We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
96
136
41
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
136
41
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelsoba restaurantwestern guestsonsen downstairsseparate areasolder partnice coffee shophistoric areajapanese breakfasttwin bedscorner roomfriendly english speaking staffsmall thingstrain station to the hotelyayoi kusamanice and friendly staffjapanese style room
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We had a chance to stay here for 2 nights, not consecutively.
The first night I chose the annex because I thought it would be newer and better. The first room was on the second floor, which was newly done, has a nice looking claw foot bathtub ( leaking ) and Nespreso machine. But the real downside was the stair...not sure why, there were 5-6 steps that you have to take to some of the rooms. Not so convenient if you travel with a big suitcase. The second room on the 5th floor was quite old, not so clean and some of the lighting did not work...luckily no stair needed to get to this room.
When we checked out we asked for the rooms in main building for the second night. Much better..no stairs and cleaner but the rooms were quite old.
The restaurant, the vending machines and the women onsen were located on the main building. The men onsen and cafe were on the annex.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KinDee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Hotel is well located to the castle, shopping, eating. Very historic with wonderful baths. Artwork is everywhere in the hotel. Rooms were very comfortable. Check in was very personal, with one staff assigned to give you a tour, tea and cookies, and take you up to your room. Very sweet Korean staff person did the check-in for us. Front desk staff are helpful, did luggage forwarding, we had no issues. Laundry is available , it is 200 or 300 Yen for one load, and 100 Yen for the dryer. Ask at front desk, which floor it is on. Breakfast buffet is excellent. Line can be slow at certain times .

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Edith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Lovely hotel within walking distance of black crow castle. Small but very clean and comfortable room. Best part was the wonderful baths in the basement. Wear the provided yukata and join Japanese guests for bath. I was the only foreign guest using it.

Breakfast was also very good.

Free bicycles if you want to explore town. A nice cosy bar in the street opposite the main entrance.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Camdu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights with family of 4. The pro is the hotel is 130 years old and has some antiques furniture well placed out at the lobby. The design is a classical designed with nooks and corners which makes it unique. Attention to detail can be seen everywhere. Beds are comfy but congested with placement of a small round tea table + 2 chairs. The con which we felt was the people working here somehow displayed arrogance or coldness. We did not feel welcomed with our 2 kids as if we were looked down upon as "tourist". I think their target market is the domestic business travellers or premium tourists. Other than that, be aware it is impossible to walk from JR Mastumoto as the walking paths are full of twists and turns. Shuttle is limited to 2 -3 times per day. As I mentioned, mass tourists are not their target market.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Volatile75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

We had booked a standard twin room but found that the room was anything but standard compared with the majority of 3/4 Star hotels we have stayed at in Japan. The room had an entry annex, a full sized bathroom with a large bath and cleverly designed concrete wash stand. The room itself was large with 2 comfortable single beds and lots of room to move around, a novelty compared with the economical spaces we have encountered on our latest trip to Japan. We had breakfast one morning at a discounted rate of Y1500 and it was outstanding with an extensive range of choices in a Japanese style but prepared and presented with flair. On arrival we were given complimentary vouchers for filtered coffee in the hotel's cafe. A nice touch, made even better by the delightful staff we met there. Overall our best hotel experience in Japan.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Platoinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews