We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
116
212
95
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
212
95
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tokyo bay excellent business hotel office building connected directly shower room convention center baseball stadium aeon mall nice view walking distance jr station visit tokyo rooms are small apa hotel japan exhibition taxis
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Overall this is a nice hotel and probably one of the best hotels in Chiba. The location is nearby the water with a great view if you have a water facing room. It is also near their baseball stadium and if I had more time, I would have definitely caught a baseball game there. Lots of convenient restaurants are within walking distance. Room service was excellent, and it was walking distance to a convention center and the AEON mall, which was my favorite place to visit. It is also convenient to a subway/train stop which is critical as well if you want to visit Tokyo proper.

The one thing I will criticize is their Club Level accomodations. When I travel overseas, I frequently upgrade to a club level room which tends to give you a higher floor room with better views, but also a private club room only for club level guest which often serves breakfast, snacks, heavy appetizers at dinner time and free drinks including alcohol. This formula is very consistent between hotels which have Club Level upgrades available. I upgraded to Club Level at the New Otani Makuhari in Chiba and it was a total waste of money. I did receive a higher level room facing the water which was nice, but the private club level was on the first floor nearby the check - in counter and it was nothing more than a room with some tables and chairs and a coffee/tea machine. If you had coffee and if the attendant for the room was there, she would bring you one plastic wrapped cookie, but that was it in terms of food. No breakfast, no snacks, no free drinks, and no heavy appetizers. This formula has been so consistent between other hotels that I visited that I never thought to ask if the New Otani had these things before I checked in. If I ever stay here again, I will not select the club floor upgrade as it is overpriced for what you receive. Aside from the lack of extras with the club floor room, it was a fine place to stay.

Room tip: Club level rooms are not worth the extra price. Water view rooms are nice.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MackLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

I have fond memories of the New Otani Makuhari, not because it is a great hotel but because it is one of the strangest hotels I have ever stayed at.

This was probably what a group of people with no sense of direction and tonnes of money saw as the ideal hotel in the 1980s.

The only problem is is that nothing has changed. The rooms, lobby, restaurants and lobby are as they were when the hotel was new. Cool time warp but not up today's standards.

The location across the road of the Makuhari conference centre is really convenient but the hotels lack the type of amenities that one should expect. No late room service (had to order pizza), mediocre Food & Beverage, old (but clean) rooms, weird Wifi network set up^.

The pirate themed bar (?!?) is a quirky additions but it does not make up for the hotel's shortcomings. Service is, however, excellent and the staff tries really hard.

All in all not terrible (and there aren't tonnes of options near Makuhari) but rather depressing...

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank traveller973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

As mentioned in the title, I am disappointed. The reason is that, even tough I stay here every year with foreign delegations, who not only sleep at this venue, but also patronize the bar every night, this hotel always treats you like an unwanted guest. Every time they want to see a document, let me fill in the form, even though the reservation comes from my office, a governmental body nonetheless. I always have the sensation of not being welcomed. It starts with the airline mileage: in the last seven years of so, they managed (with one reason/excuse or another) not to credit the miles. Yes...small matter, now let's go to the unpleasant aspects: the rooms are large, no doubt, but the fittings (bath, faucets, showers, etc.) are still from the 1980s. That was luxury back then, not anymore. Moreover, there is no single place to plug a USB cable, normally at least on the TV-set, but that was not the case.
The bedding is not really ideal, breakfast is just a minimum acceptable standard (by the way: SALTED butter with pan-cakes...seriously?) and I would love to stay elsewhere, if the only alternative would not be "Apa Hotel", which is far worst. In addition the whole layout is like a labirinth, typical of the Japanse 1980s, which I was never fond of. Truthfully, the only reason I stay here is because you can walk to the Makuhari fair compound.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luigi_Fino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

I stayed here for just one night in September 2017 as part of a trade mission. The hotel is fairly non-descript and doesn't feel as though it has much character. There were hundreds of rooms and yet it all felt a little out of season.

It is twenty minutes walk to a huge shopping mall, and I strolled around there in the afternoon. In the morning I was able to go for a run along the sea front on Tokyo Bay which was great.

The hotel itself doesn't feel like a place you'd want to spend time with your family. It's simply a place for itinerant business people.

It's not unpleasant, but it would be hard to recommend.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel located just adjusted to the expo area.
Nice hotel with services and resnoble price.
Close to train station
Very nice room service and items...
Near by restaurants and mini marts..

Just it is almost 45 min far from the city.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank UAE_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews