We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok- good and bad - but I wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Kantaoui Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Kantaoui Center
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok- good and bad - but I wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Ive stayed in several different hotels in Tunisia, but I wasn't impressed with this one. Although it was clean it was dark and gloomy, and definitely in need of a refurb. Only part is all inclusive, so we could only use one bar where there was no atmosphere at all apart from clouds of cigarette smoke. In fact the whole hotel was very smokey. If you don't like cigarette smoke - like me - don't go! The food was ok. Nice breakfasts, omlettes etc and great coffee, but only went in for one lunch and a couple of evening meals. It's a good location for Kantaoui and we preferred to go out in the evenings. The sun doesn't last long round the pool so we spent most days on the beach. If you want a free sunbed you need to get there early. The cafe isn't all inclusive. Even at 9am we were too late for the hotel's beds, but you can pay £1 further along where there's also quite a nice cafe/bar. Our air con packed up after a couple of days and our room was like an oven. We were fobbed off with "it'll be mended by tomorrow" by our Rep and the reception, before finding out it all gets turned off for the winter! All in all we had a lovely holiday, but I wouldn't recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a pool view, otherwise you'll risk a view of the building site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyBunny53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    148
    95
    78
    102
See reviews for
151
172
58
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

This was our first visit to tunisia,we had read some bad reviews about the hotel,dont listen to them,its very nice,on arrival our room was'nt ready,alarm bells started to ring because of the bad reviews we had read,we were brought free drinks and only had to wait about 10 mins,
We stopped on a b&b basis,the breakfast was continental,we had room 3001,bed room,with the biggest bed you have ever seen,living room and 2 balconies.
Now onto the resort its self,we found it a bit boring.not alot to do,the street sellers,taxi drivers and shop keepers can realy spoil your holiday,there were a real pain in the backside,they just want your money and they will try anyway to get it,we have never had so much hassle while abroad!!.
We found a few restaurants to eat but beware some are very overpriced,we found them left out of the hotel very good,the sultana round the waterfall and the restaurant familial round the marina the best ones.
Just a tip........DONT GO TO THE MEDANA ON YOUR OWN ALWAYS BOOK WITH A REP AND GO WITH THE GUIDES,there are some very light fingered people there and they will try anyway to get your money.
This is a nice place but after a week we wanted to come home the people giving you hassle get to much after a while,the hotel tho was very nice and we cant fault that,shame we cant say that about the people

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel as its on a busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonwakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

The hotel was cheap and the rooms ware clean, but aside of that it was quite mediocre. The pool area was small, but ok. We only had breakfast, and it was ok, nothing more. The pizza in the hotel restaurant was quite tasty and no more expencive then inside Kantaoui. I would recomend this hotel as a place to sleep, but you should go in to Sousse in the evenigs for dining etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a two room flat with balcony and view over the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgous83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was our first visit to Tunisia,we read reviews,some good-some bad.We like to make up our own minds so we reserve judgement until we have visited a hotel ourselves.When we first arrived we were to early for checking in,so we had to wait! Eventually our room was ready and we were shown to it by a nice porter,who said the room was small, I replied if it is we wil be asking for another room.To my suprise on opening the door,we had 1 dining/living room and a bedroom with a very large bed, big enough for 3!! My biggest shock was to discover that we had only 2 yes 2! electric sockets, I was really suprised to say the least. I was told by reception that this is the norm in Tunisia (and maybe in all of the African countries.who knows?).The location of the Vincci is good,it's a short stroll (to the right,ouside the hotel) to the roundabout where you will find a road leading to the harbour on the right,and the music fountain surrounded by cafe's,resturants and shops to the left. Across the road at the roundabout you will find the Golfbrau resturant which has it's own micro brewery,6 dinar for a large beer,and very nice too.The food is not bad here either,and it's the only place to find a proper pint and not a bottle of beer.The prices in and around the Marina and fountain are higher than the resturants nearer the Vincci Hotel.Turn left out of the Vincci and walk down the street,on the left you will find a nice little place, with an upstairs open to the stars with a warm breeze on a balmy night.Prices here a cheap in comparison to the other end. Across the road you have a fish resturant, La Marin,menu written in french,but the staff will explain what is what, try the prawn starter,done in butter with a Tunisian sauce, I don't know what but it was delicious. On the same side of the road you have a pizza/italian place we didn't try this one,next you have Blue Water food house,next you have a new place called Fashion,which is alcohol free but serves lovely coffee/chocolate/fruit drinks and desserts and also light meals panini's ect.The road on which the Vincci stands is manic to say the least! It is totally MAD. It has 2 lanes on either side,as it is the main road to Sousse. In between the lanes is a so called safe haven where you can wait for a gap in the traffic to get to the other side,good luck! If you attend the welcome meeting if travelling with a tour company,take advantage of the car hire with a driver,80 dinar for car,36 for the driver and 40 to fill up with petrol/diesel. The earliest start is 8 am and ends at 5pm any later and it's 5 dinar an hour extra.This all works out to (at current exchange rates) £40 for car,£18 for the driver and £20 to fill up the car,and £2.50 an hour extra for the driver.All in all a good idea as you get to go places you would not normally go,and with more time at them than with a guided tour when you have to go where they want and at their pace.We did it twice,once to Cartage,Sidi Bou Said and in and around the area.The second time we went to El Jem,Kairouan,Monistir and back to Sousse for my precious Tajine. If you do come to Tunisia and are away from the hotel dont tell friendly Tunisians where you are staying,as they use this to pretend they work in your hotel kitchen etc,and to gain your trust,beware!! All in all we had a good time in Tunisia,and will return again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mckieluther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

The hotel is in need of a complete refurbishment, the public areas are clean but the floors in the corridors need fixing, a lot of the tiles are loose and it is easy to trip over them. The bedrooms were clean but the maid service was very late in getting the rooms cleaned, most days it was between 3 - 5 that they came to clean the rooms, the bathroom needs refurbished, the shower was very rusty and the shower hose kept breaking. They did not provide enough towels for our party, we were 2 adults and 1 child and were only given 2 towels every day, we also had to ask about an extra bed for our son as there was no apparent bed in the room, we were told the sofa folded down into a bed but I felt it was too dirty and we were expected to make this up every day, we ended up all sharing the same bed. The balcony door did not close properly and was not looked at when we reported this. The pool was nice but they use far too much chlorine. There was no entertainment for Children even though they have an entertainment team, they ignored us for the 2 weeks we were at the hotel. We saw one of the enertainment team at the pool most days and they never spoke once, they were more interested in playing with a ball in the pool and not looking out for the smaller children. The food in the hotel was the same everyday, we were on Bed & Breakfast Basis and were not impressed with the choice at breakfast, it never changed once for the whole 2 weeks, the omlettes were not cooked properly and most of the hot food was left over from dinner the night before. The security staff and reception staff were very unhelpful and sometime very rude. There was no help for getting the luggage from the room to reception even though the staff were not busy they just watched us struggling with the cases.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aliFifeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port El Kantaoui hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
2.5 km away
Houria Palace Hotel
Houria Palace Hotel
#26 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
5.2 km away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
1.7 km away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
5.8 km away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
2.5 km away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Kantaoui Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Kantaoui Center

Property: El Kantaoui Center
Address: 14 Janvier 2011 BP 355 | Marina, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#11 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#12 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — El Kantaoui Center 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Kantaoui Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Resort Kantaoui Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Vincci Port El Kantaoui
Port El Kantaoui Vincci

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing