We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
11
14
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
14
8
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2015

First of all the staff, while only one speaks English, are extremely polite and helpful to travelers. I had planned to visit the Toyota Museum and already had a map, but one of the staff did their best to elaborate my long route to the museum, for example.

The bath is very nice, If you don't mind shared ofuros. Meals are offered at a low price, and are worth the money and despite the size of the meals they are very filling, says a 200 pound man who lifts weights. Tea and hot water are offered for free, and there is enough for two people to drink 4 cups of tea a day each. There are vending machines that sell cold coffee and even cold beer.

I had almost no problems at this ryokan except that the door frames are too short for someone who is over 6 feet tall. Be careful!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with StudentUniverse
2  Thank gdub504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015

I stayed here for 5 days in November 2014. Yamada san and family were especially helpful when i had to navigate the city with minimal Japanese. Yamada san would print out the directions with appropriate bus/train schedules and with time saving suggestions. The neighborhood was quite, clean and with plenty of services namely ATM, Metro, cafes, small grocery store, take out food.
i loved the title Modern Ryokan

Room tip: make your request and Yamada san will try his best
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank leokirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

My stay was thoroughly enjoyable here. The inn is located just a block from the subway station, the room was very comfortable, the staff was very helpful, and the bathroom was clean with a wonderful hot tub.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HayleyB882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

I loved this Ryokan. Very comfortable double matting (for those who are used to sleeping on ground only when camping) large bath with plenty of showers and very cozy room. The red carpet is not as attractive as some redesigned ryokans, but to me gave it a more authentic feel.
The thing that makes this property 5 stars instead of 4 is the service and the neighborhood. Kamimaezu station is 2 short stops from Kanayama station and only 2km from Nagoya and .75km from Osu plaza area if you want to get to a louder area, but it is nice and secluded. There was a charming branch of a chain coffee shop nearby for breakfast and a delightful Yakitori that the owner recommended, as well as several other charming spots. You will love the experience.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank RQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014

I booked this place at the last minute. It had been a long day, and I was quite tired when I arrived. This Ryokan doesn't look like much in the lobby, as it and the stairwell are a bit dingy. But, once I entered my room, I felt like I was in a different place.

The room was nice and very clean. The tatami-futon was also clean and quite comfortable. I quite enjoyed my stay in this Ryokan.

One should note that there isn't much in this area in the way of food or entertainment. It is decently-located, however, as it takes about 15 minutes to reach Nagoya station.

Other things to note. The staff is quite nice. The shower area may be off-putting, as it's situated in an onsen. There isn't a great deal of privacy, so a guest will want to time his or her shower accordingly.

I would recommend a stay here, if the price is reasonable.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews