We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
28
82
29
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
82
29
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Upon entering this hotel, for a split second I felt like entering a Stalinist building somewhere in the old Soviet Union. Polished marble, huge hall and the impression of a somewhat faded glory. Here the comparison ends because the personnel is so exceedingly polite, friendly and ready to help that you are unmistakably in Japan. The rooms are western style with reasonably comfortable beds and your own bathroom. Breakfast is included and buffet-style so you can have a japanese or an occidental one.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Willem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We stayed one night in a western style deluxe twin. Arrival and check-in went smoothly. Our corner room had excellent views from the sixth floor of the Nagarawara River. A view of Gifu Castle is also visible. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable, with Japanese Yukatas for sleeping provided, free of charge, as is Wi-Fi. We enjoyed the main bar and the breakfast buffet (included) with both western and traditional food offered. The lobby has a large shop for souvenirs. Staff were very cordial and check-out was flawless.

Room Tip: Upper Floor-6th, front side
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wsewell365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

My first time to visit Gifu. And this hotel very nice. Very big hotel. Big room. Big lobby. Lots of selection for breakfast. I also having set menu for dinner and it was awsome. Nice arrangement. The best onsen so far. Really love this hotel and sure if I hv chance. I will be back.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank emmanuelthamrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

History: Originally built and opened in 1964
Location: North side of Nagara River, on the backside of Kinkazan. Approximately 5km from Gifu train station. Still a good location for Kinkazan and Gifu Park.
Interior Decor: Outdated furniture, not classic enough to be called "antiques".
Exterior Apperance: 12 story building with annex buildings attached on both west and east sides. Showing the age.
Outside view from the room I stayed at (1126): Excellent view of Nagara River,Kinkazan and Gifu Castle.
Room Size: Twin beds - approximately, 29 square meters. Adequate amount of space.
Room Cleanness: Clean.
Bathroom: Showing the age. Average size.
Noise Insulation: Noisy. Traffic from the road comes in frequently.
Price and Value: A bit overpriced.
Bed: Good size. Firm softness. Slept fine.
Others: Breakfast buffet on the 2nd floor (west annex wing building) was better than average selections. Onsen (hot springs) was OK (plenty of space for indoor, small outdoor space).
Services: Professionally trained friendly hotel staffs.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank setotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015

This hotel is huge. The interior of this hotel and rooms felt and looked slightly older than Gifu Miyako Hotel (see my review on this hotel) and much more Japanese feel than western feel hotel. However, comfort wise I much prefer this hotel as it felt more cosy. A huge bonus is that they have hot spring bath house in the hotel.
There are three main baths at the bath house for the ladies. The open air bath contains natural iron. The hot spring water is originally colorless when it wells up from the underground source, but it turns gradually to russet brown once exposed to the air because of its high iron content. These hot springs are considered to be beneficial for neuralgia, arthralgia, fatigue, and other ailments.

I would choose to host seminar or events in this hotel over Gifu Miyako because of the smart use of space and deco and the meeting/ballrooms have just the right feel. They even have a church in the extended part of the hotel to cater for church wedding. I had a proper inspection and tour of the hotel and I like it very much. On one floor of the hotel is a row of rooms with traditional Japanese themed rooms, in which we had a very sumptuous herbal dinner.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank Ratpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews