We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
207
40
17
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
40
17
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club free shuttle boat the water's edge sea lapping infinity pool turkey evening dining boat service romantic restaurant on the rocks olive trees breakfast is served our honeymoon breakfast terrace romantic getaway steep slope kalkan harbour
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We'd read about how this is 'one of the most romantic' restaurants in Turkey/Europe/the World? ... quite a claim
But it really lived up to its reputation
From catching a little cruiser in Kalkan harbour to deliver us at their landing jetty to the way in which our lead-waiter looked after us all night, it was just beautiful
The subtly lit water-side (sea) setting is truly romantic and whether you face south and view the sea and sun-set or you face North and have the slowly illuminating townscape of Kalkan there is something for everyone here ...
Interestingly some might say you visit a restaurant for the quality of the food - the food here was above average but certainly not the best we had in Kalkan and as the most expensive meal we had on the whole trip then it is clear that a good part of what you are paying for is the location and ambience
Well worth it for a one-off romantic evening, in our view however ...

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Q8102BIgaryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Villa Mahal is still the best of the best, with as fine a view across the bay as is possible to find anywhere. Little has changed since our previous visits, superb food and service and accommodation in a lovely location. The famous steps are what they are and just need to be taken steadily, especially after a waterside dinner! This year Ipek the owner has celebrated 30 years since she created this jewel.

New discoveries include Berzigan a wonderful farming village on the plateau above Kalkan, a path goes all the way or a drive up and over. And another path from across the bay goes all the way to Patara with spectacular views.

Korsan Fish and Korsan Mezze are still the best restaurants in town and a new discovery across the bay, Pinarkürü Iskelesi. This shows up on Google Maps and is a really great find. Accessible by road and a small jetty so by boat. It is a simple place but the food is excellent, salads and fish caught below by the owner's young son. Entirely possible to spend a day there, great snorkelling in the bay and very few people around. He closes at dusk.

As for the local sites, some work has been done at Patara, worth a look at the ancient lighthouse which has emerged from the sand dunes. Pinara is still deserted, climb to the top of the site for a fabulous view of the Taurus mountains. More work has been done at Tlos which is well worth a trip.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeterOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmet Ö, Genel Müdür at Hotel Villa Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday with us.

We are delighted to hear you liked Hotel Villa Mahal.

Indeed, we are happy that you honoured us again by visiting us.

Ipek the Owner has put all her heart and love into it and made it in the most beautiful way.

We look forward to welcoming you in future again,

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

One of the most beautiful views and beach clubs in Kalkan we thought it was too good to be true.... we were right.

Despite an absolutely gorgeous view and private atmosphere it's firstly quite dangerous for young children ( the rocks are very high up and beds on them without railings and the sea was very rough when I visited and easy to hit against the rocks accidentally )

Secondly, the staff were very slow. The oven pizza guy was very friendly and the sea taxi drivers but it was another story for the waiters. We waited 40 minutes waiting for our drinks and they were doing nothing. They then said they ran out of ice ( it's a bar how can you run out of ice!!) and then they magically got some looked like ice chiselled out of the freezer as it was white very unhygienic.
The food was overpriced and not all that I recommend getting the pizzas they are made in a proper oven and looked like heaven. Do not bother with chicken.

It is such a shame for an amazingly beautiful view, it's expensive though. Worth it for the view and atmosphere not for the food etc. Worth a visit though just eat before!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We have spent many fantastic days at the Mahal Beach Club during our stay in Islamar. The views across the bays and up to the mountains are simply stunning and the sea is the most incredibly clear, turquoise hued water you can imagine. There are a number of large stone platforms carved into the rock with good quality sunbeds and substantial umbrellas. None of the platforms are crowded and access to the sea is simple, jump. At each set of steps from the sea there are fresh water showers too which is so refreshing. One the highlights at Villa Mahal are the staff. The beach club is run by Serkan who made th vsists here even more memorable, he and his team were always available but never intrusive, nothing was too much trouble, food and drink is available in the fabulous restaurant which is beautifully shaded by many olive trees, a welcome break from the fierce sun. The staff also bring your food and drinks to your loungers if you prefer to stay put and relax with a very chilled glass of wine. Simplest access to the club is by the free boat transfer from Kalkan harbour although driving there is simple too.
In summary then, the Mahal Beach Club is one of those little gems you come across by accident and want to visit again and again. A big thank you to Serkan and his team for helping make this holiday so memorable.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmet Ö, Genel Müdür at Hotel Villa Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear David W

Thank you for taking the time to rate our Beach Club.

We are very pleased you had a nice leisure stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you anytime in future

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

A fantastic beach club with lovely facilities, plenty of shade from the fierce sun and absolutely brilliant staff very ably lead by Serkan. The restaurant food cannot be faulted especially the calamari and super fresh pides( Turkish pizza).
The boat service was also excellent and very easy access in and out of the beautiful blue water.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank glennwearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaMahal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villa Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear glennwearne,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our Beach Club.

We are very pleased you had a nice leisure stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you anytime in future for another fresh pide!

Warm regards,

Jelena Matic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews