We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,193)
Filter reviews
1,193 results
Traveller rating
759
332
65
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
759
332
65
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room free drinks sushi restaurant gora station free happy hour cable car a mountain view room great resort enclosed balcony shuttle bus lounge area mt fuji shuttle service every evening rooms are huge loved this hotel western food
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 1,193 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

There are few places quite beautiful as Japan in the autumn time & I try to come back as much as I can during this bewitching season.

I arrived at 2 pm and was happy that my room (101) was ready. The spacious room equipped with huge windows had perfect vantage views of the buttery yellow mountains & swirling clouds, but could definitely use some refurbishment, ie the bathroom shower and tub looked especially 70s & the water could have been hotter.

But enjoyed every minute nonetheless: Had a lovely relaxing dinner at their sushi restaurant as Berce was full, after a heavy Kobe beef lunch at the nearby Itoh by Nobu, was happy to have a lighter meal here of sushi, tofu hotpot, and lovely Dassai sake; the hotel’s also had very spot on service, email requests were promptly replied to & etc. I didn’t have time to try the onsen nor the free HH drinks (goes on for 3 generous hours and includes champagne) but chose to drive first to Owakudani with the constant wisps of vapour, then the 45 min gorgeous drive to Saijoji temple in Minamiashigara which was much prettier and infinitely more serene vs the Hakone Shrine.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of November and I absolutely loved it. The hotel offers a free ride from the JR station which is a 45-55 minute ride from the coast and up in to The Valley where the hotel entrance is receded back from the road and behind rows of trees. Note that the shuttle has limited seating, so book in advance.

Once you arrive at the hotel, the aromatherapy and people dressed in hukatas around the fireplace in the middle of the living room immediately sets a slower and more relaxed ambiance. Instantly you take a deep breath and your mind is at ease.

The reception desk for check in is just a couple of stand alone desks. There's no fuss or transactional feeling, just a sense of coming home and having someone make sure you have all your belongings and get to your bed.

I recommend calling reception to request some extra bath salts for extended stays in the tub. Trust me, you'll use it. They also have a curling iron and face steamer and yoga mat that I borrowed. I spent every morning and an evening on the lanai practicing yoga. Then I'd have a cup of the wonderful green tea they provide and sit back and enjoy views of The Valley, just taking in the ambiance of clean air, clear skies, the sun moving across The Valley floor. It's resets your clock when you can see the sun move so intentionally and slowly across The Valley all morning. Everything just seems to slow and simmer and marinade longer. I adored this hotel.

The staff is also EXCEPTIONAL. They ran out of a house wine during happy hour and the manager upgraded the wine. No questions asked, he offered a 2012 Chamonix red that my husband absolutely enjoyed to the very last gargle. No detail was too small for their attention, but at the same time it never felt overbearing. It's a tricky line between care and overbearing, but the management team here walks it perfectly.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank May N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

My mom and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Hakone while two other family members hiked Mt. Fuji. This was our last stop after a two week trip to Japan. We previously stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Tokyo and Ritz-Carlton in Kyoto. The hotel staff were very attentive and took our bags upon arrival. Our room was large and spacious with two double beds. The view was absolutely beautiful. The hotel itself was a little outdated with fraying carpet in the hallways and the bathroom in the guest room could use some updating but Hakone is also a laid-back mountain town with a more relaxed feel. The facilities were extremely clean and the staff was very attentive. During our first night, we enjoyed a delicious dinner and wonderful wine selection in the hotel restaurant. The second night we ordered a few different small plates in the hotel lobby which were all wonderful. The lobby is such a relaxing and welcoming space to enjoy a cocktail and conversation. Customer service was great and we really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We stayed in a twin room. The rooms are nice and spacious, though did feel like they could do with a bit of an update. The hotel is close to the uphill Tozan cable car (tram), however make sure you get off on the right side as there is no way to cross the line at that station unless a tram is at the station, this also did stop running at about 7pm so its either a nice steep climb or try to call a taxi if you have dinner elsewhere (the taxis dont always want to take your business if its early morning or late night). If you dont mind a short walk uphill it is walking distance to the hakone ropeway (cable car). Staff were friendly and the hotel sushi restaurant was very good, the bar had a nice ambience with blankets and an open fire, there is an onsen/spa but no gym.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

The room was a 3 mins walk from the tram station. The staff was very helpful and polite. The lobby lounge was very decent and grant. We enjoyed drinks and dessert besides the fire and the atmosphere was wonderful. The room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast is highly recommended which included both Japanese and western food.

The only minor demerit point was the Onsen is not as not that "local".
And be aware to get off from at the right side of the tram in order to get to the hotel at the 上強羅 station when you took the uphill direction tram....or else, you had to wait for the next tram to get to the opposite platform. No road from the left platform to the right side.....

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sayo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews