We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hida Gasshoen
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Hotaka(Takayama)
US$326
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hida Hotel Plaza(Takayama)
US$254
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hoshokaku(Takayama)
US$243
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Oyado Koto no Yume(Takayama)
US$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Takayama(Takayama)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Ryokan Asunaro(Takayama)
US$481
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Takayama Ouan(Takayama)
US$217
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Ryokan 
US$294
US$208
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Takayama Green Hotel(Takayama)
US$257
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Furusato(Takayama)
US$219
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
9
12
3
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
12
3
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

I enjoyed the traditional authentic environment. The common bathroom and eating area. It's clean and well kept. Breakfast was good. I felt like being a queen feasting in the unique dinning area. The dinning area has a heating stove. Very antique. Very memorable experience. I want to return but cannot book any more. Will it be open for booking again?

Stayed: October 2014
Thank khongpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in a few ryokan and this was the smallest of all the places. Nonetheless, it was very clean with towels, a kettle and toiletries in the room.

The place took a little finding. You turn left at the Teddy bear museum if you are coming from Takayama and it is the last building at the top of the hill. If you can read Japanese there are building names on the signs outside the ryokan.

The owners seemed friendly enough and we were given a to help us navigate around the building. It was more like a hot where you are told where to go whereas other places show you to your room and make you feel more at home. You do need to make your bed here and once laid out there wasn't that much room. The main area of the room is divided from the dressing area so luggage can be stored in that part.

We did think it was a bit expensive for what we got and having stayed at other places we think this is a decent ryokan but not the best out there.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A great place for who is seeking tranquility and nature. A special mention for the kindness and flexibility of staff (especially Yugo at the reception).
The hotel is located outside of the city (near the village Hida-no-sato) but it is accessible by bus during the day, or taxi for about $ 10. Moreover, the hotel may pick up clients at the station on request.
I recommend taking the full board at least once: the meal and especially the beautiful dining room with irori are worth the trip. Also the garden of the hotel is a marvel.
I have enjoyed this place so much when I discovered it that I went back a few days later !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed at this Ryokan during the Takayama festival in April. It was easy to catch the bus to get there, but a little hard to lug our bags up the hill. The offering of tea upon check in around a sunken hearth fire was a lovely appproach. Our rooms were clean and well presented and the staff are friendly and helpful. The communal bath was very relaxing and there was a massage chair and a foot massager which also did your calves and after a long day of walking it was heaven. We were advised before we arrived that if you werent eating at the Ryokan that there were no places locally to eat and to bring food from Takayama which we did, so no problem. We stayed two nights, the first night the people upstairs sounded like elephants walking around, but the second night most guests had left so very quiet. If you want a traditional Ryokan experience then this is the place, it is old but that is part of the experience.The only thing we werent told was that we had to pay cash upon check out,which we managed to do, we were being driven to the station by the manager so he was willing to stop by a ATM for us to get cash if we didn't have enough so no dramas.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room if they are fully booked as the floors are wooden and you can hear every footstep if you are downstairs.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catchfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel is also a small museum and it have it's own charm, which we liked so much. it's quite separated from city center, but you can rent a bicycle, so it's not a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Runetek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews