We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
96
135
40
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
135
40
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelsoba restaurantwestern guestsonsen downstairsseparate areasolder partnice coffee shophistoric areajapanese breakfasttwin bedscorner roomfriendly english speaking staffsmall thingstrain station to the hotelyayoi kusamanice and friendly staffjapanese style room
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Decent sized room with drawers and wardrobe and room to place your suitcases. Unexceptional evening meal and breakfast. Clean. Pleasant staff. Short walk into town centre. Small lounge available adjacent to reception.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

I struggled a little to choose a hotel in Matsumoto and finally settled on Hotel Kagetsu. So glad as I ended up being very happy with my choice. We stayed in a twin Western style room of good size and very comfortable with comfortable beds and a very good bathroom. The breakfast had more of a Japanese focus but there was sufficient range of Western style breakfast foods for those of us who wanted Western. We certainly found enough to eat and more. There was coffee but only green tea, which nonetheless I enjoyed. We ate at the hotel for our evening meal during our one night stay. The menu was in French and I'd say the food was French with a heavy Japanese influence or is it the other way round - Japanese with a French twist. Whatever, the food was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal. I would recommend a meal at this restaurant. The reception staff were very welcoming and accommodating. I don't have any complaints with this hotel and would definitely stay there again. It really is a very short walk to the castle and to the old part of town. Top location.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chukapols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

This is an older hotel, with lots of character. Think wooden floors, beams and creaking staircases. We stayed in a delightful room, which just fit 2 twin singles and a small desk in it. Very little room for anything else, however we had our own private balcony with it's own garden (almost as big as the room). Unfortunately it was too cold to hang out there, but it looked great through the glass windows when it was lit up in the evening. Good sized bathroom, very clean and silent. One tip. Let them know in advance if you plan to eat in. We tried twice (it was really cold outside). The first time they were closed at 8.10 so we went at 7 the following night only to be told they we should have booked before.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Great service in this hotel very close to Matsumoto Castle.
Clean, well equipped rooms. Fine food though why they thought we wanted European footwork breakfast...?
Still the 1 inch thick door stop bread slices were amusing.
Very good, very hot spa pools.
Beers a bit pricey.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank archierob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

A small town, Matsumoto offers very much and one of the pluses is the location of Hotel Kagetsu.. The hotel is within a short walk to the castle. Many folk craft furniture is found in the hotel, the rooms are very nice, not too small. The Japaneses style breakfast is enormous and very tasty. As always from our experience in Japan, showers are super hot and comfortable, staff warm and welcoming

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank billcarroll289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews