We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfectly satisfactory stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Resort Bergamot Hotel
Ranked #31 of 280 Hotels in Kemer
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfectly satisfactory stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We have just got back from our trip to Turkey where we stayed in at Garden Resort in Kemer, near Antalya with our 8 year old son and in laws. The reviews we read before we left were a little polarized and contained a lot of opinion, so we thought we’d give the facts.

Our last family group holiday was to Cuba, which was outstanding, but you get what you pay for. This year, we gave ourselves a stricter budget but still wanted an all inclusive, four star holiday with guaranteed sunshine. For two weeks, we did not want to bother with shopping, cooking or cleaning; we just wanted to lie back, see the sights and have a great two weeks in the sun. The Garden Resort provided this perfectly adequately. It was not in the same league as Cuba (even though both stays were supposed to be 4 star), but there was nothing that we could complain about- it was all satisfactory.

Hotel, gardens and pool
The hotel was clean, tidy and well presented. The pools were lovely and the water slides were great for our 8 year old son. Father in law found the shade when he needed it, (even though, at times, the groundsman could get a little funny about moving sun-loungers around, especially if they went on the grass).

Rooms
The rooms were clean, tidy and well presented. Any little problems were sorted out quickly and efficiently. The cleaning staff were friendly and provided what was asked for.

Rep
Our rep was friendly and helpful. She provided us with some great advice and some spot on local information and helped us really make the most of being in Kemer. We were particularly pleased with the suggestion of hiring a car. We did this and travelled to Chimera, Phaselis and Olympos- this was probably the best day of the whole holiday.

Inclusive package
As we said, the hotel satisfactorily met our basic needs, but it was only the very basics that were part of the all inclusive package. A bottle of water was provided for each peron at the beginning of the holiday and we were expected to refill this from one of the water coolers in the dining hall or by the pool and to keep them stored in the mini bar (an empty fridge) in the room. There was a safe in the room for valuables, but this was extra.

The bar facilities were not impressive. The beer was OK, but the choice of spirits was limited to Raki, Vodka, Coriander Vodka (which doubled as Gin) and a generic brown liquor that was used as either Whisky, Rum or Brandy, depending on what was ordered. The choice of mixers was limited to Cola, Generic lemonade type drink or tonic water. The bars were very small and sometimes got very busy and having a slice of Lemon put in a drink was a cause for celebration.

Soft fruit type drinks were all self dispensed from pumps and were a bit sweet and sugary. Fresh fruit juice was available during meal times but was extra.

The food was edible and tasty, with the rice dishes and soups being particularly nice. The food provided a balanced diet but there was not a huge variation in what was available and the receipes seemed variations on a theme. There was a snack bar open in the afternoon serving burgers but Ice cream for the children was extra.

The entertainment during the day provided a break from relaxing by the pool and the evening entertainment was enthusiastically delivered in both English and Russian. Some evenings were really quite good.

Russians
This was a point of discussion before we booked. There are many negative comments about the fact that the hotel’s guests were predominately Russian but we dismissed this as people simply being unwilling to integrate and we went with an open mind.

When we think of Russians, we may think of a drab, dour, conservative people, or we think of tacky nouve riche and the Russians here were a mix of both. They made no attempt to socialise or even recognise our presence (particulalry when trying to navigate the dinning hall). However, this was not a problem; the Russians were neither loud nor disruptive, (unlike some of the British we have had the misfortune to be on holiday with) and their presence did not, in itself, affect our holiday.

However, their dour, uncommunicative demeanor impacted on the hotel staff and this in turn impacted on how the staff then treated the guests. The Russians seem somewhat challenged by the concept of saying ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ to people who are serving them and this, naturally, will effect the approach of the people who are doing the serving. Russians will point to a pump and demand “Beer.” or simply pile their plate with food, take it to a table, have a few mouthfuls and then leave it for someone else to clear up, so it is somewhat understandable that the staff generally did not come across as warm or welcoming; they carried out their duties diligently and effectively, but without really engaging with the guests. There were not many smiles shared, particularly in the dining hall.

However, we put in the effort to say Merhaba (hello) Lütfen (please) and Teşekkür ederim (thank you) and found this was really appreciated by the people working to look after us. By the end of the holiday we were on very friendly terms with a number of staff. During our evening conversations with them, we learned a lot about how things had changed over the past few years since the arrival of the Russians.

Summary
If you decide to go to this resort, we would highly recommend three points
1) Be polite to people even if they are not immediately polite to you.
2) Don’t be a greedy pig in the dining hall. Only take what you know you will eat.
3) Hire a car and travel around.

The bottom line is, if you are on a budget then this place is OK as somewhere to stay. You will be fed, watered and accomodated in pleasant surroundings.
Would I go there again? No, I’d save a bit more and go back to Cuba.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel is probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelleingBilburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    136
    56
    18
    9
See reviews for
187
123
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Lovely hotel, lots of different choices of food to eat everyday and sometimes have a themed meal. The room was clean, bed was comfy and had a great view. The only problem we had was with the sink tap but after reporting this to reception in the morning, it was repaired in the afternoon on the same day. Reception was very friendly and helpful and the evening entertainment was good. Although there were a lot of Russians and Germans, there were a few British families there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberfan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Stayed here during October 2010, Our group consisted of three Adults and three Children 9,12,13.
The hotel is located in a picturesque spot at the foot of the Taurus mountains close to the centre of Kemer town and marina.
Our check-in was quick and efficient the girl behind the reception giving us the times of meals and a run down of the all inclusive facilities before directing us to our rooms.
The rooms were clean and comfortable with reasonable size well equipped bathrooms, There was plenty of closet space, a mini-bar and satellite TV with a few English language channels. The only negative feature of the rooms were the rather small but usable balconies.
Food was plentiful and varied served buffet style with tables available indoors or outside overlooking the pool, The evening meals each being themed E.G. Turkish, Mexican, Italian. Snacks were served throughout the afternoon consisting of pizzas flat breads salads and burgers,There was also an a la carte restaurant available at a charge serving Turkish and Italian cuisine.
The hotel has a large terrace area surrounding three pools one each for animation, water slides and a very nice touch a shaded pool for toddlers. For those who wanted a quieter adult only pool there was also a very nice pool with its own bar and toilet facilities located amongst the orange groves a short pleasant walk from the main building. The hotel also had the usual indoor pool sauna hamam and spa facilities however these with the exception of the pool and hamam were at an additional charge.
Drinks were available throughout the day at the various bars at the pools, restaurant, hotel bar and beach bar, the soft drinks and beer were good however the spirits were a little rough.
The animation team had activities running through the day from 10am including boccia, darts, air rifles, basket ball, table tennis, yoga, aerobics and various pool games, they were very polite and tried to include everyone however were never pushy if you declined to participate, The animation team were lead by Maria a young Russian lady who spoke very good English the rest of her team consisting of two Turkish men Mustafa and Tayfun who were always game for a laugh even after a heavy night in the clubs the night before and lastly Cecilia from Sweden who ran the kids club, Our children spent hours with them participating in all the games which they said made their holiday.
The majority of the clientèle at this hotel are Russian with a small number of Scandinavian German and Eastern Europeans we found the Russians to be friendly and fun if you joined in with them by the end of our stay many of them knew us by name and would greet us.
The hotel also has a private beach with its own snack bar which was served regularly by a free Shuttle-bus during the day.
Overall a very pleasant stay in a good standard of hotel the majority of the staff could not do enough to help always with a smile and without hovering for tips, Would be happy to recommend and may well return myself in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lostyeti73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Ok, positive issues first. Very clean, tidy, first impressions arriving at 4am were good. Rooms cleaned every day by friendly staff. Left out a valuable item by mistake one day and found that the cleaning staff had put it away out of sight in one of the drawers. Good range of food available all day long. The wee guy that cleans round the pool works non stop all day keeping everything spic and span and Ercan at the pool bar is a gem, good crack with his limited English, but knows his football. Top man at the evening bar is Volkan Aydin. Keeps the staff on their toes once you let him know if you have a problem. Negatives, Entertainment is geared towards the Russian holiday makers, not surprising as they made up 80% of the occupants. They also do not beleieve in Queing, so sharpen your elbows. One other neg, journey from airport not 35 mins as advised. More like 1 hour 35. Having said that, a great enjoyable week.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joepetty2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

This was and is (as I'm sat in the reception writing this on my last full day here) my first all inclusive holiday and first time to Turkey.
First of all if you don't like Russians then steer clear as its obviously a favorite of there's but you get used to them in the end.
The hotel is clean and the majority of staff are friendly and i got the impression most of them prefer the English as we don't bark orders at them and say thankyou occasionally.
Food in the canteen is really good and beer is ok but if you buy any non local alcoholic drinks they are very expensive but this is down to the Turkish taxes on imports. The al-a-cart restaurant is worth a visit to and worth paying the £14 for a bottle of wine. The main down side for me was the constant loud music but walking up and down the area this seems to be the norm. There is however a quiet adults only pool which is beautiful and quiet with its own bar. The weather whilst we were here was almost unbearable in the high 30's early 40's. Very hot but a/c in the room sorted that out. The area around antalya has some interesting spots anD archeological sites normally connected to a beach so I would recommend hiring a car as most are not accessible by bus. the beach connected to this hotel your are packed in a bit but again this is the norm with hotel exclusive beach spots in the area but a bit of exploring you can find some nice quieter beeches I recommend olympos beach just next to chimerea the fire mountain.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timmay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kemer hotels
1.0 km away
Golden Lotus Hotel
Golden Lotus Hotel
#69 of 280 in Kemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
6.0 km away
Pasha's Princess Hotel
Pasha's Princess Hotel
#27 of 280 in Kemer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 km away
Hydros Club
Hydros Club
#32 of 280 in Kemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Viking Nona Hotel
Viking Nona Hotel
#50 of 280 in Kemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 km away
Kemer Dream Hotel
Kemer Dream Hotel
#56 of 280 in Kemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.3 km away
L'Ancora Hotel
L'Ancora Hotel
#40 of 280 in Kemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Resort Bergamot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Resort Bergamot Hotel

Property: Garden Resort Bergamot Hotel
Address: Yeni Mah. Ataturk Cd., 513 Sok. No 3, Kemer 07980, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kemer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kemer
#26 Best Value Hotel in Kemer
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Kemer
#27 Spa Hotel in Kemer
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kemer
#42 Family Hotel in Kemer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Resort Bergamot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Resort Bergamot Hotel is located at Kemer, one of the most beautiful areas of the Antalya region. Kemer, surrounded by the Taurus Mountains and the Mediterranean Sea, is in walking distance. To the centre of Antalya it is about 40 km and 55 km to Antalya Airport. The hotel building with its little towers and terraces reminds of the architecture of the Ottoman Empire and the setting amidst a former orange grove provides a feeling of nature and peace. We are an All-Inclusive Family Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Garden Resort Bergamot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Bergamot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing