We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Best Value of Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Matsumoto Hotel Kagetsu
Ranked #7 of 198 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsumoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Only about a 10-15 minute walk from the bus/train stations - shopping areas along the river on the way to the hotel, just 5 minutes from the castle. Tons of restaurants near by. We took a taxi (¥800) from the train station because it was raining. We were welcomed by hotel staff that carried our luggage in, held umbrellas over us, and provided a small snack and drink as we finished check-in in the lobby. The hotel includes a very nice coffee shop, a good restaurant (breakfast buffet was very good, mostly Japanese food), 2 sets of coin clothes washer/dryers (¥200/washer load, ¥100/30 min drying time), and very good men's and women's hot-spring style public baths (the baths are NOT fed by a hot spring, but are configured identically to most onsen). The hotel was very international, guests could be heard speaking many European languages and there were Chinese and Koreans there as well. With that said, I ran into a very Japanese symbol in the lobby one evening as upon my return there sat 2 sumo wrestlers in full traditional dress and hair style. We were in room #701, located in the original building (there is also an annex building), the top floor I believe, and at the corner so that we had windows that viewed 2 directions. Our room was a "superior twin". It had 2 beds, small table and chairs with ample room, refrigerator, and a safe. Our bathroom included separate areas for a bath + shower wet room, a counter/sink/mirror, and a toilet. At our initial arrival the safe was not working, but a staff person fixed it and it worked for the remainder of the visit. We also were provided an iron upon request, which they let us keep for the rest of the visit. There was an electric hot water heater, but no coffee maker (we began to suspect that perhaps guests had been taking small electric appliances as "souvenirs" ). Perhaps because of the many international guests, the very nice public baths did not seem to be getting used that much. At check-out, the hotel provided a shuttle bus ride to the train station. If returning to Matsumoto, this is where we would stay!

Room Tip: #701 top floor old building, corner, end of hallway, superior twin, good space, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalCitizen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017

Decent sized room with drawers and wardrobe and room to place your suitcases. Unexceptional evening meal and breakfast. Clean. Pleasant staff. Short walk into town centre. Small lounge available adjacent to reception.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

I struggled a little to choose a hotel in Matsumoto and finally settled on Hotel Kagetsu. So glad as I ended up being very happy with my choice. We stayed in a twin Western style room of good size and very comfortable with comfortable beds and a very good bathroom. The breakfast had more of a Japanese focus but there was sufficient range of Western style breakfast foods for those of us who wanted Western. We certainly found enough to eat and more. There was coffee but only green tea, which nonetheless I enjoyed. We ate at the hotel for our evening meal during our one night stay. The menu was in French and I'd say the food was French with a heavy Japanese influence or is it the other way round - Japanese with a French twist. Whatever, the food was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal. I would recommend a meal at this restaurant. The reception staff were very welcoming and accommodating. I don't have any complaints with this hotel and would definitely stay there again. It really is a very short walk to the castle and to the old part of town. Top location.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chukapols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

This is an older hotel, with lots of character. Think wooden floors, beams and creaking staircases. We stayed in a delightful room, which just fit 2 twin singles and a small desk in it. Very little room for anything else, however we had our own private balcony with it's own garden (almost as big as the room). Unfortunately it was too cold to hang out there, but it looked great through the glass windows when it was lit up in the evening. Good sized bathroom, very clean and silent. One tip. Let them know in advance if you plan to eat in. We tried twice (it was really cold outside). The first time they were closed at 8.10 so we went at 7 the following night only to be told they we should have booked before.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Great service in this hotel very close to Matsumoto Castle.
Clean, well equipped rooms. Fine food though why they thought we wanted European footwork breakfast...?
Still the 1 inch thick door stop bread slices were amusing.
Very good, very hot spa pools.
Beers a bit pricey.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank archierob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matsumoto hotels
Richmond Hotel Matsumoto
#2 of 198 in Matsumoto
613 reviews
Matsumoto Station
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
#6 of 198 in Matsumoto
336 reviews
Matsumoto Marunouchi Hotel
#5 of 198 in Matsumoto
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matsumoto Station
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#12 of 198 in Matsumoto
313 reviews
Hotel New Station
#25 of 198 in Matsumoto
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matsumoto Hotel Kagetsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matsumoto Hotel Kagetsu

Address: 4-8-9 Ote, Matsumoto 390-0874, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Matsumoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Matsumoto
#4 Business Hotel in Matsumoto
#18 Best Value Hotel in Matsumoto
Price Range: €58 - €232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matsumoto Hotel Kagetsu 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mingei Philosophy Matsumoto Lifestyle,Simple Beyond Beauty Born as an inevitable product of the culture out nature and tradition.The name has been cultivated and polished by the passing of time and accumulation of history.There within lies the essence of beauty.Though plain and simple,it is natural and familiar like water,and thus comfortable and spontaneous.Time spent in a natural present state.Matsumoto Hotel Kagetsu,arustic hotel for everyday use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Matsumoto Hotel Kagetsu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagetsu Hotel Matsumoto
Matsumoto Kagetsu Hotel
Matsumoto Hotel Kagetsu Japan - Nagano Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing