We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
10
12
4
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
12
4
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Of all the ryokans we stayed in this trip, this inn received the highest rating, yet is clearly the lowest quality one in every way. I think the main reason is that this is one of those inns that cater to the foreigners. They can get away with a lot of things that they would not be able to do with the discerning Japanese clientele.

The people work at the inn are very nice. A couple people can speak some English. They were very efficient with email communications and were very nice in promising to come to the train station to meet up. We sent a reminder email the day before we arrived with our train schedule. Yet when we got off the train amidst the pouring rain, nobody from the inn was around. We called the inn and realized that they did not even bother to come. After the call, a van was sent to receive us, but no explanations as to the no show.

The outside of the inn is everything we expected, nice garden setting and grass roof. But the room was tiny and aged even by Japanese standard. Last year we stayed in a temple on Goyasan, and even there was much better than this inn. The worst is that the bath was not clean. The water was luke warm, and looked as if it has not been cleaned for days. There was no towel and absolutely no facility (mirror, hair-dryer, lotion). The shower was 2 steps away from the bath, and there was no barrier of any sort that could prevent the dirty shower water from getting into the bath. This sloppiness and lack of hygiene is rare for any Japanese inns.

They charge 5000 yen a person for dinner with very few courses. The cooking was way below one expected from a ryokan type of kaiseki cuisine, and the presentation was mediocre to say the least. In a later ryokan that caters mostly to Japanese, with 3000 yen a person, we got 2-3 times the amount of food prepared with much higher quality and presentation.

In a word, this is an extremely over-priced facility. We were lucky to have the comparison of several better ryokans in our trips and realized that this one is catering to the foreigners who do not have much experience with good ryokans. I doubt they could get away with the low standard bath and food with the more experienced Japanese clientele.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-world-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Like finding a fabulous b&b, only more fun and less comfortable. This beautiful place includes a real gassho-zukuri house where you are first welcomed with tea by the working irori (hearth) in the dining room. Then you're led to your Japanese-style tatami mat room with shoji doors, a sink, and balcony. If you choose to eat breakfast and dinner onsite (highly recommended!), multi-course traditional meals using local ingredients and dishes, with at least one part prepared in the irori (e.g., soup, grilled fish), are in the communal large or smaller dining rooms. The staff are friendly and accommodating, and we most enjoyed our conversations with the owner's wife, who usually hosted the meals. Baths are traditional (separate shower and ofuro) and communal. The overall facility, both inside and outside, is very peaceful and beautiful. A small communal sitting area included a laptop with free 24-hour access to high speed internet. Some drawbacks: our room was cozy but very cold, despite the space heater, and the futons were not very comfortable. Highly recommended to those seeking a different experience. Facility is not close to the Takayama Stn but pickup and dropoff can be arranged for certain hours.

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

This was the fifth hotel out of ten we stayed at during our trip to Japan. Our budget was 10000 Yen per night. Things did not start well when our host forgot to pick us up from the station. Being a 30 minute walk from the train station, we weren't keen to lug our bags to the ryokan. Luckily the helpful staff at the TIC called the host who turned up 15 minutes later. The ryokan is located close to one of the main attractions in Takayama, the folk village (an interesting collection of relocated old buildings of various ages, from the area), but the majority of the attractions are in town. The ryokan itself is an interesting building, complete with a traditional stove/hearth were we enjoyed an excellent breakfast the next day. The guestroom was warm and comfortable and our hosts were clearly proud of the heritage of their building and their traditions/customs and to this end the stay felt like the authentic ryokan experience we wanted. A word of warning however about their advertised, free shuttle service. The implication is that it is available any time as long as notice is given. This is not the case. It's only available until check out time. We decided to find the local bus to get us back to the station, but one of the lovely staff chased us down as we left and arranged for us a lift back in their shuttle.

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyalot73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

This is one the best hotel experiences I have had in Japan! I have stayed @ top-notch $500/night ryokans and this inn definitely is equivalent in quality! They will pick you up @ Takayama JR station and make you feel very welcome. I mean, how many people can say they have stayed at an Edo period Grass Hut in Japan? A great experience overall. And the food there was one of the best. I also stayed @ a hotspring ryokan in Hakone and a 5-Star ryokan in Kyoto and I still prefer this hotel. At night, they light up the garden and it's really romantic. I would definitely stay here again and recommend the city of Takayama and this inn in particular to everyone! It's only a 10 minute walk to the Takayama Hida Folk Village which is definitely a part of rustic Japan not to be missed. I am a frequent TripAdvisor user and I want to make sure people really know about this great hotel!

Date of stay: October 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank iamcanadianenuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews