We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, wonderful location, hot spring and breakfast”
Review of Dormy Inn Kanazawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, wonderful location, hot spring and breakfast”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

SYed there only for a night for stop over in Kanazawa. The location is perfect as it is only mins walk from the railway station. We arrived during the snowy season, so it was perfect as we can go through the railway station and forums mall the hotel is only across the street.

Room is compact but adequate,with all the amenities expected. There is a spa on the 14th floor of the hotel. I had a soak early in the morning and it was amazing. They have separate male and female baths, and each have their indoor and outdoor baths.it was great soaking in hot spring water while watching snow falling on your head. Each month they feature special fruit bath. This morning they feature red apples. The air is permeated with apples scent.

Breakfast spread is great with western and Japanese spread. The food quality is great and the chef even has special egg creations. I had a crab meat omelet which was great.

The 14th floor has a rest area and is filled with Japanese comic books and vending machines selling various drinks.

The front desk staff were helpful. I especially was impressed with 渡邊泰子, her English was not very fluent, but she is willing to help.

I would recommend the Dormy Inn Kanazawa to anyone visiting Kanazawa

Room Tip: Japanese couples usually sleep in twin rooms on separate beds, ask for a double room if you prefer o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    382
    99
    11
    1
See reviews for
136
204
149
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles area
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

STANDARD DOUBLE ROOM Room Size 10 to 15 sqm(dn)
(WITH SHOWER AND TOILET/NON SMOKING)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2Person=7400JPY
We made the reservation through Rakuten and we pre-paid through them, so we did not pay at the hotel.
This hotel chain seems to be everything we want in a business hotel. Therefore, its hotels seems to fill quickly in places like Tokyo and Kyoto, so if you want to use them there, you’ll need to book very early. In Kanazawa, however, we had no problem changing our reservations for a day earlier last-minute when we realized we didn’t want to spend two nights in the Shirakawago area.
The main tourist destinations are a 15~20 minute walk.
Their breakfast is a good deal with both Japanese and Western entrees They also do have wonderful European bakeries in town including at the train station across the street.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camelSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Really nice hotel despite some crappy guests. Great staff!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTelmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My partner and I stayed here in September for 3 nights. As other reviews have mentioned, it's not right in the middle of things but is only a 5 minute walk from the JR station and with heavy suitcases, this is very much appreciated. Generally our experience here was very good. The staff were helpful and allowed me to borrow an iron and ironing board upon request.

The Kanazawa loop bus is an inexpensive hop on/hop off circle line bus that you buy a daily ticket for. One of its stops is the JR station (just make sure you look at the pavement and stand in the right line) so it is very easy to do all your sightseeing with this convenient service only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

The room themselves were a little austere, but not uncomfortable at all and a desk with a bench was provided in the room so there was enough space to live in (although the rooms are not huge). As I do not speak Japanese, I was only aware of the noodles for supper due to the reviews on Trip Advisor - there is a little card in the rooms about this service but it is only written in Japanese. Just head down to the breakfast after 9pm and there will be a staff member serving out bowls of free noodles which are not too bad at all!

There are good restaurants located around the town for dinner, but we ate one night when feeling tired on the top floor of the shopping mall across the street from the hotel. The quality was excellent and there are a number of restaurants to choose from - all of which seemed quite popular and busy.
As long as you don't expect the Ritz in terms of decoration and luxury, you won't be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacob_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed 2 nights in October 2011 to visit Japan famous gardens.

The hotel is a bit far from the city centre + main restaurant area etc to walk , but is serviced during the day by a cheap circle bus. Position was only 5 mins from JR station and there were enough food places at the station for a couple of nights.
If you plan to spend time in city centre, maybe the Toyoka Inn would be better placed.

The room was large by Japanese standards with a high standard of sheets ,pillows etc.
The hotel has excellent indoor & outdoor spa areas including saunas.
The room was fully equipped with all accessories including the normal tooth brush/past razor etc. There was no bath tub only shower facilities.
In room cable internet was provided including cable. However there was only Japanese TV channels.

A real plus if you are hungry at 9.00PM is that the hotel provides guests with
free noodles in the restaurant. A standard item at all Dormy Inns.

Reception staff spoke average english but compensated with excellent service.

This hotel receives a good recommendation

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanazawa hotels
Kanazawa Station
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
#2 of 100 in Kanazawa
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanazawa Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kanazawa
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kanazawa
#13 of 100 in Kanazawa
363 reviews
Kanazawa Station
HOTEL MYSTAYS Kanazawa Castle
Kanazawa Station
Kanazawa Manten Hotel
Kanazawa Manten Hotel
#12 of 100 in Kanazawa
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Kanazawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Kanazawa

Property: Dormy Inn Kanazawa
Address: 2-25 Horikawa Shinmachi, Kanazawa 920-0849, Ishikawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa > Kanazawa Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kanazawa
#5 Business Hotel in Kanazawa
#6 Family Hotel in Kanazawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Kanazawa 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first designer hotel in dormy inn. The hot spring in the top floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dormy Inn Kanazawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Kanazawa Hotel Kanazawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing