We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
12
48
38
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
48
38
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall shoptatami floortraditional japanese stylecombinationbathroom
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2015

The hotel has traditional Japanese style tatami floor in the seating area with low tables and cushions and with modern beds towards the entrance. We were on twin sharing and most put up in 5th and 6th floors. The rooms are sea facing so great views of the sea and in the mornings with the door open to the balcony you could spend a few peaceful moments hearing the tides crashing.

The rooms were actually quite roomy , although the bathrooms were tiny in typical Japanese style again. Although they had all the modern fittings and very neat and clean. The hotel also has the facility for hot spring baths on the 5th floor and some of my members in the group who used it were pretty impressed with the amenities provided here too.

We had the traditional Japanese dinner in the restaurant too and the quality of food was good both vegetarian and non-vegetarian. The hotel is around 10 mins drive from the town center, however there is a pathway from the terrace to the streets on the other side of the hotel having a few convenience store.

Wi-fi is available only in the lobby and in the dinning areas in the first floor. Connectivity was very poor with very few users able to login at a time.

The breakfast spread had limited options with again more Japanese style of spread.
Overall it was an experience to stay in the traditional Japanese setup and enjoy their hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller_prk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The reception is on level 17, and the guest rooms are built down the side of a cliff to sea level. The hotel itself is quite old, and although clean and tidy, the signs of age are everywhere.

It is a traditional Japanese Ryokan, where you sleep on a futon on the floor. The floors are covered with tatami matting, which gives the room a distinctive smell. Our room was relatively small, with the kotatsu table and chairs having to be pushed to one side for the staff to make up the futons for sleeping.

The palatial dining hall on the 2nd floor provides a traditional Japanese breakfast, with the ocean crashing on the rocks a few feet away.

The main feature, and the reason for the hotel being here, are the hot mineral spring baths in ground floor. Apart from the Art Museum in Atami, there doesn't seem to be much else in the vicinity for visitors.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of waves on the rocks to lull you to sleep, choose a room on the lower levels. If not, pick an upper floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anw190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Rated this three instead of two stars because we got a triple room plus an extra futon (sleeps four) for only approx. Usd200 for 6 nights... part of a timeshare package. Ended up staying three nights because had to fly home earlier. Honestly, if we were to pay USD 150 or more a night, I'd recommend staying somewhere else. It's not BAD, just not worth the price if you're gonna pay that price. (I rated a 4 star for value because of the price we paid)

We arrived and there was no shuttle to pick us up at the station. Waited for about 45mins... ended up walking to the hotel with all our luggage. I think you have to call ahead to book their free shuttle. Their shuttle had short operating hours, which was rather inconvenient. We just walked back from the station to the hotel every night (we went to Tokyo everyday). The walk from the station is downhill all the way, so was pretty easy. About a 10 minute walk. But to the station... its a tiring walk uphill. We used the shuttle or booked a taxi everytime we wanted to get to the station.

Hotel was old, and slightly worn out, but was still very clean. Futon was really comfortable, and the views of the ocean were very nice. Bathroom was tiny though. The smallest bathroom in our entire Japan trip.

We tried the onsen on the 5th floor one night... interesting first-time experience. Quite well-maintained, and good facilities at the onsen. Concierge staff spoke decent English, so had no problems checking in and out, and booking shuttles to the station. WiFi was only provided in the lobby and was strong. Wish they'd provide WiFi in the rooms though.

Overall, it was a decent hotel, with clean rooms and friendly staff. Facilities were adequate. Okay hotel, but not one I'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: If I'm not mistaken, all rooms have an ocean view, so no need to request for one. We had a room on the eighth floor, so views were the best, but I think if you get a room on the 1st floor, you may be able to get WiFi from the ground floor lobby.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in early August. I chose this hotel primarily because it was indicated to be within walking distance of the JR train station, and because it was the best-value that I thought I could find for my planned trip to Ito (I had not planned to stay in Atami; Ito was my goal for Anjin Matsuri). But Ito hotels were pretty full for my travel dates, or else in the $500/night range. I really wish I could give this hotel a higher rating, but I can't.

The location description of being walking distance from the train station isn't telling the whole picture. I did walk it, but I wish I had known there was a shuttle bus. What they call a 15-minute walk took me closer to 30, and it was all downhill. The hotel is situated in such a fashion that coming from the train station, you enter the hotel from the top floor. The ground floor access is almost only from the toll highway that runs below the hotel. The lobby is on the ground floor, which is somewhat inconvenient for the setup, and it's a long walk to get there even after you take the elevator down. They really should have two reception desks. The staff were all friendly, though, and I had no issues checking in, although there was a communications miss on the explanation of the Internet (there was none in my room, and no wireless in the hotel that I could find). She tried, but the language gap was too large, and there weren't enough hotel brochures and information in English (or other languages). To be fair, Atami isn't on the normal path for most travellers to Japan, but it would have been nice.

My room was large, but the bathroom was tiny. It's the only time in Japan I really felt large and brutish, and I'm not even 5'8" tall. The room had two twin beds and a tatami area with the traditional low table and cushions. I think they call it the Japanese-Western room style, but I'm not sure. There were lots of futon and pillows in the cabinet, but I opted not to try to build one. I had a balcony with a fantastic view of the ocean and Hatsushima Island off in the distance. Out to the back side was a bamboo grove full of cicadas that were a constant noise in the background that even closing the door could not shut out.

There are a two or three restaurants in the hotel, but I only went to the one, once for supper and twice for breakfast. The food was quite good, and supper was delicious (I had a seafood/vegetable tempura with rice and soup). The waitress that served me spoke good English and was very helpful. I wish I had gotten her name, so that I could thank her specifically. She not only worked that dinner shift, but she was also there in the morning for breakfast shift providing further help. The breakfast buffet was also pretty good, with the usual mix of western and Japanese options. There is also a small shop and a games room, and there are sometimes area people selling various items from tables in the lobby.

Though they have computers and other modern equipment, they still use actual keys for the rooms. Plus, the keys are used to activate the room's electricity circuits, but at least the air conditioning is on a separate circuit. It was odd running into that kind of archaic technology in an otherwise modern-looking facility, even one that felt like it was a good 40 years old.

One surprising benefit of my room location was that the fireworks the first night (which I hadn't been expecting) were perfectly viewable from my balcony, and quite loud there also. The display was amazing.

This is a spa hotel, but it wasn't the purpose for my visit, so I didn't make use of any of the facilities, and thus cannot comment on them. The hotel, though, is a fairly short walk from the beach, which looks fairly nice.

On the whole, I think I would be willing to stay here again, depending on my other options. My main problem, other than bathroom size and Internet, was that I think I'm allergic to something in the tatami, or perhaps it was something in the air. I had a devil of a time not sneezing, which affected my rest. Before Atami and after it, I had no problems, so it was definitely something related to the location. I think if you're looking to test the more traditional hotel layouts, this would not be a bad place to do it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews