We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but clean. Location wasn't too great though.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Resorpia Atami
Ranked #20 of 110 Hotels / Ryokan in Atami
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Rated this three instead of two stars because we got a triple room plus an extra futon (sleeps four) for only approx. Usd200 for 6 nights... part of a timeshare package. Ended up staying three nights because had to fly home earlier. Honestly, if we were to pay USD 150 or more a night, I'd recommend staying somewhere else. It's not BAD, just not worth the price if you're gonna pay that price. (I rated a 4 star for value because of the price we paid)

We arrived and there was no shuttle to pick us up at the station. Waited for about 45mins... ended up walking to the hotel with all our luggage. I think you have to call ahead to book their free shuttle. Their shuttle had short operating hours, which was rather inconvenient. We just walked back from the station to the hotel every night (we went to Tokyo everyday). The walk from the station is downhill all the way, so was pretty easy. About a 10 minute walk. But to the station... its a tiring walk uphill. We used the shuttle or booked a taxi everytime we wanted to get to the station.

Hotel was old, and slightly worn out, but was still very clean. Futon was really comfortable, and the views of the ocean were very nice. Bathroom was tiny though. The smallest bathroom in our entire Japan trip.

We tried the onsen on the 5th floor one night... interesting first-time experience. Quite well-maintained, and good facilities at the onsen. Concierge staff spoke decent English, so had no problems checking in and out, and booking shuttles to the station. WiFi was only provided in the lobby and was strong. Wish they'd provide WiFi in the rooms though.

Overall, it was a decent hotel, with clean rooms and friendly staff. Facilities were adequate. Okay hotel, but not one I'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: If I'm not mistaken, all rooms have an ocean view, so no need to request for one. We had a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in early August. I chose this hotel primarily because it was indicated to be within walking distance of the JR train station, and because it was the best-value that I thought I could find for my planned trip to Ito (I had not planned to stay in Atami; Ito was my goal for Anjin Matsuri). But Ito hotels were pretty full for my travel dates, or else in the $500/night range. I really wish I could give this hotel a higher rating, but I can't.

The location description of being walking distance from the train station isn't telling the whole picture. I did walk it, but I wish I had known there was a shuttle bus. What they call a 15-minute walk took me closer to 30, and it was all downhill. The hotel is situated in such a fashion that coming from the train station, you enter the hotel from the top floor. The ground floor access is almost only from the toll highway that runs below the hotel. The lobby is on the ground floor, which is somewhat inconvenient for the setup, and it's a long walk to get there even after you take the elevator down. They really should have two reception desks. The staff were all friendly, though, and I had no issues checking in, although there was a communications miss on the explanation of the Internet (there was none in my room, and no wireless in the hotel that I could find). She tried, but the language gap was too large, and there weren't enough hotel brochures and information in English (or other languages). To be fair, Atami isn't on the normal path for most travellers to Japan, but it would have been nice.

My room was large, but the bathroom was tiny. It's the only time in Japan I really felt large and brutish, and I'm not even 5'8" tall. The room had two twin beds and a tatami area with the traditional low table and cushions. I think they call it the Japanese-Western room style, but I'm not sure. There were lots of futon and pillows in the cabinet, but I opted not to try to build one. I had a balcony with a fantastic view of the ocean and Hatsushima Island off in the distance. Out to the back side was a bamboo grove full of cicadas that were a constant noise in the background that even closing the door could not shut out.

There are a two or three restaurants in the hotel, but I only went to the one, once for supper and twice for breakfast. The food was quite good, and supper was delicious (I had a seafood/vegetable tempura with rice and soup). The waitress that served me spoke good English and was very helpful. I wish I had gotten her name, so that I could thank her specifically. She not only worked that dinner shift, but she was also there in the morning for breakfast shift providing further help. The breakfast buffet was also pretty good, with the usual mix of western and Japanese options. There is also a small shop and a games room, and there are sometimes area people selling various items from tables in the lobby.

Though they have computers and other modern equipment, they still use actual keys for the rooms. Plus, the keys are used to activate the room's electricity circuits, but at least the air conditioning is on a separate circuit. It was odd running into that kind of archaic technology in an otherwise modern-looking facility, even one that felt like it was a good 40 years old.

One surprising benefit of my room location was that the fireworks the first night (which I hadn't been expecting) were perfectly viewable from my balcony, and quite loud there also. The display was amazing.

This is a spa hotel, but it wasn't the purpose for my visit, so I didn't make use of any of the facilities, and thus cannot comment on them. The hotel, though, is a fairly short walk from the beach, which looks fairly nice.

On the whole, I think I would be willing to stay here again, depending on my other options. My main problem, other than bathroom size and Internet, was that I think I'm allergic to something in the tatami, or perhaps it was something in the air. I had a devil of a time not sneezing, which affected my rest. Before Atami and after it, I had no problems, so it was definitely something related to the location. I think if you're looking to test the more traditional hotel layouts, this would not be a bad place to do it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank daipresents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 全室オーシャンビューなので、どの部屋に泊まっても海が見られます。予約時に「訳あり」と明記されている部屋の場合、低層階になるようで海岸道路の車の音がちょっと近く感じられるかも。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tette1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank evcr65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atami hotels
Hotel New Akao
#13 of 110 in Atami
329 reviews
Royal Wing
#18 of 110 in Atami
57 reviews
Atami Onsen
Atami Seaside Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atami Onsen
Relax Resort Hotel
Relax Resort Hotel
#54 of 110 in Atami
56 reviews
Atami Onsen
Atami Korakuen Hotel
Atami Korakuen Hotel
#7 of 110 in Atami
245 reviews
Atami Onsen
Hotel Micuras
Hotel Micuras
#2 of 110 in Atami
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Resorpia Atami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Resorpia Atami

Address: 13-93 Higashikaigancho, Atami 413-0012, Shizuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Atami > Atami Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 110 Hotels / Ryokan in Atami
Price Range: €152 - €380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Resorpia Atami 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Resorpia Atami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing