We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”
Review of Akol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Akol Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Canakkale
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed here as part of an organised tour. Our room was nice and clean and we had a view out across the water. The horse from the movie Troy is within walking distance as are restaurants, cafes and shops selling delicious Turkish Delight and baklava.
The staff were very eager to help out with anything.
As other travellers have mentioned noise from the nightclub can be heard on the floors beneath but it didn't stop us sleeping. Other people in our group had problems with the heating / cooling in their rooms but our room was ok.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    137
    158
    39
    31
See reviews for
76
150
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Unbelivevably noisy nightclub that could be heard from our room 3 floors down. Horrific. Food part of buffet included with our tour was unappealing. Rooms are clean, but dated. Heat cannot be regulated and our room is boiling, so we have opened the window and the club noise is even worse.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csiegela2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canakkale hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2011

we had a wonderful stay in akol hotel , we were hope to stay more than that we were feel we do not want to go back , they are so friendly staff and helpful , and them food are amazing we ever never eat delicious food , we stayed in many hotels in Turkey but Akol hotel is the best , at night we went to them Roof bar they were had Turkish live music , it was so nice , we hope if we can back again maybe next year , and thakx for mr ahmed yacube (sorry if wrote name wrong ) but he care about all guest ; he make us feel like every one from us special guest to hotel , and he is in every where too lobby then restaurant then bar , when you sleep :) , and thankx to all

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

While on a tour of Turkey with my sister, we had a medical emergency that required a trip to the hospital. I want to make it clear that the medical emergency was not related to the Hotel. The night manager, Serez, drove us to the hospital and back in the very early hours of the morning. He helped bridge our language problem and even stopped at a pharmacy on the way back to fill the needed perscriptions. We were very impressed by the staff's willingness to help in our time of need and by ther continued attention and care during the rest of our stay.

The hotel is located on the waterfront and is within easy walking distance to the center of town and the Naval museum. Our room was very pleasant and the meals were excellent. The dinners had a very wide variety of choices and numerous meatless dishes for those inclined along vegetarian lines. I understand that they have received several awards for their menu offerings. Overall, the service and attention was a Godsend during a very stressful time. I highly recommend the Akol Hotel for service, location, menu, and overall value.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife and I traveled with a tour group of 44 for 2 weeks in Istanbul, 4 of whom were friends.
We had a terrible view in our room, but others in our group got a great view. A/C works!
Very good selections of salads and desserts, but only 4 entrees. Fish and chicken dry. Breakfast was terrible, 4 entrees, one left from dinner night before, and French fries! Not much cereal.
2 PCs, 1 TL for 30 minutes, but beware that no warning when time is expiring and it locks you out when 30 minutes are up.
Great location to walk around, near ferryboats, and the Trojan Horse.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canakkale hotels
4.4 km away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 29 in Canakkale
817 reviews
0.1 km away
Buyuk Truva Oteli
Buyuk Truva Oteli
#8 of 29 in Canakkale
145 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Anzac Hotel
Grand Anzac Hotel
#5 of 29 in Canakkale
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#9 of 29 in Canakkale
314 reviews
0.4 km away
Artur Hotel
Artur Hotel
#3 of 29 in Canakkale
111 reviews
13.8 km away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#6 of 29 in Canakkale
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akol Hotel

Property: Akol Hotel
Address: Cevat Pasa Mah. Kordon Boyu Kayserili Ahmet Pasa Cad. Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale 17100, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Canakkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Akol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akol Hotel which is located in the heart of Çanakkale, this elegant property is just few steps away from the sea side, 300 km away from the Istanbul Airport, 2 km (5 minutes) away from Canakkale Airport and 25 km away from the Troya. Akol Hotel has 135 standard rooms and 2 suits including 280 beds, offers pleasant accommodation with a variety of amenities at the right price. Our rooms have central heating, split air conditioning, direct dial telephone, mini bar, satellite television, TV, private bathroom,wireless internet, music broadcasting and balcony. Other facilities in the hotel; meeting room, dry cleaning, free parking area, genarator and laundry room. We also offer free services to our guests such as table tennis, swimming pool and billiards. We provide variety of amenities with meeting and seminar room. In addition to these, We have 2 restaurants which offer very rich variety of food, renovated Lobby Bar, Radika Fish Restaurant and Roof Bar. In the Roof Bar, you may sip your drink with a view of the Dardanelles and accompanied by live music everyday. At the same time we provide fresh fish at the right price in Radika Fish Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akol Hotel Canakkale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing