We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic experience and very warm welcome !”
Review of MIKOTO Tea House

MIKOTO Tea House
Ranked #3 of 51 Nightlife in Kanazawa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Matcha Tea Party Guests will select thick Matcha or light Matcha. In case of light Matcha, first bowl is ceremonially prepared by Mikoto Tea House and followingly each participant tries making him/her own bowl. We hope to convey the essence of tea ceremony to people from different countries. Matcha is powdered green tea. We guarantee that you will be treated with the authentic Matcha of good quality. For further details, please see our website.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

After the visit at the Mikoto Tea House, my coffee addict husband seriously considers to swap his morning coffee for a bowl of self made matcha tea!
Wonderful experience that we will never forget with very kind and knowledgeable, English speaking Japanese hosts. And it is children friendly! Tadatoshi and Eriko were very open to our one year old toddler who were crawling and playing around during the ceremony. We were excited to learn to prepare our own matcha,to understand the details and the meaning of the ceremony. We also bought everything what is needed for matcha preparation in their cute shop and can't wait to try our new skills at home!
The tea house itself is located in very beautiful spot, it is super cosy, clean and has an authentic feel.
Definitely go there if you are in Kanazawa!

Thank Asja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKOTOTeaHouse, オーナー at MIKOTO Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Asja, we appreciate your warm comments.
Thank you so much for showing understanding to the Japanese culture and we are, at the same time, quite curious about the way you spend time on holiday in your country. Especially because Japanese berries are super costly!

We also enjoyed being with your son very much and are glad he tried a sip of matcha tea. And we like the photo of him and us together very much. Thank you for uploading it.

If you have further questions and requirements or whatever, please feel free to let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

We had a truly wonderful and memorable experience at MIKOTO Tea House. Our tea hostess was considerate, as well as obliging and provided us with guidance througout the whole session in English, including giving us an introduction to Japanese tea tradition before the ceremony began. We warmly recommend this experience to anyone who would like to get a deeper understanding of, and a first hand experience in the rich Japanese tea tradition.

Thank MichaelSDTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKOTOTeaHouse, マネージャー at MIKOTO Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

We appreciate your comments. We had an enjoyable time with you as well. Also, thank you so much for showing understanding on our tea other than Matcha.

We hope you keep using the teapot which you selected at our shop and enjoy various kinds of tea made in many countries.

We hope things are going well for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

Located not far from the Higashi Chaya District Tadatoshi & Eriko welcomed us to their wonderful tea room where we thoroughly enjoyed the experience of the tea ceremony and learning about the Matcha tea (how it is made, prepared, different types). It was great to also have the opportunity after watching the ceremony to make our own tea following the excellent instructions of our hosts. We were looking for an experience that would not feel too touristy and the ceremony did not disappoint. It was like being welcomed into a home for some tea and excellent conversation. Definitely a morning well spent in Kanazawa!


Thank Fiona & G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKOTOTeaHouse, マネージャー at MIKOTO Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

We appreciate your comments. We had a delightful time with you as well. You were very inspirational guests as well. Thank you for having great interest in Japanese Matcha tea culture.

Yes, as you say, we would like to provide not too touristy opportunity for anybody. We are glad that you were satisfied with this regard.

We hope things are going well for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

For anyone who would like to sample Japanese culture, a tea ceremony at Milk to Tea House is a must. Eriko and her husband are gracious hosts and Eriko's English is excellent (she lived in the UK for a year). The ceremony is a tranquil, calming experience that almost feels like meditation. Thanks to Eriko's explanations & guidance, the ceremony is accessible & there's no fear of doing the wrong thing.
As well as getting hands on experience, you can also buy various types of tea if you like.
Definitely worth doing.

Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKOTOTeaHouse, マネージャー at MIKOTO Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

We appreciate your comments. We had a fruitful time with you as well. You were such pleasant and cheerful guests!

We are especially delighted to hear that the ceremony almost feels like meditation. Besides, thank you very much for making a remark on our tea products.

We hope things are going well for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIKOTOTeaHouse, オーナー at MIKOTO Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MIKOTO Tea House also viewed

Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
 
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
 

Been to MIKOTO Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing