or in tourist areas, you can request for a free shuttle service to bus stop or to Nikko train station. (In case of taking a bus for sightseeing, I would strongly recommend you to buy day-pass ticket at the train station for unlimited ride in one day which will certainly help you save money)

Lastly, for anyone deciding to have a trip in Nikko and to stay at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, please ensure that you will allocate enough time to enjoy all historical places and charming natural places there, as well as to relax yourself in this cozy & impressive hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NuchnaphaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you for your stay with us and taking time to give us your comments about your stay on TripAdvisor. We were happy to get reacquainted with you.

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed such a fantastic experience Japanese Ryokan. We truly pride ourselves on our hospitality and personalised service, and so it is brilliant to see that we exceeded your expectations.

Look forward to meeting you guys and your family soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Friendly and helpful staff, always wearing smile on their faces, help to take our luggage from car to room when we arrive the Hotel and velvet parking.
Choices of welcome drinks.
Delicious dinner and breakfast.
Very relaxing Japanese Ryokan.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for your stay with us and taking time to give us your comments about your stay on TripAdvisor.
Thank you very much for your comment and the compliments to our ryokan.
Your comments are appreciated and we do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Hotel Tokugawa is simply brilliant. The pickup from the train station was super efficient, the staff super friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent (now that we've tasted plum wine or 'omeshu' we can't go back!). We chose a room with a 'hot spring' in the balcony i.e. our own private hot spring - fantastic. The futons were very comfortable and the rooms spotless. The only 'downside' is that the next ryoken were stayed in, which was pretty good, just looked bad in comparison.

There are also convenient shuttle buses (free) that takes one to Nikko town or to some of tourist highlights like the Nikko Shrine and one can call them to fetch you when you're done.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Asogan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you so much for such a great review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

A ryokan is for travelers who wish to experience Japanese culture and enjoy the comforts of Japanese hospitality and service, Japanese Dishes and 'omeshu'. Ryokans are only available in Japan and it is an experience not to be missed. We are happy that you are very satisfied with that.

As you commented, we have shuttle bus service from hotel to "World Heritage area" & "Tobu station" or "JR nikko station". Shuttle bus service (from PM2:00 to PM7:00) pick you up after your call.

Look forward to meeting you guys and your family soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

If you are staying in Nikko this hotel is a must!!! From the minute you step out of the car the hotel staff greet you with big smiles and helpful hands. The ryokans are just beautiful - the room was amazing! We slept on the futons which were comfortable and it had a large section of excellent amenities. We had an open air bath and shower on the balcony with a beautiful view of the garden. It was a perfect treat after sight seeing all day. We were served an amazing traditional 8 course Japanese dinner in our room and the breakfasts were always so yummy and presented perfectly. The hotel also has a public onsen with a sauna which was great. What makes this hotel so great is the outstanding service from staff - they were so helpful with maps and sight-seeing advice. The hotel also runs a shuttle bus service in the mornings and afternoons - I rang the hotel via payphone and they picked me up from my location in Nikko :) The whole hotel had a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere and I would definitely come back to this hotel in a heart beat. Thank you Okunoin Hotel for such a beautiful experience!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rachael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you so much for such a great review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Hotel is place that has clean water and is very quite place. Our Ryokan is in a quiet place which is secluded from the world. Various flowers blooming from season to season in the garden glad guests eyes. You were able to stay while relaxing. I am delighted that you enjoyed such a fantastic experience Japanese Ryokan. We truly pride ourselves on our hospitality and personalised service, and so it is brilliant to see that we exceeded your expectations.

Your comments are appreciated and we do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews