We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Fukuzumiro Ryokan(Hakone-machi)
US$341
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ryokan 
Kansuiro(Hakone-machi)
US$442
US$401
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gora Tensui(Hakone-machi)
US$546
US$469
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel(Hakone-machi)
US$243
US$205
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$270/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hakone Hotel(Hakone-machi)
US$426
US$253
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hakone Manatee(Hakone-machi)
US$429
US$412
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$471
US$372
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Tonosawa Ichinoyu Honkan(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
US$274
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hakone Pax Yoshino(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
US$414
YOKOSO Japan
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Gora Kadan(Hakone-machi)
US$988
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
25
64
31
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
64
31
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfoot massagegora stationstayed longerbit datedfree shuttlemt fujijapanese stylemouldcablecarbathshakonetaxispring
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017

the place has the view to win you over but the rooms are kinda old looking and the washrooms feel like some plastic cell that you just bring over and install. But yeah the view is great and the Onsen is really relaxing, it has an outdoor and indoor onsen and would really loosen you up after a long day or hiking and walking around the mountainous hakone area!

Room Tip: all the rooms are facing the forest and it was designed for this purpose that no one has a bad view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azreal911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Very peaceful place surrounded by forest. It's just about ten minutes walk from cablecar station and Gora station is pretty close too, so it's easy to go sightseeing from here. And the hotel has a car that takes you to/from Gora station if you just ask them.
Rooms were big and clean and employees were really nice and helpful. French style dinner and buffet breakfast were also good. And I really liked the onsen (inside and outside pools both) at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Nothing to complain about. Excellent service. Splendid french inspired food.
Yukata (kimono) to wear when visiting the onsen. WiFi in the room. And for the temperature - it was possible to open the windows and get some real fresh air.
Though the hotel is a bit worn it is still worth a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arvestykker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

I stayed here with trepidation after reading previous reviews. Had nothing to worry about. Hotel in a very quiet safe leafy area. Reception and wait staff went above and beyond being helpful. Explanation was given to how things work in the Hotel and given a list of where to find everything. Not modern but not old, had a great feel to it. My room was very clean and tidy. Shower pressure excellent. Bed very comfortable. I brought my own pillow. In the room was a freshly laundered Yukata to wear down to Hot Spring Baths along with slippers.

Hot Spring Baths were fantastic after a big day of sightseeing. Very clean and had all the supplies needed for a shower prior etc. Used both the bath inside and outside. Complimentary breakfast was served next morning overlooking a beautiful leafy view and was more than filling. Consisted of a choice of fresh juices,tea, 2xsausages, smooth potato mash, large salad, 2 x toasted cheese thick bread, fresh soft egg with bacon bits on top. I enjoyed it very much and very filling. There were serveral choices of breakfasts to order when booking in the night prior.

Bonus of being only a beautiful 10 minute walk from second stop of the cablecar. So with Hakone Pass made use of seeing Mt Fuji twice. Spectacular. Gora itself just beautiful. Visited Gora park just 10-12 minutes from accommodation. Just Lovely. Wish I had stayed longer so I could have gone to outdoor museum. For $150.00 a night including use of Hot Spring Baths and breakfast thought this was great value for money in this area.

Dinner reservation booking needs to be made day prior.

Room Tip: On bookings.com you can ask for a preferred room. I had the top floor with a small window overlooking the mountain side.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyholsx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel was old but beautiful, settled amongst a beautiful landscape I felt in special.
Then I met the staff.
Treated poorly, not given any direction within the hotel itself.
Refused access to their own restaurant and refused other services such as their in house massaging.
After paying for the accommodation before I had even arrived in Japan, I was not allowed to leave and check out until I had paid another ¥25,000 for their "hot spa" services.
I was asked to go to another restaurant for dinner and when they explained their restaurant was fully booked, there was only 2 people in the dinning hall that seated close to 80 people.
Disgusting treatment and avoid booking with this hotel if you come from another country.
I wonder if all their hotels treat foreingers the same.
Avoid at all cost if you have self respect.
Marroad Hotel should be ashamed!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews