We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & Rooms very nice however too expensive for what you get and unflexible management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2017

The location is outstanding and so is the set-up and park of the hotel. Nice victorian style bar and dining room - you feel like in an old movie. The service was o.k., not really friendly. They seem all to be under pressure. The management is unflexible too. Due to unforeseen circumstances we had to cancel 2 rooms for 1 night. We announced it at least 4 days before our 3 days stay. In the end we stayed only 2 nights instead of 3 however did not get any compensation. This is a no-go in times of booking.com etc. We would have had expected a reduction at least.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron c, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Andrea S

Firstly allow me to thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your stay with us via TripAdvisor, all feedback from my guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming and for this I am extremely grateful.

Please kindly consult your travel agent regarding this cancellation of nights, I'm quite certain that they will in turn liaise with us over this, I do hope you managed to have some fun whilst staying with us and spent some quality time at the magnificent Victoria Falls and had a wonderful holiday in Zambia!

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 84 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

Among everything the most important comment to made is about its perfect location... everything else ( still good) is of second order of importance as it is something that you expect from a Resort of this level.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FilippoMiliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron c, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Filippo

Thank you for your very kind and positive comments, we are so lucky to be based right at the gate of the Falls, offering our valued guests free unlimited access throughout the stay.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

It was a good stay and the people were friendly all way round. I hope next time the menu when it comes to meals a variety should be there than having the same food stuff each time. Kindly provide discounted rates for Zambian residents to maximize the revenues.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank mundiabrianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron c, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Brian

Thank you for your very kind and positive comments, they have been shared with my entire team, it’s always nice to get such positive feedback from our guests.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Livingstone in the near future.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Luxury resort in optimal location. Five minutes walk to the superb Victoria Falls park, with free access for hotel residents. Very good buffet breakfast. But a more proactive reception/concierge would improve the overall experience. Very little advice for activities outside of booklet by Bushtracks. Two tips we found by ourselves: sunset on the Zambezi from the terrace of the Royal Livingstone Hotel, accesible by free hotel shuttle; visit the Zimbabwe sight of the falls, accesible by taxi and modest border crossing paperwork.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caminant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron c, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Caminant

Thank you kindly for your wonderful feedback, so happy to read that you made full use of the free access to view the majestic Victoria Falls, I hope you took lots of amazing photos whilst you were there.
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the service you got from the reception team, this will be addressed and resolved and thank you kindly for bringing this to my attention, I am very grateful for this.

We do look forward to welcoming you back tot he AVANI Victoria Falls Resort again in the near future!

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The location is just perfect with fantastic staff and facilities it was wonderful to be so close to the wild life in a very safe environment we had a wonderful stay and would stay again the room was very comfortable with everything you needed

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron c, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Susan

Thank you for your very kind and positive comments, they have been shared with my entire team, it’s always nice to get such positive feedback from our guests.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful holiday, I hope that you have taken many memories back home with you and we hope to see you again soon in Zambia in the near future.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.6 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
6.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
20.6 km away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
27 reviews
20.6 km away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
201 reviews
5.3 km away
Chrismar Hotel
Chrismar Hotel
#9 of 18 in Livingstone
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Victoria Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Victoria Falls Resort

Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia (Formerly Zambezi Sun)
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Livingstone
#2 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range: €219 - €372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AVANI Victoria Falls Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get wild in the heart of Africa, with the iconic Victoria falls at your doorstep. We put you at the centre of the action, so you can explore, discover or just relax and let us take care of all the details that matter. Whether it's for family fun or taking care of your business, AVANI Victoria Falls offers contemporary comforts and uncontested convenience, all just five minutes’ walk from Victoria Falls. Work, rest, stay and play in AVANI signature style for dazzling days and enchanting nights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Victoria Falls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing