We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the serene environment!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Iris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iris Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Canakkale
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved the serene environment!”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Nice cosy hotel with heated bathroom which was a bliss for winter! The hotel is situated just by the sea where you can enjoy the breeze and do a leisure walk in the morning/evening. The hotel room that we were given for the night's stay was extremely clean and comfy. For those who are planning to bring their elderly folks, kindly note that they might have a difficulty in climbing up the bath tub as the height of the bath tub is slightly higher than norm. Free wifi is provided in the lobby area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    59
    107
    21
    11
See reviews for
69
74
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We are staying here tonight and we are not impressed. So far we have been charged for anything extra, except the WI FI, if you sat in the reception area. The pool table even has to be paid for if you want to play. The swimming pool closed at 8pm so we couldn't have a swim after dinner. The dinner was very average, a buffet that looked like it was cooked in bulk. The staff are not friendly at all and everything seems an effort for them. Obviously customer service is not a priority. The lift worked when we got here and then died when we were in it. We were stuck there for several minutes before it worked again. The door frame of our room got kicked and it moved nearly a whole foot. We had to kick it back into place. The beds are incredibly hard. Not looking forward to bedtime tonight.
I am not a fussy person with hotels but I do appreciate service and I like things to work and feel safe. There is a safe in the room which is a bonus.
I am only here for one night and that is enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussietourists_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
456 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed here in June 2011 for a nite on a group tour of Turkey. The facility, service, food and environs were all fine. The hotel was not particularly memorable either for being special or for being problematic. Can think of no reason why we wouldn't be willing to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chingachgook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Stayed at the Iris Hotel for 3 nights. Never seen such unattentive and sour hotel staff. Never a smile. Struggled to give us detailed information on how to get to Troy (main attraction from Canakkale). Also, refused to provide us with a recommendation for somewhere to go have dinner, went as far as telling us that any restaurant in the area would make us sick and that we had to eat at the HORRIBLE hotel restaurant. We fell for that the first night but the second night we went to a lovely beachside restaurant nearby and surprise, surprise, didn't get sick.
The hotel was full of tour groups which is obviously what they are used to catering for and they seemed to think an individual party was a nuisance. Definately wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone travelling outside of a tour.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canakkale hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed one night at the Iris during our 10-day land tour of Western Turkey. A decent hotel (nothing fancy) that was nicely appointed and very clean. Best thing about the hotel is its location/setting. The buffet-style restaurant in the hotel has a very large outdoor eating terrace that extends out to the sandy/stoney shoreline of the Aegean. We had a gorgeous evening, warm and clear skies, to enjoy our meal - the sunset was absolutely beautiful and capped the evening. Great food, especially breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canakkale hotels
9.9 km away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 28 in Canakkale
785 reviews
12.0 km away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#7 of 28 in Canakkale
303 reviews
13.3 km away
Artur Hotel
Artur Hotel
#4 of 28 in Canakkale
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Tusan Hotel
Tusan Hotel
#11 of 28 in Canakkale
204 reviews
13.2 km away
Grand Anzac Hotel
Grand Anzac Hotel
#5 of 28 in Canakkale
316 reviews
13.2 km away
Kervansaray Canakkale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Property: Iris Hotel
Address: Mola Caddesi No:68 | Güzelyalı, Canakkale 17070, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canakkale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canakkale
#4 Business Hotel in Canakkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iris Hotel eagerly awaits to serve you in this historic and fertile land. You will enjoy the spacious yet cozy atmosphere in our recently renovated hotel; be pampered by our legendary Turkish hospitality and find yourself in awe of the nature and the services the hotel provides. Let's meet at Iris Hotel; located off the Canakkale-Izmir highway. 15 Km away from Canakkale and 10 km away from the ancient city of Troy; where the northern stretches of the Mount Ida meet the Aegean Sea in perfect nature with the forest embracing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Canakkale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing